Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Knitting Bible
I am an nexperienced knitter and I have few knitting books, but this one is by far the best, even if it is written in American English. Clear pictures, brilliant colours and extremely useful comments. A must for someone who wants to improve techniques and learn about colour composition, and wants to start experimenting with more challenging projects and creating own...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by La Fata

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for beginners, gets complicated early on
I knitted when I was very young, basic. Having just got into again, I decided to buy this based on reviews. Although it is promising, I feel that this book would benefit people who used to beable to knit all styles and have lost practise or for people who have more experience-this book got too complicated and algebra like early on despite my eagerness and commitment to...
Published 18 months ago by Missy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Knitting Bible, 11 Dec 2009
I am an nexperienced knitter and I have few knitting books, but this one is by far the best, even if it is written in American English. Clear pictures, brilliant colours and extremely useful comments. A must for someone who wants to improve techniques and learn about colour composition, and wants to start experimenting with more challenging projects and creating own designs. Would highly recommend it even to beginners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for any knitter's library, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Pa Bastin "CatBastin" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A thoroughly great book - not only are the patterns great, the advice is good - as an experienced knitter it was nice to have relevant information and advice rather than the usual half-book rehash of how to knit from scratch. Having said that, the advice is sufficiently easy to follow for knitters of all abilities to follow. Gorgeous illustrations, clear patterns, and good inspiration for your own projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid book!, 14 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques (Hardcover)
This a reference book for anyone who wants to design any knitted item, and the subject is colour. It probably says all you really need to know about colour and knitting as it covers so many different techniques. The instructions are very clear, the diagrams and photos are excellent.

It's very good on choosing colours to use together, knitting with different coloured yarns and multi-colour yarns and the effect stitch choices have. Also creating pattern effects in the colour, or random effects, and then special techniques: stranded knitting, intarsia, helix knitting, shadow knitting, mosaic knitting, twined knitting, double knitting (two layers at once), designing with modules (a.k.a patchwork knitting), entrelac.

There's a nice "design workshop" section with basic garment design and most appropriately it ends up with finishing touches. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring ideas for using 'stash', 26 Mar 2010
Plenty of colour illusstrations to help you blend or combine colours using small quantities. Good stitch guide to show how colour choices can be used. An excellent book for using up stash as well as creating really attractive items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive colour knitting guide, 15 Nov 2011
By 
E. Hartley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a great overview of colour knitting techniques, including the obligatory colour theory section at the beginning (it's well done, but colour theory is never that exciting). This book introduces colourwork techniques from basic stripes and varigated yarns through slip stitch patterns, intarsia, stranded work, twined knitting, shadow knitting and more. The chapter on finishing techniques is worth the price of the book however - techniques I've previously only seen on technical knitting blogs, explained and presented in an easy to follow manner.

This would be a great buy for an adventurous beginner, an intermediate knitter looking to add their own stamp to patterns, or an experienced knitter looking for inspiration or to brush up on techniques. The only possible downside is that the projects included call for yarn from a small US based supplier - though with the guidance on choosing yarns and colourways included in the book, finding suitable substitutions shouldn't be too much of a trial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for beginners, gets complicated early on, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knitted when I was very young, basic. Having just got into again, I decided to buy this based on reviews. Although it is promising, I feel that this book would benefit people who used to beable to knit all styles and have lost practise or for people who have more experience-this book got too complicated and algebra like early on despite my eagerness and commitment to learn. I have given this book a 3 star due to my personal experience of not engaging with it, but it is an incredible book so would recommend if your more of a confident knitter or fast learner. I am returning it and going to purchase Knitty Gritty: Knitting for the Absolute Beginner by Aneeta Patel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques (Hardcover)
Nice for my dob I always nite somthing now for my student and my shelf so I bay meny books her in amazon strong servis is good for my.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice book, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques (Hardcover)
A very easy book to read with a lot of illustations in nice bright colurs. Can bring you a long way with colour knitting. Great for both beginner and experienced knitters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The patterns keep on comming, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never have I seen so many different patterns and techniques in a single book. I'm from Denmark so I haven't yet mastered the translation of the technical terms but it looks easy and accessible - and a good buy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lots of practical advice, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book goes from simple stripes to complex stitch and colour patterns. I got it becasue I wanted a guide to knitting with multple colours and how to do intarsia - it not only has that but lots of clever tips for fixing mistakes and finishing projects. Well illustrated and very clear instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques
The Essential Guide to Color Knitting Techniques by Margaret Radcliffe (Hardcover - Dec 2008)
18.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews