Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for web designers
On the front cover this book states: 'Themes, trends and styles'

That is what it delivers, it doesn't say on the front 'The best in Services, FAQ, Contact Us and other web content examples' This book is great, what it delivers is lots and lots of great stylish websites that you can browse through and pick up little hints and things that you can use in one of...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by Paul

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little self indulgent
I was a little disappointed with the book. Yes it is crammed with examples of various type of home pages, but with little narrative to support the examples, made the book feel a little like my top 100 websites.

A lot of the websites shown in the examples I feel are not 'real world' examples from a wide range of industries. Nice to flick through, but overall not...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by M. Hart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little self indulgent, 30 Dec 2010
By 
M. Hart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed with the book. Yes it is crammed with examples of various type of home pages, but with little narrative to support the examples, made the book feel a little like my top 100 websites.

A lot of the websites shown in the examples I feel are not 'real world' examples from a wide range of industries. Nice to flick through, but overall not awe inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually nice but impractical websites, 26 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
This is a book full of visuals - eye candy with colourful and graphically stunning designs, but don't expect more depth than that. These designs are generally a triumph of graphic design over functionality. They're worth a quick flick through for some visual ideas, just don't expect to fit these into anything commercial you might be doing.

To me "web design" is much more than visuals - it's about effectively communicating information, marketing, sales, PR for example, and getting the balance between effective content and style. I would have liked to have seen real world websites that effectively meet their objectives through clever use of design, photography, testimonials, widgets and content, rather than just seeing a selection of websites that when standing back, just look good artistically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for web designers, 27 Jan 2011
By 
Paul - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
On the front cover this book states: 'Themes, trends and styles'

That is what it delivers, it doesn't say on the front 'The best in Services, FAQ, Contact Us and other web content examples' This book is great, what it delivers is lots and lots of great stylish websites that you can browse through and pick up little hints and things that you can use in one of your projects.

I always enjoy looking at impressive websites and had some great ideas from this book. So please, ignore the harsh reviews from misunderstanding readers and believe me, for picking up ideas on colour schemes, structure and layout, texture, textual and graphic themes this is your book. Also each website has the web address under it so those looking to see FAQ pages can do so by visiting the site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Web design ideas book, 12 Feb 2014
By 
R. Chan-ellis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
A current stylish book which offers ideas. Different examples of well designed web sites that are out there.
Shows their time and method. Maintenance. Instead of surfing around...it's all in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can't possibly run out of ideas., 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
The ability to look in this book and into individual themes is excellent, I have not been out of ideas as I can pick this up and find what I want; and there are links to the websites that have been used as an example. I got the volume 1 book too - double the ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Web designers Idea Book Vol 2., 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
This book is full of great graphic design ideas. Good price arrived on time as discribed. Would have given five stars but was in cardboard sleeve that had got damp. Had it been exposed to rain any longer it would have got through to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Informative, Fun, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
I ordered this product really as the title of the book describes, to gain ideas for web design. It offered me this and so much more. The book is set out with design in mind and focuses on promoting the information in a way that helps rather than lists and lists of ideas or simply images. Overall a really helpful, informative and fun book that has helped me. 5/5 Must be purchase for those wanting design ideas or those simply wanting to get into web design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 April 2012
By 
Ka Jenner "Stuart" (Bradford. West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
Very happy with the books contents. Lots of ideas to ignite your inspirational juices.

Definately worth buying to have at hand and flip through. But alternativly you could just surf the net and look at what other people are doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all web designers, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Mj Freeman "Matthew3man" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
I'm a freelance web designer and I have found this book to be very useful inspiration for a lot of my work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Resource., 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Web Designer's Idea Book, Volume 2: More of the Best Themes, Trends and Styles in Website Design (Paperback)
The concept behind this book is fantastic...To show off the latest and greatest creations in the world of website design. There is however one flaw, and that is that design trends come and go. I do recommend this book, however, it is something that could possible go out of date. Having screenshots of the greatest website designs out there at the moment in just one book is invaluable, it is so easy just to pick up and scan to the relevant sections, and of course you can follow the url from the book to see the website in real life if you wish. I really am glad that I bought this book, as it has helped me many times in the initial design stages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews