Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 11 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
I loved the detailed pencil drawing on the cover of this book and bought it for that alone. The book contains some wonderful creative work and I really enjoyed reading about the artist's inspiration and notes on each page. There are quite a few photos of models in fancy dress that are used as the basis of each piece, and these have a dated look, but the book is good value for money and unusual in content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelente book!!!!, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
What made me buy this book was the fantastic, unreal, excelent cover artwork. Well, the inside is even greater, if that is possible. It has a section with several models with medieval clothes and jewlery for inspiration of the reader and showing examples relating those images. Shows detailed and amplified images about several items of the drawings, draging readers atention to what has main importance. This became one of my main inspirational and teatching books the minute i opened it. A real must have if you like fantasy, detailed figures and related environments with a great toutch of reality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Draw and Paint the Fairy Realm - Brilliant drawings, 29 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
I haven't seen this artists work before, but I think he is a brilliant sculpter of pencil and pen work.
As I am only recently into Pencil work myself I find this book very inspiring

regards Scott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning & inspirational, 22 Oct 2009
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
Having purchased my first print by this artist in 1996 and having been an avid 'fan' ever since this book is a wonder. Whether you are an artist looking for inspiration / techniques or a follower of fantasy art there is something in this book for everyone. The book is practical and encouraging; it is full of the artists stunning images and it is wonderful to see the process used in the creation of the finished image. It will sit happily on my book shelf alongside Rackham, Waterhouse, Burne-Jones and Rossetti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ed Org, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
I love Ed Org's work, and if only I could draw like this....however this is a very good way to see how he creates his amazing art. Not for a beginner though, a reasonably high level of skill is required before you attempt any of these paintings/drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
As a person who has a happy time trooping through the countryside, I've often wondered how the world would look were the world of the Fae erupt into our own and having been an admirer of Ed's work for years I was pretty stoked when I learned of this release.

What he covers within is pretty phenomenal. Whereas a lot of art books talk about shapes as well as scene composition, Ed takes this concept further. Whilst he does cover these basic's he delves deeper into the medium by pointing out that the artist has to have the details right, for example facial constructs such as having the eyes as well as mouth as well as the details for the hands. Clothing, can be forgiven, the viewers eyes on such basic's are not. Then he also goes on to give the reader more advice such as utilising photo's to help create the flow of the piece. Whilst not everyone can afford to hire their own model and clothing there are sites out there where general photo's of a model in various period clothing is available in various poses for the artist to use.

All the advice in here is not only beautifully put together but relates to each other to allow the reader/artist to create a piece that would perhaps have taken many years of experience as well as a great many days of trial and error to create. It's a book of not just wonderful creation but something that will take the reader onto the next artistic stage of development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a source of inspiration!, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
Ed Org's work about how to draw and paint faeries is simply amazing - not only does he explain in detail how to gather your material and draw faerie images in detail but also how to find your own inspiration, which I personally find extremely valuable. The images themselves are breathtakingly beautiful and provide great 'study tools' as they show each pencil stroke in such a precise detail. Highly recommendable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here be Beautiful Faeries, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
Ed Org isn't a well known artist, but he should be. His work is so incredibly detailed that you could find something new in one of his drawings everytime you looked at it. I was lucky enough to view some of his amazing original pieces at a gallery and as I couldn't afford them, this book was my alternative purchase! Org has a very individual approach to drawing faeries, as the subjects themselves are very realistic, but the details and swirling hair he adds create magic. I recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in faery art; if you've never thought of creating your own this book will make you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Draw and Paint the Realm of Faerie, 5 April 2010
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
A brilliant and instructive book for both the aspiring artist and for those
who like and admire astonishingly beautiful artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Pitcure Book, 13 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie (Paperback)
This is a beautifully illustrated book showing the art of drawing faeries. Anyone interested in fantasy art will find this book useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4384630)

This product

Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie
Draw & Paint the Realm of Faerie by Org Ed (Paperback - 30 Oct 2009)
13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews