Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking Care of 'Elvis: What Happened?'
This book comes out at a time when the market is saturated with Elvis Product due to the 30th Anniversary of his death. I suppose EPE already played one of their 'Ace' cards in having former 'Memphis Mafia' friend and colleague, Jerry Schilling release his book into the Elvis World somewhat before Sonny West released "Still Taking Care of Business"...maybe they thought...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Callum G

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Absence makes the heart grow fonder ?
I had a problem with this book, I have read many Elvis books over the years including "What Happened" and I think that maybe the problem. I think this book would have been more enjoyable if I hadn't read "What Happened" It has obviously many of the same stories but after 30 years the telling comes across a little differently. I understand that time is a healer but to me...
Published on 25 Aug 2007 by Marnei


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking Care of 'Elvis: What Happened?', 9 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book comes out at a time when the market is saturated with Elvis Product due to the 30th Anniversary of his death. I suppose EPE already played one of their 'Ace' cards in having former 'Memphis Mafia' friend and colleague, Jerry Schilling release his book into the Elvis World somewhat before Sonny West released "Still Taking Care of Business"...maybe they thought that Sonny's story was going to turn out as another 'bitter-tasting' story of a revenge-of-sorts.

Nevertheless, Mr Sonny West does Elvis a little more proud than he did first time around with his collaboration in the controversial 1977 best-seller "Elvis - What Happened?" (co-written with his equally bitter cousin Red West and buddy Dave Hebler along with 'Sensationalistic Drama Queen' reporter, Steve Dunleavy). The story goes that Sonny, Red and Dave were fired from the Elvis entourage back in the summer of 1976 due to a cut-back in expenses as told to them by Elvis' Daddy, Vernon. Elvis was out of town when each were hit with this news. So, obviously, it was a mighty shocker for Sonny (employed by Elvis for 16 years), Red (employed by Elvis for at least 21 years) and Dave (employed by Elvis for only 3 years) to be given this short notice and 1 week's pay, and Elvis was nowhere to be had. The end result of this situation was always going to be "Elvis - What Happened?" naturally because the guys were teed-off with how IT happened, plus they needed to pay the rent money. However, rent money aside, let us not forget the fact that the guy's did love EP as a brother so maybe the other motive of 'writing the book to make Elvis aware of what he was doing to himself...and the people around him...' still holds as a possible sincere afterthought - after the thought of getting that damn rent paid, maybe...

However, Sonny West does genuinely come across as a straight-talking type of guy who also liked to play and work hard for Elvis. Thirty years on you could say that this effort from Sonny - his attempt at redressing the balance with his first attempt all those years ago - is probably the closest that we'll ever get to the truth about the more bizarre and so-called shocking times that were dramatically sensationalized in "Elvis - What Happened?" You will laugh and cry throughout and feel a great amount of sadness towards the end of the book as Elvis embarks on the downward spiral that led to his untimely passing.

I think you can see Sonny's perspective a little more clearly in this book and you do get to read familiar stories that aren't marred by tales of sensationalism. There are plenty of stories in the book thay you won't be familiar with too. If you want to discover the very human-side of 'The King of Rock 'n' Roll' and what he was really like to work for and live with throughout the various ups and downs of his 23-year period of Superstardom, then "Still Taking Care of Business" would be a good place to start.

It's a welcome addition...or a welcome apology, as the case maybe...to your Elvis book collection that doesn't necessarily leave a bitter taste this second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Absence makes the heart grow fonder ?, 25 Aug 2007
I had a problem with this book, I have read many Elvis books over the years including "What Happened" and I think that maybe the problem. I think this book would have been more enjoyable if I hadn't read "What Happened" It has obviously many of the same stories but after 30 years the telling comes across a little differently. I understand that time is a healer but to me this book comes over as almost an apology. I just didn't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must, 23 May 2007
By 
A. Cooper (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great easy to read, unable to put down book. It will make you cry, get angry and laugh. It gives you a good insight not only into Mr Presley's life but Sonny's life too. You can feel, if not, read, the love oozing between the lines and flowing off the pages. Extremely well written. Just a shame it has taken so long to be written. Fans should now put the ' What Happened ' book firmly in the past where it belongs, this new publication is the true Sonny West that countless know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Memories of The King and more.., 21 Feb 2008
I read this book with trepidation - wondering how this offering would compare or differ from the ...What Happened reviews, scenarios and bad press - I could not put this book down - I laughed - I cried - I felt as if I was right there - this book is so real and for real - honest - and amazingly tender words from such a strong person like Sonny - This book tells us the story behind a wonderful relationship - his words burst with pride and yet are tinged with sadness - don't malign this man - hear his words and see Elvis as never before - Sonny - WELL DONE !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mr West does it again!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after deciding to see what Mr West had to say so many years on from his last Elvis hatchet job (Elvis:What Happened). I wish I hadn't bothered. Just more of the same drivel written with undisguised malice and hatred. Surely Mr West could have put some more positive notes in his book, as he claimed that it was written to address some things he had stated previously. How sad that yet another Elvis flunky has trawled his memory and can only seem to remember the bad stuff. If you are an Elvis fan, please don't make the same mistake as me by giving this book house room. If you are not an Elvis fan and want to know more about this amazing entertainer, I suggest you read Me and a Guy Named Elvis by Jerry Schilling. At least this will show you that Elvis was just a man with many flaws, but no less deserving of our love and respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis revisited, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book difficult to put it down. My opinion of Sonny West has changed for the better. TCE and TCB for ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sonny WEST, I don't think so, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why do people say they loved elvis when write this crap! The only thing elvis had control of was his friends & what he took!can't people see how unhappy this man was. Maybe if Parker had concentrated on his singing instead of the movies he grew to hate his life would have been different. A world tour for his worldwide fans could have made his life a whole lot different. I've always been a massive elvis fan & always will be & reading about his addiction only makes my heart go out to him more. Don't bother with this book it's full of excuses but didn't stop anyone from taking his money & gifts time & again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book. Every opportunity I got I read this. Sonny tells his story so well. His memories of a man he very dearly loved is outstanding. I waited to read this and it was worth the wait.

God bless Elvis
God bless u Sonny xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To little to late., 24 Jan 2009
If Sonny wants to redeem himself let him do it to Elvis.Elvis what happened didn't kill Elvis but it certainly didn't help.As the saying goes....money talks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis: Still Taking Care of Business
Elvis: Still Taking Care of Business by Sonny West (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
9.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews