Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2010
This book surpassed my expectations in every way. I wanted a book with clear instructions with techniques on how to transfer an image to paper - what I got was a book that answered my questions and has provided a reference guide for future projects. Who would have guessed there are so many ways to transfer images?

If you like the effect including images in your art produces then this book is perfect for you. It will provide everything you'd expect and inspiration as an added bonus. Rarely have I been so engrossed in a how to book!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
I found this book very useful and found the explanations and instructions clear and well-explained. I especially liked the advice section for when things go wrong. It has many good ideas which can be extended and personalised. My only problem is that, as in many of these books, the items and materials have American names that are not used in the UK and Europe and are often very hard to obtain here, so, frustratingly, many projects cannot be attempted. I would like to see alternative products listed, and, as in some books, suppliers listed in Europe and other continents, not just the US. Please, American writers, be less America-centric.
0Comment|68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
If you've never tried transferring an image then you have to get this book, it's bursting with an amazing selection of techniques for you to try, some of which uses materials that you would find in most homes, such as cellotape - which is a quick and easy method to the more complex, which is why if you are a more experienced artist you definitely won't be bored. It is clearly written and has step by step photographs for your to refer to. Being in the UK you might find getting hold of a few of the materials challenging, but where there is a will there is a way!

What is great about the book is that it doesn't assume you will get a perfect result the first time round and there is a trouble shooting section for each technique which identifies some of the most common problems, why they might have happened and suggesting alternative approaches. The techniques offered in this book are definitely worth giving a go and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
This book will give me many happy hours, trying and enjoying new techniques, all clearly illustrated, that I was completely ignorant of. It really gets the creative juices flowing!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
This book is packed full of ideas for creating unique artwork. I love it because i'm not particularly good at drawing/painting people or real items but the techniques in this book allow me to create great artwork using photos or other material to provide realistic images. Transferring photos into a piece of art certainly beats the boring old family photo in a frame.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2009
This book is about a lot of different ways to make image transferes to paper/ textiles / other surfaces. And maybe there is something important to learn here, but that is very difficult to extract from the chaotic layout and structuring of the book. Pages look similar but are about different things. Lots of pictures with little information, step- by step guides/ pictures of something different than the finished example. "Inspirational work" that looks like nothing but chaos. The book failes to make me understand a lot of what it tries to tell me, and because of the layout it is boring to turn to the next chapter. You get tired after 15 pages.
I certainly don't need this book.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
Bursting with techniques. Loads of ideas. A good idea would be to gather a group of 'arty' friends and each take an idea that appeals, give it a practice and then get together, demonstrate and share on how to do it and each have a go.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
This is another 'must have' book for all those people who, like me, love to 'dabble' in Mixed Media - just for the fun of it!
The two authors write a good read with lots of paractical guidance and tips.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
A wealth of information for all artists. Excellently presented and good detailed projects. A definate must for all those wishing to experiement with various mediums. Very informative and well worth the cost. Highly recommended and thoroughly enjoyable to read and explore the possibilities. Many thanks.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
If you want an inspirational book, which has clear instructions for many different techniques then this is the book for you. Very useful, brilliant for workshops.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse