Customer Reviews


278 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Tribe
This was a book club choice and since Mann Booker shortlist books are often a bit of a struggle, as is the perceived topic of Islamic fundamentalism, I was not particularly looking forward to it. But in fact it's very good. Yes, it's a soliloquy, but it avoids verbosity, and it flows smoothly. For some reason I'd expected that the lead character was a worthy, ethical...
Published on 25 Sep 2012 by W. Tegner

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg
Rubbish story brilliantly told!

If you've been to the developing world you will have been approached by someone who starts talking to you, usually offering something, generally wanting something. They can be hard to shake off. The way the story is told is just like that.

The stranger talks to you from the pages, taking you to a restaurant in Lahore...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Drifter


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Importance of Tribe, 25 Sep 2012
By 
W. Tegner "Bill" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a book club choice and since Mann Booker shortlist books are often a bit of a struggle, as is the perceived topic of Islamic fundamentalism, I was not particularly looking forward to it. But in fact it's very good. Yes, it's a soliloquy, but it avoids verbosity, and it flows smoothly. For some reason I'd expected that the lead character was a worthy, ethical medic, but in fact he's a Princeton business graduate and a soccer enthusiast. But he's caught between two cultures nonetheless. And that, of course, is the theme of this book: to quote a phrase from it, "the importance of tribe".

We see the clash of Pakistani tradition versus a complex US culture, hard nosed yet psychotic (not the easiest mix). But had it not been for 9/11 there might not have been a problem for Changez, the narrator.

This is a book to make you think, not to make you feel happy. I didn't particularly like Changez, nor his neurotic American girlfriend, nor the enigmatic "sir" he is talking to. I don't think I was supposed to. But the message of the book registered with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holds back, 27 April 2009
The Reluctant Terrorist is a quick read. Most of it is set in a cafe in Pakistan with the main character Jangez, recounting to an American what he had experienced before and after 9/11 in New York while employed in a high-flying job (an experience which overlaps with those dastardly city stock brokers who created the financial crisis!). His former colonial grammar school education combined with his outsider's fascination with the American Dream, attracts Jangez to an all-American girl who isn't interested in him beyond a sycophantic friend or a substitute for an ex-boyfriend. The first-person narration works for me, although there are moments like 'I see you are thirsty enough to accept another wonderful cup of tea. Yes? I thought so, one moment' etc... which takes a bit of getting used to.

However, this book is ground-breaking: Apart from the horror and revulsion felt, which was understandable after 9/11, there was also a widespread but unexpressed feeling that was neither extremist nor hugely patriotic or sympathetic to what had happened.

I had been waiting to find an apt expression of this 'feeling', I can't think of a better word at the moment, because it became clear that there must be other viewpoints on issues like the war on terror than those found on most of the western media outlets.

Reluctant Terrorist is not an anti-American piece of literature, it is far too intelligent to be summed up in such a way. Instead it shows how the American Dream, from an immigrant's point of view, rather than being fully seized upon, is sort of interrupted and inverted. The manner of the first person narrative style always holds back from putting the boot in, as it were. For me, the true purpose and conclusion of the protagonist's experience is clear - so I didn't find it as suspenseful as other reviewers.

I think there are two ways of seeing 9/11 - the first which has been predominant until now - that it was an affront to what it was/is to be an American - hugely symbolic with the towers, and the second that it is another human tragedy among many - many of which have seen the US as perpertraitor against other peoples. (A third view is that of a terrorist which is by definition insane. Interestingly I wouldn't say Hamid indulges his main character in this view for a moment.) This book is in the second camp and the overly polite manner or, as one might interpret it, veneer, distances the reader from the themes and the horrific truth of the terrorist attacks. This is what makes us think beyond media coverage of purely brutal images and provides a fascinating insight of a fictional Pakistani who goes through a sort Dickensian class and culture shock - ending up doubly traumatized by a personal tragedy and a moral collapse of previously highly regarded values and truths. There is a great description in which the flags and atmosphere in New York is described as belonging to old black and film conveying an ancient almost primitive blind patriotism.

Moving the reader away from the trauma of 9/11 is a very bold move by the author, but even so, I think he deliberately used this subtle style to soften the presence of an alternative view beyond the, as I say, 'terrorism is despicable in any shape or form' denouncement which, although true, prevents us from understanding the whole picture.

What happens at the end of the novel tests you. I think it is by far more one thing than the other - pretty clear. Interestingly, if you have read the Catcher in the Rye, the style won't come as a huge revelation to you I think. I like this novel, but it has just occured to me that the Erica character could have just as easily been IN the Catcher in the Rye - it has a very similar feel.

Anyway - read it - it doesn't take long and you get a lot from it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finely worked prose covering deeply felt issues but too unresolved to reach the highest marks, 31 Oct 2007
By 
BookAddictUK "BookAddictUK" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
There is nothing bloated or overdone about Mohsin Hamid's The Reluctant Fundamentalist. Yet this sparse, finely cropped short novel tackles some of the challenging issues. Changez, a Pakistani Muslim from a once wealthy family in Lahore, experiences his own version of the American Dream when his talent and his Princeton scholarship lead him to a high-flying job in the world of New York finance and to relationship with a beautiful, enigmatic all-American girl who represents his passport into high society as well. But, over aromatic food and exotic drinks back in Lahore, Changez relates in a one-sided conservation with an American traveller how he never felt entirely at ease and how the attacks on the World Trade Centre and the subsequent repercussions - both political and personal ones - roused him from his American Dream: his reluctance to follow the advice of his mentor in business to focus on the fundamentals is replaced by an hankering to concentrate on fundamentals of a very different sort.

Yet at times the very sparsity which makes the novel so compelling leaves the reader in a void of ignorance. One is, for instance, driven to seek to understand Changez's conversion but the text provides so little challenge to Changez's narrative that it is left flimsy, incomplete and thus unresolved. This is perhaps Hamid's intention - to set out clearly that there are no easy answers; that Westerners will always fail to understand the East. In that sense this is a deeply unsettling novel and leaves one wishing for just a little more, a little more insight, a little more depth. The sense of `unfinishnessed' is only heightened by the ambiguous, unresolved but perfectly composed ending. Its short listing for the Booker Prize can be justified on the grounds of its fine prose, well-worked form and challenging topics alone but one can equally understand why it didn't win. It is perhaps in the end just a tad too ambiguous, too ethereal, to deliver the sort of challenge which would make it stand head and shoulders above the rest. All round an excellent read which will linger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant and thoughtful, 24 April 2007
By 
This slim, beautifully written book is written as a monologue spoken by a young man, born and living in Pakistan, but educated in America. He is telling his life story to an American stranger in Lahore.

This outwardly simple book is packed full of ideas. There are themes of loss and grief, but also of nostalgia, of the dangerous slide of both countries and individuals who lose wealth and influence but retain the pride of earlier days, best illustrated in the lines "As I have already told you I did not grow up in poverty. But I did grow up with a poor boys sense of longing, in my case not for what my family had never had, but for hat we had had and lost. Some of my relatives held onto imagined memories the way homeless people hold onto lottery tickets. Nostalgia was their crack cocaine, if you will, and my childhood was littered with the consequences of their addiction: unserviceable debts, squabbles over inheritances, the odd alcoholic or suicide."

There is a sophisticated analysis of the imperial nature of America, with discussion of how the brightest and best of the developing world are trained as "janissaries", isolated from their cultural roots without fully being assimilated into their masters these child soldiers have nothing to do but work or fight for their adopted nation.

This novel is not political dialectic, it is intensely personal, and that is why it works so well. It encompasses a repeatedly thwarted love affair, which is drawn wonderfully well and a brilliant sense of place.

The reader knows, throughout the book that they are not getting everything from the aptly named Changez; he is an unreliable narrator because of what is omitted, but what he tells you feels true, intense and is not the usual, superficial analyses.

A book with real depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slight Novel, Superbly Realised, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Jim (Blackheath, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As an outsider's view on the War on Terror and the 9/11 attacks, the Reluctant Fundamentalist offers a revelatory take on a series of events the west is only starting to question. It follows the story of Pakistani immigrant - Changez - working in a high powered corporate job in New York, after graduating from Princeton. At first, with his $80,000 salary, expense account and sharp suits, he thinks he is living the American dream, but then the attacks on the World Trade Centre take place and he is forced to question his reason for being.

As with On Chesil Beach, another of the 2007 Mann Booker Prize nominees, at less than 200 pages this is less a novel than a novella. But don't let you think this is a book you can race through. Moshin Hamid's prose is restrained and thoughtful; intricately layered and insightful - in short, to be savoured.

Some things didn't work for me: the form of narration - Changez telling his story to a western stranger outside a Lahore restaurant was somewhat clumsy. Each chapter is prefaced with a slightly camp `Oh, but sir, our tea is about to arrive' etc. A straightforward memoir would have worked better and would have avoided the messy ending. Also the title of the book suggests that this is in some way about hard core Islamism or terrorism: it's not, but I feel that it will invariably discourage some readers.

Nevertheless, these are minor quibbles and the Reluctant Fundamentalist is a triumph, a wonderful exposition of a man forced to question his personal, national and religious identity in troubled times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reluctant Reader Completely Won Over, 10 April 2009
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Reluctant Fundamentalist is a post 9/11 book which looks at how such a horrific moment in history has affected us all. The book is told through a conversation that Changez, the narrator, has with an unnamed American stranger he joins for afternoon tea in a Lahore café. He tells the man his whole history, how he fought for scholarship to get into an American College, Princeton in fact, and then becomes a high flyer in a multimillion pound making corporation falling in love with America and an American woman along the way. However after 9/11 everything in Changez's New York life changes and he is never the same again.

From doing some research on the internet it appears that there is rather a large bout of criticism going on that this is an anti-American book. I wouldn't describe it so at all. Yes I admit when Changez admits to his dinner companion that he `smiled' when the World Trade Centre crumbled I almost put the book down in disgust but I am glad I carried on. What Hamid does with this book is look at how relations rapidly declined between America and Muslim countries. He also looks at how some Muslim people were treated by the city of New York and its people after 9/11 regardless of where they came from be it Pakistan or Philadelphia but instead on their Muslim looks, people were spat at, avoided and segregated. It also talks of how for Changez a man who is totally `an American' in his head from his college days and living in New York becomes torn between what his current homeland is doing to his original homeland and its neighbours with the air strikes.

This truly is an incredibly clever novel and really makes you think. You need to go into it completely open minded and be prepared to look at things from all angles and that in itself with this particular topic is quite difficult, but then reading should challenge you and take you into the minds of people you wouldn't normally. I am wondering if that's why this book through writing style and getting into complex characters heads strangely reminded me of American Psycho, which though I doubt I will ever read again is a masterpiece. If I had any complaint with the book it would be the love story between Changez and Erica. I think Hamid slightly over dramatised and sensationalised that part of the book when he didn't really need to. I thought the `open' ending of the book was brilliant though, again it will make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully balanced portrayal of the subtleties of East Vs West, 27 Feb 2008
WARNING: SPOILERS

I am responding to some of the criticisms of the book in other reviews(that it is simply anti-American), which I feel have completely misunderstood it. The premise of the book is a conversation between Changez (a Pakistani who used to live in New York) and an American. The conversation occurs in Changez's home town, Lahore and the narrative reports Changez's side of the conversation, so it reads like a monologue. As they talk throughout the day, Changez reports his time in America and the reason he is now living in Pakistan. In so doing, he highlights the post 9/11 tensions between America and Muslim countries.

One criticism below is that the book is simply anti-American and distastefully so. I would strongly disagree. The narrative seemed to me to be a love story between the Pakistani narrator, Changez, and the nation of America. The character's gradual disillusionment with America is counterbalanced by his love for it and longing to be part of it, and there is a hint at some disgust at himself for still having such a connection with it, through Erica, an American girl he fell in love with.

Another criticism made in these reviews is that his change of heart towards America is not adequately explained. I think in this case, 'less is more'. The fact that his 'falling out of love' with America is not fully explained seems perfectly natural: many divorcees find it difficult to explain their breakdown of relationship. The gradual distancing of himself from American culture is as much about a psychological struggle to reconcile his true identity as it is a critique on the country's politics.

Hamid seems to hold in tension throughout the narrative this 'love-hate' relationship between East and West and does it with great subtlety and art. As a Westerner, I think it brings the complex issues of Islamic fundamentalism and America's 'war on terror' to the fore with great sympathy and balance. So much so, that the ending, being ambiguous, leaves you facing your own prejudices. Who is in danger at the end, Changez or the American? Has Changez lured the American into a trap, as part of his new strategy to stop America, or is he entirely innocent? Is Changez under threat from the American or not? I don't believe that the ending is a weakness of the book. Rather, it is purposefully, wonderfully ambiguous, leaving the reader to challenge your own preconceptions and sterotypes - who do we see as the real enemy?

In conclusion, I think this book is excellently, sensitively written, delicately handling complex issues. It is not perfect, and at times the monologue style of the narrative can seem a little limiting or clumsy. But it is a very well-written, thoughtful book, that deserves a thoughtful, considered response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introspective of a repented Jannissary, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Pregio Matteo (Cagliari, Sardinia, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At the end of this book you may be left with a bitter taste in your mouth, with the sensation that the climax of the novel was not completely fulfilled.
However it is certain that a so-called Western person is left with a little better grasp of the Pakistani culture and way of seeing, and with a little (this time only a little) better understandment of the drive to fundamentalism that the 9/11 attacks provoked.
The key of reading of this book is surely not an extended interpretation of Changez's story, cause that might leave you disappointed lately. I believe you should in fact look at the narrator's story as an almost isolate case, deep and intelligent, but still an individual's story.
A definite plus for this novel is Changez's aristocratic, maniacally studied and careful choice of words and way of recounting to his American fellow this beautiful story of infatuation and desenchantment with the American culture. His frequent digressions about Pakistani culture are a great diversification for what could be a pretty "heavy" reading.
All in all a great reading, suggested to anyone who's interested in deepening a little more in the psychology of fundamentalism and the relativism of today's world.
Who is the Reluctant Fundamentalist? The Underwood Samson's Changez who must "Focus on fundamentals" to get his job done, or the Lahore's Changez, a man who manages to get back to his land's fundamentals?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Perspective on Fundamentalism, 5 Jun 2008
By 
Herman Norford "Keen Reader" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had planned to read The Reluctant Fundamentalist out of sheer curiosity as to what made the character a reluctant fundamentalist and how that would manifest itself. On reading the book, I was delighted by the nuance and subtlety underlying the title of the book.

Mohsin Hamid's story is beautifully written and told by Changez, the main character and first person narrator whom some might consider unreliable, given the technique adopted by Hamid. The setting is Anarkali a district in Lahore, Pakistan. Changez, who has had the benefit of an Ivy League College education and subsequently employment with a trouble shooting company, meets an American, befriends him and over dinner Changez tells the story of his experience in America. Everything is seen through the eyes of Changez, even the tone and atmosphere of the story is created by him.

Superfically, it could be argued that the premise on which the novel is based is implausible. Two strangers meet for the first time and one allows the other to pour out his soul. Yet one of the great achievements of Hamid is that he was able to draw me into Changez's musings. The reader easily becomes a substitute for the American and is keen to listen to Changez. For me it was this that made the primise of the novel plausible. I don't know how Hamid did it but it is a great artistic achievement.

Hamid's technique is not new but it was certainly daring and risky to narrate the story in this manner, solely through the eyes of Changez. The techinque is reminiscence of that found in Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness where Chalie Marlow, a first person narrator, spins a yarn to companions about his seafaring days. Like Marlow's story, I found Changez's story deeply touching.

The narrator's voice is calm, subtle, and nuanced - notice that the text is littered with parenthesis. Through this style Hamid allows Changez to reveal more about himself and tease out more information from the American than the bear bones of the text at first suggest. This was a clever use of tone and style.

The book is partly about the journeys people take, meet and form relationships with other people from different cultures, attempt to integrate and then become something new. This theme is summed up in a brief Proustian like passage thus: "Such journeys have convinced me that it is not always possible to restore one's boundaries after they have been blurred and made permeable by a relationship: try as we might, we cannot reconstitue ourselves as the autonomous beings we previously imagined ourselves to be. Something of us is now outside, and something of the outside is now within us."

The Reluctant Fundamentalist is also a mature and sober exploration of the impact of 9/11 on a Muslim 'outsider' desperately trying to find a place in American life. Through Changez's character, and his response to 9/11, Hamid shows that, as an outsider, despite efforts to integrate into another culture there might just be something deep within our psyche that, if only on a symbolic level, makes us hanker towards nationalism and narrow minded culture.

This is also a heart rending story. Changez is so desperate to fit into American life that he was prepared to suffer the foibles of unrequited love. However, of more interest to me is the story behind the person that Changez dotes upon. Erica's story serves as an acute counterpoint to Changez's. Like Changez, Erica is trying to redefine herself. For Erica the need to redefine herself is triggered by the loss of her childhood love, Chris, and a longing for things to be as they were. It stikes me that what Hamid has done with these two characters is, in different ways, highlight the human need for love and belonging. Given that this is a very short novel, the way Hamid goes about showing this human need and the fact that he pulls it off is a remarkable achievement.

Another dominant theme of the book is the notion of change and renewal - note the symbolism of the narrator's name, Changez and his professional role as an analyst and company trouble shooter. It asks how do we cope with and manage one of the inevitable features of life? Hamid cleverly explores change against the backdrop of micro events, eg, the personal life changing journeys undertaken by Changez and Erica, and also Macro events eg, the development of a post 9/11 world, the conflict between Pakistan and India and America's geo-political world dominance.

Incidentally, for those who might think that the title of novel refers simply to Muslim Fundamentalism you would be wrong. Hamid subtly explores the word fundamentalist in order to deconstruct it and remind us of its broader meaning and applicaion. One thing that emerges is that Changez is no reluctant Muslim fundamentalist rather it is in his chosen career that he behaves as a fundamentalist. The change he imposes upon organizations ultimately damages lives. Changez has his epiphany on an assignment in Chile when he meets the chief of a publishing company, Juan-Bautista. For a number of reasons Changez becomes disillusioned with his role and he realises that he is a reluctant fundamentalist. He tells us: "All I knew was that my days of focusing on fundamentals were done".

The Reluctant Fundamentalist is a book that explores what we have in common as human beings and seeks to celebrate it. For such a short book Mohsin Hamid has pulled off a towering achievement. It deserved to be shortlisted for the 2007 Man Booker prize and perhaps it should have won it. Please read the novel and be amazed by Hamid's achievement.

PS: For all of us expatriate British citizens let Changez's story be a reminder of our precarious status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite sure what I made of it, 31 Oct 2008
By 
Chris Widgery (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I've given this 4 stars, even though I'm not entirely sure what I made of it. The entirety of this short book (220 pages but they are pretty spaced out) is related by the narrator to someone he's met in a Lahori cafe. He recounts the tale of his life, how he went to America, studied at Princeton, got a very highly paid job and became American. Or, as he says, a New Yorker, at least. And then 9/11 happened and everything changed.

I did enjoy the book, which is, I suppose, a study of how young men get sucked into fundamentalism. Throughout I was drawing the parallels with John Updike's Terrorist - another short book looking at the same thing, albeit from a totally different perspective. I didn't find this entirely convincing - there seems to be a sudden lurch from one thing to another which isn't entirely plausible. But at the same time, and maybe this is the point, the whole book is narrated by the lead character, so maybe he is being ambiguous or incomplete deliberately. So throughout the story you're never entirely sure of where you stand. Which might be the point. Oh, I don't know!

Read it yourself and see what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reluctant Fundamentalist
The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid (Audio CD - May 2007)
£20.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews