Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!
Hacksaw Jim Duggan is a likeable character and person. I was not his biggest fan, but he was from the era I watched wrestling. This is an honest account of Jim Duggan's life and time in wrestling. He started out as football player, who joined amateur wrestling, then his first love Pro Football, but injuries forced him out, and he took up the role of a pro-wrestler. He...
Published on 10 May 2012 by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average wrestler, average book
Hacksaw Jim Duggan was mostly a mid-carder during the classic WWF years of the late 80s and early 90s. I was never a big fan of him (his wrestling ability was very limited, even for a big man) but I am a big fan of the wrestling of that era soI read his book with great interest.

There is nothing wrong with the book, it is an enjoyable read, it is just nothing...
Published on 3 Mar. 2013 by MarVell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!, 10 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story (Hardcover)
Hacksaw Jim Duggan is a likeable character and person. I was not his biggest fan, but he was from the era I watched wrestling. This is an honest account of Jim Duggan's life and time in wrestling. He started out as football player, who joined amateur wrestling, then his first love Pro Football, but injuries forced him out, and he took up the role of a pro-wrestler. He used a number of gimmicks before he became Hacksaw. Which was very close to his own personality (they say the best gimmicks are extensions of people own personalities). Hacksaw has some great stories about life on the road. Brian Knobbs (shines in this book). The way this book differs from the other wrestling books is that Hacksaw really has not animosity towards professional wrestling or Vince Mcman (he does have an issue with another Vince). This book reads like a feel good success story in the grim world of Pro Wrestling. Hacksaw is honest about the pitfalls many pro wrestlers can and will face, and also celebrates the success that are possible. If you want a book backstage politics then don't buy this book, if want a story of someone with a successful career and life thanks to pro wrestling then buy and enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hacksaw, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story (Hardcover)
A must for all wrestling fans
It came within days of me ordering it and would deffenatly use them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xmas gift, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story (Hardcover)
our son loved this book as he is into wrestling and loves to read all about the wrestlers and there lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for any wrestling fan, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
M. Harris "scarfomel" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is no Bret Hart book in the fact that it does skip over things and does not really go into any great detail but never the less I did find it interesting and enjoyed reading it. I did feel that they overdone it with the amount of input from Hacksaw's wife, sometimes it almost felt like every other page had a section with 'Debra says;' (think that was her name). Apart from that no complaints from me, definately well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story (Hardcover)
Bought as a present for my son in law who was really pleased with it and has read it already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy purchase, 4 July 2013
By 
Adrian Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scott Williams has done a really good job here of putting together the Hacksaw story from footballer to wrestler. At times things seem a little brief, and maybe more should have been put into his thoughts about the WWF and WCW, but I would very much reccomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average wrestler, average book, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story (Hardcover)
Hacksaw Jim Duggan was mostly a mid-carder during the classic WWF years of the late 80s and early 90s. I was never a big fan of him (his wrestling ability was very limited, even for a big man) but I am a big fan of the wrestling of that era soI read his book with great interest.

There is nothing wrong with the book, it is an enjoyable read, it is just nothing special either. It has a positive feel to it, Hacksaw does not seem bitter and twisted like some of the other guys from his era!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story (Hardcover)
another great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story
Hacksaw: The Jim Duggan Story by Scott E Williams (Hardcover - 1 April 2012)
£14.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews