Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing person Michelle Knight is
This is the first time I've read a book containing abuse, l think l wanted to read it because l knew Michelle, Gina, Amanda and Jocelyn escaped. It's humbling to read how Michelle has reclaimed her life after her awful start in life which ultimately led to her kidnap, the love she still gives out to the world is awe-inspiring. I hope she and the other girls have long,...
Published 11 months ago by Sassyboo

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Even Come Close.
I picked up this book and read it in two sittings, it is compelling reading and like others I hope my purchase will in some way help Michelle Knight in her later life, building a future with her son and perhaps a significant other. Whatever scant details Ms Knight was able to offer about her ordeal are achievement enough when many would bottle things up or be too...
Published 11 months ago by Ian Grace


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing person Michelle Knight is, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time I've read a book containing abuse, l think l wanted to read it because l knew Michelle, Gina, Amanda and Jocelyn escaped. It's humbling to read how Michelle has reclaimed her life after her awful start in life which ultimately led to her kidnap, the love she still gives out to the world is awe-inspiring. I hope she and the other girls have long, healthy and happy lives before it's 'their time' to go, they deserve to discover how kind the world - and people - can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars message of hope, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
I've sat up all night and read this book simply couldn't put it down. I purchased it on the day it was released and received it next day. It needs to be a best seller. This young woman has gone through unimaginable torture degrading and humiliating treatment but no longer down trodden she has got back up there and with god's good grace she has started her life all over again. The book puts to rest many of the things said in the media. I was fascinated by Michelle Knight since day one I think that the book also gives hope to others that have suffered some form of torture or abuse that one can eventually with guts and courage move on. I wish I had her strength not to hate but to forgive I suspect that in itself is a difficult job. I think she is better off without her family they sound to me like a bad hangover......I HOPE ARIEL CASTRO IS CHAINED IN HELL FOR ETERNITY AND IS WISHING HE WAS STILL IN JAIL WITH THE OTHER PERVS, I HOPE WHEREVER HE HE IS MAKES JAIL LOOK LIKE A TEA PARTY.....GO, Michelle, Go Amanda, Go Gina and Go Jocelyn xxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting recollection, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michelle's story is tragic. She has recounted her horrific experience with honesty and candour. I couldn't put the book down and read it in one go. I admire her so much for her positivity and new found zest for life. I can't ever imagine going through what she has. Michelle, you are an inspiration to so many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
I normally only read fiction but I was intrigued by the Cleveland kidnappings and Michelle's story, this book can be a hard read at times especially when the amount of torture the girls had to endure is described but the overall message throughout is one of incredible strength and hope. I read the whole book over a weekend, I just couldn't put it down, but it's hard to stomach when reading that this isn't just a story, this really happened. The girls bravery is inspirational and I really hope Michelle is reunited with her son one day. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping book., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you Michelle for sharing your story and its message of hope. It brought up nearly every emotion for me. Ive read the book in just 2days, very unusual for me. I recommend this to everyone. I would wish every happiness to Michelle for her future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable, 3 Dec. 2014
By 
Seamarram "Seamarram" (Whitby, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
What a harrowing but thoroughly gripping book, I literally could not put it down and stayed awake all night 'til I reach the end. Michelle Knight is certainly one of those women who never gave up although plainly her body was giving up under the conditions she endured year after year. The book moves along always with the painful memory of the son she would never know and the babies who were so cruelly torn from her body. I cannot really comprehend anyone going through what she did, the longest survivor and despised by her captor, this book sets out the true horror of eleven years of rape, torture, starvation, my heart goes out to Michelle and thanks to all who put together this book. Utterly spellbinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People need to read this, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings (Hardcover)
I finished this book in a couple of hours, i could not put it down! I think Michelle is amazing and her strength is so clear throughout the book. I cannot believe that those girls went through, and I am glad she has been able to start her life from scratch. It is disgusting and shocking the abuse and torture she had to endure in the hands of that evil man, it's scary that there are people like him on this planet. I found it particularly sad when she spoke about her childhood, and her parents not looking for her when she vanished. With everything she has been through her spirit and personality shines through! Good luck for the future Michelle :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kidnapped by a psychopath and abused, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read well written by the author. I read the sample and just had to buy the book on Kindle. I could not put it down. I kept making my excuses to go to bed to go read more. What sadness what pain all through Michelle ' s life she was abused. Hard to understand but true. She suffered for it 11 years a prisoner after being kidnapped, wondering if anyone had ever reported her missing and had they forgotten her!. Lonely and a victim of rape and abuse at the hands of a man who turns into a monster due to a split personality. Some of the things he did to her, she has never brought herself to say, due to the painful experience s she went through at his hands. The only thing that kept her alive and strong was the loving thoughts about her only young son somewhere hopefully happy safe and hopeful that she would see him again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Limarki (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very real account of a terrifying ordeal. Michelle gives a perfect insight into the horror she endured at the hands of her kidnapper and tormentor. I also feel the picture the press painted of this woman is totally unfair and uninformed. Reading her account revealed a woman in complete contrast to the picture the media painted of her. I was expecting an immature prose and slightly childlike account. Nothing could be further from the truth. Sure, her upbringing was questionable and her parents should of had all the children taken away by social services. But, I also believe it was her harsh socio economic background that enabled her to withstand her captivity and survive. I truly wish her every happiness and a reunion with her estranged son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing story by an amazing strong woman. Very emotional book but makes you realise that sometimes we take life for granted and complain about silly little things when things could be a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Me: A Decade of Darkness, a Life Reclaimed: A Memoir of the Cleveland Kidnappings
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews