Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a man - buy this book!
Very well written and with some humourous snippets. It highlights areas where men can improve on, which, if done right makes a man a man. For example, it delves into the art of shaving, choosing the best barber, how to chat to a woman the way a man should, how to make lasting friends, how to dress properly for a nice occasion, how to be a good husband, and how to be a...
Published on 5 July 2010 by H-man

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
I've been a follower of the Art of Manliness web site for some time, so was looking forward to reading this. If you enjoy the site you'll enjoy this, although some of the material is the same. While its generally interesting and quite a useful resource, especially for your sons, its electronic presentation is quite poor.

Images are poor and usually not on the...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be a man - buy this book!, 5 July 2010
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
Very well written and with some humourous snippets. It highlights areas where men can improve on, which, if done right makes a man a man. For example, it delves into the art of shaving, choosing the best barber, how to chat to a woman the way a man should, how to make lasting friends, how to dress properly for a nice occasion, how to be a good husband, and how to be a virtuous man. This of course is a non exhaustive list. Incidentally I have found this book most useful for my interviews at law firms - with such a conservative profession, it is essential to know how to dress properly for that all important interview, and its surprising how a neat haircut at a proper barbers does make the difference. I think this book is aimed for a wide range of people, from the middle aged man looking to improve his appearance and manners to the teenager who is growing up and needs to know the life of adulthood at an early stage for his career or ambitions. Although common sensical at times, it sometimes takes an outsider to tell you where you can improve. Very good self-evaluation tool and you never know, it may actually help you in that career changing interview!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't be a real man until you have read this!, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
Although the book is American, it's still a must for English men. It tells you everything you need to know about every situation a man will find himself in. I've owned this book for nearly two months now and I don't believe how much i find myself referring to it for advice and general information. If you want to recapture the man within you then buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am Man...hear me roar!, 14 April 2010
By 
S. F. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
The author argues that many men today fall into rather uninspiring categories such as, the man/boy who idles his time playing videogames and has no manners, or is a meathead type who is boorish.

This book aims for something akin to a renaissance of the virtues of manliness. It is a 'how to' guide in terms of dress, etiquette, skills and indeed a philosophy to adhere to.

The book has certainly made me reflect on my dress, my habits and indeed to reconnect with the idea of manliness without the added nonsense of chauvinism or misogyny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
This is a great book, highly entertaining and very informative. This is a must read for all men. A lot of men nowadays are losing their manliness. Regardless of how time's changing, being a gentleman should still remain. Etiquette and masculinity are almost extinct now. Read this book and be a man among men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 4 Feb 2012
I've been a follower of the Art of Manliness web site for some time, so was looking forward to reading this. If you enjoy the site you'll enjoy this, although some of the material is the same. While its generally interesting and quite a useful resource, especially for your sons, its electronic presentation is quite poor.

Images are poor and usually not on the same page as the text and for some reason the publisher sought not to include an contents page - so as a reference on electronic means its fairly impotent. If this had been under 5 for an eBook I would have overlooked these niggles but at nearly the same price for a tangible copy, the publisher should invest more time in their readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art itself..., 18 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
The day this book arrived I read it cover to cover in one sitting, and now I can go back to it as a point of reference whenever I need to. Although written for the american market, manliness has no divide over the pond and every guide can be followed over here too.
The book aims to help males become better men by studying and emulating the great men from history, behaving in a respectful manner to all others, and giving advice on the correct etiquette for a situation. Also, the book revives some old worldly language to add to its classic flavour of gentlemanly character, not to mention the return of the pocket handkerchief and how to fold it!
All in all a fantastic book, written by a manly man and his feminist wife for men and women to understand, identify and appreciate manliness, and with a little luck become better people in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Book, 8 May 2012
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
I love the website and I love this book. Its got some great information (some of which has proved surprisingly useful)and is written in a very entertaining style. Obviously it can only touch on a lot of topics and not go into too much detail but those who complain about this are, I believe, missing the point! The Art of Manliness is about restoring a mans pride in his masculinity and allowing him to be a man - one with gentlemanly values and virtues. In these current times that is no bad thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One word, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
One word - American!

What a great pity it wasn't written by an englishman. Oh well, can't have it all ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that teaches you lots of life lessons you might have missed so far, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
I found reading this book incredibly enjoyable.

Of course lots of the advice it gives is straightforward and just confirms what common sense already tells you to do. However, the book gives a great overview of what modern manhood entails. It also allows you to become a better man by comparing your actual behaviour in different situations to how you ideally should behave.

The book might sometimes be a bit overly old fashioned and very American, but that doesn't make it any less helpful at all. I also found the fighting techniques described in the book quite entertaining - obviously you won't be able to win an unprovoked pub fight if all your preparation was reading books!

All in all, the book is entertaining to read and allows you to identify and work towards eliminating potential weaknesses. A good read for any man interested in continuous self-improvement and personal development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent advice for men who want to advance., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man (Paperback)
Bought this for my teenage son. The book is full of good advice on all sorts of relevant situations a man may face and offers advice on dealing with those situations. Issues such as how to dress and prepare for interviews, etiquette and even how to tie knots! Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Manliness: Classic Skills and Manners for the Modern Man
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews