Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing person Michelle Knight is
This is the first time I've read a book containing abuse, l think l wanted to read it because l knew Michelle, Gina, Amanda and Jocelyn escaped. It's humbling to read how Michelle has reclaimed her life after her awful start in life which ultimately led to her kidnap, the love she still gives out to the world is awe-inspiring. I hope she and the other girls have long,...
Published 9 months ago by Sassyboo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Unbelievably horrific experience
Published 7 months ago by mrs marian fletcher


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing person Michelle Knight is, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time I've read a book containing abuse, l think l wanted to read it because l knew Michelle, Gina, Amanda and Jocelyn escaped. It's humbling to read how Michelle has reclaimed her life after her awful start in life which ultimately led to her kidnap, the love she still gives out to the world is awe-inspiring. I hope she and the other girls have long, healthy and happy lives before it's 'their time' to go, they deserve to discover how kind the world - and people - can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars message of hope, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
I've sat up all night and read this book simply couldn't put it down. I purchased it on the day it was released and received it next day. It needs to be a best seller. This young woman has gone through unimaginable torture degrading and humiliating treatment but no longer down trodden she has got back up there and with god's good grace she has started her life all over again. The book puts to rest many of the things said in the media. I was fascinated by Michelle Knight since day one I think that the book also gives hope to others that have suffered some form of torture or abuse that one can eventually with guts and courage move on. I wish I had her strength not to hate but to forgive I suspect that in itself is a difficult job. I think she is better off without her family they sound to me like a bad hangover......I HOPE ARIEL CASTRO IS CHAINED IN HELL FOR ETERNITY AND IS WISHING HE WAS STILL IN JAIL WITH THE OTHER PERVS, I HOPE WHEREVER HE HE IS MAKES JAIL LOOK LIKE A TEA PARTY.....GO, Michelle, Go Amanda, Go Gina and Go Jocelyn xxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appreciating Michelle willingness and strength to prevent this kind of shameful thing to happen ever again, 20 May 2014
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
‘Finding Me’ written by Michelle Knight is a true story about the abduction of this young single mother in Cleveland in 2002 by a local school bus driver, a woman who remained hidden from the world for a decade, been tortured whole time, in order to finally run to the so much desired freedom on a day when the whole world learned about her.

On the book pages Michelle manages to faithfully and in detail describe all the things she went through together with the other two captives, all the humiliations and torture they three have to endure to survive and finally become free.

When you read it, the first thing you think of is how is possible to survive it all not losing hope, and then find strength to resume a normal life after ten years you lived in a parallel world of violence, so close and infinitely far away from freedom.

In addition, Michelle story becomes even sadder after reading her confession about losing custody of son because on the day of her kidnapping she was scheduled to appear in court for child custody case, of whom Michelle had previously lost custody, never to been reunited with her son again. It seems that precisely Michelle desire to be with her child help her to stay alive all these years, and who knows whether she would have endured if she knew that it would never be the case.

While reading her book you cannot feel other than terribly knowing that such things are possible at the present times, but on the other hand Michelle can represent as a symbol of endurance, strength and determination not only because she managed to go through all her imprisonment days but to continue living afterwards.

And for all those reasons ‘Finding Me’, this disturbing book by Michelle Knight told first-hand about the crime that shocked the whole world can be highly recommended to read, while appreciating author’s willingness and strength to share her life in order to help this kind of shameful thing never happening again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quasar of a human life?, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
Just to clarify: I don't love it (reference to the meaning of 5* on Amazon). It's a gruesome story.

I heard the story (and Michelle herself) on "Woman's Hour". For once nobody could be wanting to be in the presenter's shoes. As she was picking her way through words carefully (an admirable performance by the way), like someone just about to walk on broken glass, Michelle seemed to be the only one who was talking almost matter-of-factly. What struck me was the warmth in her voice, the abundance of love to everyone (and her son in particular) and seemingly sincere declaration of forgiveness. There was an awkward pause near the end of the programme, where Michelle's coping seemed to slip and difficult things had to be dealt with with the mic off. But after that she was back again full of shining love.

They say more then 90% of the universe is dark matter. It seems to be in proportion with what life has allotted to her. But it makes the light brighter. In the circumstances I am awed by the generosity of Michelle's spirit and humbled by her strength. Bless all the people who helped and are helping Michelle. Things like that give hope to us all. As my little contribution to her quest in balancing out her life I decided to buy her book and hope that it'll help her move a little closer to her ultimate goal and the reason for her sparkling love and her longing - her son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting recollection, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michelle's story is tragic. She has recounted her horrific experience with honesty and candour. I couldn't put the book down and read it in one go. I admire her so much for her positivity and new found zest for life. I can't ever imagine going through what she has. Michelle, you are an inspiration to so many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
I normally only read fiction but I was intrigued by the Cleveland kidnappings and Michelle's story, this book can be a hard read at times especially when the amount of torture the girls had to endure is described but the overall message throughout is one of incredible strength and hope. I read the whole book over a weekend, I just couldn't put it down, but it's hard to stomach when reading that this isn't just a story, this really happened. The girls bravery is inspirational and I really hope Michelle is reunited with her son one day. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping book., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you Michelle for sharing your story and its message of hope. It brought up nearly every emotion for me. Ive read the book in just 2days, very unusual for me. I recommend this to everyone. I would wish every happiness to Michelle for her future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable, 3 Dec. 2014
By 
Seamarram "Seamarram" (Whitby, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
What a harrowing but thoroughly gripping book, I literally could not put it down and stayed awake all night 'til I reach the end. Michelle Knight is certainly one of those women who never gave up although plainly her body was giving up under the conditions she endured year after year. The book moves along always with the painful memory of the son she would never know and the babies who were so cruelly torn from her body. I cannot really comprehend anyone going through what she did, the longest survivor and despised by her captor, this book sets out the true horror of eleven years of rape, torture, starvation, my heart goes out to Michelle and thanks to all who put together this book. Utterly spellbinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People need to read this, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
I finished this book in a couple of hours, i could not put it down! I think Michelle is amazing and her strength is so clear throughout the book. I cannot believe that those girls went through, and I am glad she has been able to start her life from scratch. It is disgusting and shocking the abuse and torture she had to endure in the hands of that evil man, it's scary that there are people like him on this planet. I found it particularly sad when she spoke about her childhood, and her parents not looking for her when she vanished. With everything she has been through her spirit and personality shines through! Good luck for the future Michelle :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kidnapped by a psychopath and abused, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read well written by the author. I read the sample and just had to buy the book on Kindle. I could not put it down. I kept making my excuses to go to bed to go read more. What sadness what pain all through Michelle ' s life she was abused. Hard to understand but true. She suffered for it 11 years a prisoner after being kidnapped, wondering if anyone had ever reported her missing and had they forgotten her!. Lonely and a victim of rape and abuse at the hands of a man who turns into a monster due to a split personality. Some of the things he did to her, she has never brought herself to say, due to the painful experience s she went through at his hands. The only thing that kept her alive and strong was the loving thoughts about her only young son somewhere hopefully happy safe and hopeful that she would see him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews