Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!
I am a beginner and am finding this book really great and the instructions are easy to follow- am also a visual learner and maybe thats why I loved it. I hardly read the "written" instruction. I read th ediagrams and they are very helpful.

The book starts with the basics (yarn, sizing, reading chats and joining motifs..)and with some tips and tricks as how to...
Published on 11 Dec. 2008 by N. Zahrani

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars this is a great book. But if you are a beginner who ...
I bought this book in a rush without reading the reviews because I wanted to find out more about joining different shapes, so I did not check that this is an American book which does not even offer a list of comparative terms.
On the plus side, it is a well presented book with some lovely pictures to inspire you, and Edie has a lively way of writing. But my other...
Published 6 months ago by Granny B


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and inspiring, 9 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
Love this book the motifs are so easy and so useful for all sorts of items. And also there are ideas inside how to use the motifs and there are so many motifs too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in love!, 17 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
Usually when I buy a crochet or knitting book I do one or two things from it and then it sits on the shelf gathering dust- not this one, I can't put it down!

The patterns are clear and easy to follow, her colour sense is inspirational, and for a tweaker like me it's also easy to follow her logic and come up with another 50 patches.

If you get confused by American terminology then you can easily follow the diagrams, and the photos of each piece are big and enough for you to see almost every stitch too.

There aren't any complete-project instructions, so if you don't like working out things like how much yarn you'll need and how many of each square to make it won't be for you. She gives a good explanation of how to do that in the introduction, so even if you've never tried before you'll be able to now.

My only quibble is that most of the triangles need a lot of rejigging to make the sides straight and the corners 60degrees, but even if you just ignore all the triangles there's plenty to get excited about elsewhere so it hasn't dimmed my enthusiasm.

Buy it, you'll be happy you did ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 21 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
This book is wonderful! The book is ring bound, opening flat when you are working. There are lots of motifs (144), divided by shape - circles, hexagons, triangles, squares and 'unusual shapes'. Each motif has a clear illustration with both written and charted instructions. The book starts with basic motif making principles. There are also suggestions for designing with the motifs and also suggestions for joining the motifs.
I found some of the motifs fairly difficult, although I am an experienced crocheter, but there are more simple ones which would build up skills. English readers need to remember to convert to the British system of crocheting, as the book is an American publication. The 'Basic Crochet Stitches' section at the back of the book is useful for this. This section is written, which might not suit people who prefer diagrams, but the same information can be found on the internet in diagrammatic form.
I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but American, 9 Oct. 2011
By 
Mrs. J. A. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
This is an absolutely excellent book of ideas. It does not have any patterns for full projects but is a treasure trove of ideas that can be made into eyecatching objects with just a little imagination. The only drawback it that the written notation is American - so a double crochet is written as a single, a treble as a double etc. Every design also has a very clear chart to follow, which does help to overcome difficulties with the written notation. A really good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to crochet gorgeous motifs this is your go-to title!, 30 April 2015
By 
MrsPaul (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
**US Terminology exclusively - no conversion or discussion of UK terminology**

Last autumn my mild interest in crochet became an obsession and I've been building a reference library - Edie Eckman books are my first choice and this title is one of the best buys so far! It arrived yesterday morning and I've been reading and crocheting ever since. Ok, I put down the book and hook long enough to make dinner and sleep, but other than that, this book has been in my hands since around 0930 yesterday. I wanted to learn motifs and this book definitely does the best work of instructing to achieve motif perfection.

Of course the spiral binding is a huge plus but everything about this book is completely brilliant! The layout of the book is perfect from page one to page 201, this book puts crocheted motifs within the reach of any dedicated (ok, read addicted, lol) crocheter. The opening pages are beyond invaluable for tuition and not just on motifs - everything in those pages can be used no matter what is being crocheted. One of the best sections in the opener is the pattern reading tuition, very, very helpful! The motifs are mouthwatering and presented by shape; the instructional text and guidance photos clear, crisp, easy to read, and like being in a workshop with Ms Eckman. She makes it all so understandable and do-able I prefer her books to just about any other. The appendix pages are brilliant for quick reference and include graphs for designing. No index but the table of contents is so comprehensive an index isn't needed.

The one and only very mild disappointment is that the patterns for the motifs aren't skill rated but that's so minor a disappointment as to be not a real disappointment. This book is incredible, I'm really happy to have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Granny squares?, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
Shaya (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
This is a beautiful book. It is full of everything but granny squares!
There are all sorts of motives. Round ones, triangle ones, hexagon ones and odd shaped ones. Yes are squares, lots of squares with not a granny in sight (well I lie there is one....but its round, oh wait theres one like a triangle) but not square!
Each section is set out with a header page with all the motives photographed in a series of colours and the instructions are clear with both written and and in universal chart form. Circles are in greens and orange. Hexagons in pinks, Triangles in blues, squares in Oranges and pink and finally Unusual shapes in Yellow and blue.

The book is by an American Author so the instructions are in American which are different from British but there is only a little difference but the charts are universal so if you can read charts there is no problem.
For those unsure
Slip stitch seems to be the same
Single crochet is double
Double crochet is Treble crochet
Treble crochet is Double crochet to quote just a few.
There is plenty of information on the internet to help with understanding the differences with american and british Crochet stitches.
This book has a beginning with useful information in understanding the book. How to start the motives, how to read patterns how to read the charts, Hook and Yarn sizing etc.
At the back there are ideas how to join them together and some spare charts so you can make your own.
And it is all in a hard spiral bound book so iy is easy to keep the book open while you work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book full of inspiration, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just downloaded this book and can't wait to get started. It does use American terminology but I've used enough patterns from the internet for that not to bother me.
The motifs range from the simple to the more complicated and are beautifully illustrated. It requires some basic knowledge of crochet but the patterns are clearly explained.
I seem to have a knack of knowing after my first skim through a book if I'm going to like and use it, this is definitely one I'm going to love and get plenty of use from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but see my review re language, 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
What a great book!! Love it. Patterns are in word and diagram form. However, BEWARE: written patterns use the American names for stitches, ie a "DC" stitch is called "SC", and a "TBL" is called a ”DC”. There are free pattern language converters available on line, but I use the diagrammatic pattern instead. There is a nice "ideas for using your motifs" section at front as well. Lots of God general information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had got it ages ago, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
I love this book. Ok so the terminology follows American crochet but, these are fully explained and it doesn't take too long to become comfortable and competent with the shift from UK to US stitch instructions. For me, as a competent crocheter, the terminology is no big deal, although it is important to recognize this is the case early on. The text does inform you but it's not made a big deal of - so, do be aware.

The designs are great and are linked in sections by shape. This means there are multiple combinations and possibilities to work with. What I like is the clarity of instructions and the beautiful illustrations. The charts are useful as are tips for designing your own throws etc. I think this book is suitable for all abilities with designs that range form straightforward to more complex.

The spiral style binding is a bonus and means the book will lay flat.

I bought this along with the one on motifs and they were both well worth the money.

If you like crocheting and have odd balls to use up this book is a gold mine of ideas. A truly useful addition and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excited about trying some of these projects, 9 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs (Spiral-bound)
So far I've not had a chance to do more than briefly leaf through them, but they're already inspiring me. Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs, and Around the Corner Crochet Borders, both by Eddie Eckman are bold and vibrant books, containing hordes of simple yet effective crochet patterns. The patterns are each laid out both in a written format, and in a symbol chart, so you can use whichever method you are used to. The books appear to give thorough explanations at the beginning of how to do particular stitches, and give good directions to the beginner crocheter, whilst containing a few handy hints for the more advanced crocheter also.

Each crocheted item is displayed in beautiful bold colours, and the motif book even includes a few pages of ideas on how to use your motifs once you have completed them. I'm super excited about trying some different designs out of these books soon, I just need to get a few other lingering projects out of the way so I can get on with the more fun things on my to do list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs
Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs by Edie Eckman (Spiral-bound - 6 Oct. 2008)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews