Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great art book, 30 Sep 2010
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
This is a great book for any artist wishing to try watercolor. It covers the basics well, provides pros and cons for different materials and techniques used in painting with watercolors. Many useful tips are doted throughout the book. Like how to paint night sky, tree bark, water, fur, horns, dragon scales... It has plenty of step-by-step demonstrations and it also provides sketching ideas, mythology and symbol explanations for its various fantastical subjects. It's full of stunning original artwork. Even if I didn't paint I would buy this just for the beauty of the art. And to an artist it is a great source of inspiration. It may be a little difficult for an absolute beginner (someone who has never done any painting or drawing) but the instructions are clear so anyone will improve with time and thanks to the truly inspirational art you will not lack the will. If you are out to better your watercolor painting skills or have used other mediums before (like me) and now want to try watercolors than this is a perfect book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great title from the Dreamscapes series, 24 April 2013
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
This is another book from Stephanie Pui-Mun Law's Dreamscapes series. The title of the book indicates that it will be based around mythical beasts and magical creatures, once again all to be rendered in watercolour. It starts out pretty much the same as her other two books do and I was a bit disappointed to discover that the basic lessons section seemed to be made up almost entirely of content from her other books.
After the basics section the book is then divided into several smaller sections each dedicated to a different type of mythical creature or magical realm. Thankfully these are full with lots of original ideas and techniques looking at things like painting a daytime sky or creating cloud formations. The sub sections are each split into several subsections, beginning with mini lessons, tips and techniques before going into a more detailed step by step tutorial where you can put into practice some of the techniques learned so far. The book has lots of useful content, especially for the aspiring watercolour artist.
Stand out parts include the `moon' section features painting moonlit clouds and different techniques for painting starry skies
The `witch' section has a very good feature on how to indicate patterns on fabric.
The `phoenix' section gives tips on painting flames.
The `tree spirit' section has an excellent tutorial on how to meld flesh and wood.
As well as the sections mentioned above there are sections on `the bard', `the trickster', `the unicorn', `the dragon' and `the siren'. Each one is treated in pretty much the same way.
It's another competent and informative book and when combined with the other two books they form a very comprehensive guide to rendering a fantasy world in watercolour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Reference Guide but Talent Required, 13 Aug 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
Fan's of Art titles are always looking for books that will help them improve their own personal style. What Stephanie does in this offering is cover the watercolour medium for the fantasy artist.

Whilst she does cover basics such as what type of paper, blending techniques, washes, glazes and a whole host of other tips to help you get the most available, the artwork standard is quite a bit higher than other titles in the Impact range, relying heavily on a modicum of talent in order to take them to the next step. Unfortunately this mean that rank amateurs who make matchstick men look deformed probably won't get the most out of this title although valuable lessons are contained within. (Sadly I fall into the later category.)

It is interesting, there are lessons to be learned and if you have the talent, it will definitely help you regardless of the subject matter you prefer to paint. Definitely a solid title that will become a much favoured reference guide to help you expand your skill set to a whole new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 30 May 2014
By 
James J. Rogers (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
There are several good reviews so I will sum this up:

Pros: Beautifully illustrated,
thoroughly detailed
step by step instructions

Cons: a bit expensive
book paper feels a bit 'thin' (I suspect this is due to the massive amounts of colour printing required for such a book)

All in all I'd get it if you want to draw anything fantasy-esqe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
Bought as a pressy and my mum loves them, have bought her all three and even though im useless at drawing the pictures are fantastic and enjoyed looking through the book myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy wonderland, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
I have both of Stephanie Law books and this second one is delightful as her first.

Lots of ideas and information and lots of techniques she takes you through each of the paintings and how she created them; although I would not necessarily recommend for a complete beginner as a first book as could appear somewhat daunting, however the book is so beautiful and I adore her work, the paintings have a delicacy about them few achieve and are certainly something to aspire to and I love it, so would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! (Ottimo!), 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
I love the books of stephanie Pui M L. This is my second book of this artist, it's very well done and full of inspiration. She teach very well the tecnique of watercolors, and gives many advices about how to create fantasy creatures. Rich and full of wonderful examples, I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning - what a find!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs P (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
I have purchased all three of the books in this series. They are quite magical and a wonderful source of inspiration. Even if you don't paint or draw yourself, they are wonderful to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor (Paperback)
just what I needed to help me improve my drawing and painting of mythical creatures. Some great tips,good techniques and the pages really encourage you to try something a little different. Well worth it and a great addition to any collection for drawing and painting enthusiasts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamscapes Myth and Magic: Create Legendary Creatures and Characters in Watercolor
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews