Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balance
I approached The Ancient Alien Question with some trepidation. Finding a foreword by EVD himself further reduced my hopes and expectations. Very quickly, I found I couldn't put the book down. I'm quite familiar with the territory, but Philip Coppens managed to bring something new and exciting to the table. Best of all, he mantained an objective, rational stance that...
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by replayer

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, in parts..
Some chapters are a lot better than others in this book. And although he says he is a 'sceptic' by the end of the book he clearly has made his mind up about certain theories, and this is where the book looses it's way. The last bunch of chapters descend into a lot of old hogwash about mystics, shamans from deep inside the Amazon jungle and their trippy drugs, other...
Published 20 months ago by A Craig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balance, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
I approached The Ancient Alien Question with some trepidation. Finding a foreword by EVD himself further reduced my hopes and expectations. Very quickly, I found I couldn't put the book down. I'm quite familiar with the territory, but Philip Coppens managed to bring something new and exciting to the table. Best of all, he mantained an objective, rational stance that reveals where he stands but leaves the reader to make their own judgements.

The Ancient Alien Question is a very good read. Well paced. Logically constructed. Full of interest. The book is particularly useful for those new to the subject.

There is more to come and I hope Philip is planning a follow up.

Plenty of food for thought...I like that in a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have,must read., 4 Aug 2012
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
Whether a newcomer or seasoned sceptic this book is a must for the personal library.A very easy read with a clear explanation of established views,alternatives and the author's own personal take.I found myself conducting further research after reading this book to get a better understanding of certain aspects.The theory concerning the limestone blocks forming the Giza pyramids is a real eye opener.

As other reviewers have commented i was also a bit hesitant in the begining about this book in view of the foreword by EVD;bad publicity lasts a long time and can cloud our judgement.However, i read this book with an open mind and glad i did.

Overall an excellent reference book that i know that i will reread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, in parts.., 18 Jan 2013
By 
A Craig "sambora4562" (belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
Some chapters are a lot better than others in this book. And although he says he is a 'sceptic' by the end of the book he clearly has made his mind up about certain theories, and this is where the book looses it's way. The last bunch of chapters descend into a lot of old hogwash about mystics, shamans from deep inside the Amazon jungle and their trippy drugs, other dimensions and non physical entities and the like, which the author argues more as fact than the previous 'questions' that he addressed earlier in the book.

When he started talking about Uri Geller (a proven fraud) and other people with supposed special abilities, he goes on about the more mystical side of things, which is a lot harder to support without the hard physical evidence such as all the archaeological or historical records and empirical evidence which he started the book focusing on, he looses some credibility.

His belief that UFO's are not actually physical things is a bit of a jump, and he doesn't address a whole branch of UFOology by doing this. I know his focus is on 'ancient aliens' but the thousands upon thousands of modern UFO sighting of clear physical objects which show up on radar and leave physical traces etc would suggest that these 'visitors' are probably not some mystical angel type deities that can only be experienced by drug enhanced spiritual 'crossing over' to some other dimension or higher plane, but more than likely, actually genuine Extra terrestrial biological beings.

I had just hoped for a more scientific approach to the question, and although good in parts such as the archaeological studies, I think this book descended a little too close to religious, spiritual territory and unfounded leaps of faith by the author at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Better Books on Ancient Alien Theory, 26 July 2013
By 
James Battersby (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
What can I say that hasn't already been said? Not only was the late Filip Coppens a talented author and researcher, he inspired a new generation of believers (I include myself here) as a contributor to the Ancient Aliens TV Show.

Filip Coppens' The Ancient Alien Question is a well thought out, well written book that in some ways reminded me of a more modern, colourful version of Erich Von Daniken's classic; Chariot of the Gods. Like many, I was first introduced to Coppen's style of research through the Ancient Aliens program by the History Channel. I personally identified with him more than some of the other contributors because of his reluctance to simply believe everything without first checking it out. As you might imagine this transfers over really well into The Ancient Alien Question.

Everything from the Nasca lines to Puma Punku and the Giza Pyramids are covered. What surprised me about the book however was that Coppens challenges at least one of Sitchin's (Zecharia) claims, and also brings new evidence forth to suggest that the Dogan (who many now claim possess information about the solar system which they should never have had except through ET intelligence) actually possess no such knowledge. Since Sitchin's work was what got me into reading extra-terrestrial themed books in later years, and for awhile i had believed in his work sincerely, seeing Coppens expose the late scholar was both interesting and slightly disheartening. Then again, truth is truth and in this subject, it is of extreme importance that truth be not treated flippantly since we are at odds with an entire public whose only exposure to the UFO phenomena is the "the little green men" that silly news channels and news papers laugh off, much to their detriment.

All in all a fascinating book. If you found the topics in the Ancient Aliens TV program interesting and like your UFO/Alien books properly researched, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ancient aliens, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We are not alone is the most important question we think and strive to answer. This book tries to help with this hidden and mystical question and we will continue to search.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
This book was really awesome very well written with good information, I would recommend this author to anyone interested in these subjects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Alien Question., 1 Jun 2013
By 
B. Moulds "Barbara.Johnson....Longtonlass" (Leicester.England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
great book. very interesting and knowedgeable.
To read other peoples viewpoints on subjects regarding our ancient past opens up many possibilities and gives
us the way forward in our own reasoning with the past.
Must be read by all followers of our Ancient Past ......................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anything by Phil Coppens is an excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
fantastic read .. its a real eye opener ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very happy daddy, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancient Alien Question: A New Inquiry Into the Existence, Evidence, and Influence of Ancient Visitors (Paperback)
my dad has never read a book in his life, not even a school book. He loved this. just ordered more ancient alien books for him :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews