Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Shiatsu teacher's enthusiatic view
A number of books attempt to describe what the Alexander Technique (AT) is and why and how it works. Because the method is so subtle (and also because our system gives us sensory spacial feedback that we can't always rely upon) authors on the subject invariably stop short of giving any more than the most basic self-help exercises, or techniques, and advise finding an...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by L. Sanger

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alexander Technique
Bit long winded and abstract using case studies. I was looking more for a hands on book to help me.
Published on 17 Dec 2010 by R. Jenkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good book on the AT, with some fresh insights, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
The book is structured around case histories. While this may involve a certain amount of narrative padding, there are some really good insights into what the Alexander Technique is and how to learn it. I particularly like the emphasis that is made on imagining the body in 3 dimensions and how the "directions" are translated into a holistic 3-dmensional process, illustrating what Alexander himself once summed up as "All together, one at a time".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - wonderful ideas, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
I am a music teacher and found this book particularly helpful and with different ideas to other Alexander Technique books I have used - simple psychological tricks to improve performance and get the body and mind behaving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent intro to AT, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
really enjoyed this & though I am not an expert on the subject I thought it an excellent intro to AT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Helpful and Inspirational Introduction to the Alexander Techique, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
This book moved along at a pace which was very comfortable for me, and the instructions were clear and examples easy to understand. The writing skill, format, and excellent realistic illustrations made me want to know more and to realise that it is usually possible to improve unwanted postures and conditions with a bit of thought and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Helpful Book, 30 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. D. K. Cady "Kay Cady" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
As an AT Teacher, I am always reading and learning different ways to help my pupils.. This book is clearly written, with useful diagrams and has proved me with some useful ideas on how to explain different aspects of the Technique. It needs to be read slwly and reread as there is lots to benefit even experienced Teachers of the Technique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary of the Alexander Technique, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
I wanted to know what is the Alexander Technique before paying somebody to teach it to me. It's a good introduction to it, but you can't learn the Alexander Technique by reading a book, you have to go to classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how you stand, 30 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
Excellent intro to Alexander technique but especially useful in combination with one to one lessons from a teacher. Fascinating reading including neurological explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a self-help book, 7 Oct 2009
By 
E. Hague (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
A recent research project published in the British Medial Journal has found that people who had 6 or 12 sessions of Alexander technique training with a teacher found it beneficial in reducing their lumbar back pain. As a physiotherapist I wanted to find out more about the Alexander technique. I totally agree with the principle of being aware how we move and stand and sit, especially with regards to the head position, because slouching causes muscle tension in the back and eventually pain. I did not like the book because a lot of it is written in the "I" form, in other words Missy Vineyard puts her personal views and feelings across in a narrative way. I am used to reading scientific and research literature and could therefore not get on with the way the book is written. Professionals interested in finding out what is behind the Alexander Technique are probably better of reading the original texts by Alexander.
Since the Alexander technique requires the mind to be trained in mindfulness and self-awareness and movement and posture need to be assessed by a professional who knows what they are looking for, I feel that the book is not ideal as a self-help book. In order to improve self-awareness it is probably more helpful to study Buddhist Mindfulness and Meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alexander Technique, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Stand, How You Move, How You Live: Learning the Alexander Technique to Explore Your Mind-Body Connection and Achieve Self-Mastery (Paperback)
Alexander Technique is improving my posture and enabling me to maintain my mobility and avoid surgery I am always interested to read more about this century old technique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews