Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and inspirational
This book surpassed my expectations in every way. I wanted a book with clear instructions with techniques on how to transfer an image to paper - what I got was a book that answered my questions and has provided a reference guide for future projects. Who would have guessed there are so many ways to transfer images?

If you like the effect including images in your...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by KirKel

versus
35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chaos
This book is about a lot of different ways to make image transferes to paper/ textiles / other surfaces. And maybe there is something important to learn here, but that is very difficult to extract from the chaotic layout and structuring of the book. Pages look similar but are about different things. Lots of pictures with little information, step- by step guides/ pictures...
Published on 4 Dec 2009 by Minni mus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and inspirational, 27 Jun 2010
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
This book surpassed my expectations in every way. I wanted a book with clear instructions with techniques on how to transfer an image to paper - what I got was a book that answered my questions and has provided a reference guide for future projects. Who would have guessed there are so many ways to transfer images?

If you like the effect including images in your art produces then this book is perfect for you. It will provide everything you'd expect and inspiration as an added bonus. Rarely have I been so engrossed in a how to book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and easy to understand, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
I found this book very useful and found the explanations and instructions clear and well-explained. I especially liked the advice section for when things go wrong. It has many good ideas which can be extended and personalised. My only problem is that, as in many of these books, the items and materials have American names that are not used in the UK and Europe and are often very hard to obtain here, so, frustratingly, many projects cannot be attempted. I would like to see alternative products listed, and, as in some books, suppliers listed in Europe and other continents, not just the US. Please, American writers, be less America-centric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Image Transfer Workshop - fascinating., 13 July 2010
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
This book will give me many happy hours, trying and enjoying new techniques, all clearly illustrated, that I was completely ignorant of. It really gets the creative juices flowing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Add new techniques to your skills base!, 24 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
If you've never tried transferring an image then you have to get this book, it's bursting with an amazing selection of techniques for you to try, some of which uses materials that you would find in most homes, such as cellotape - which is a quick and easy method to the more complex, which is why if you are a more experienced artist you definitely won't be bored. It is clearly written and has step by step photographs for your to refer to. Being in the UK you might find getting hold of a few of the materials challenging, but where there is a will there is a way!

What is great about the book is that it doesn't assume you will get a perfect result the first time round and there is a trouble shooting section for each technique which identifies some of the most common problems, why they might have happened and suggesting alternative approaches. The techniques offered in this book are definitely worth giving a go and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many ideas!, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
This book is packed full of ideas for creating unique artwork. I love it because i'm not particularly good at drawing/painting people or real items but the techniques in this book allow me to create great artwork using photos or other material to provide realistic images. Transferring photos into a piece of art certainly beats the boring old family photo in a frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another must have, 27 Dec 2011
By 
S. Bailey (Leicester, Leicestershire, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
This is another 'must have' book for all those people who, like me, love to 'dabble' in Mixed Media - just for the fun of it!
The two authors write a good read with lots of paractical guidance and tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars image transfer workshop, 1 Jun 2011
By 
kaz (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
Bursting with techniques. Loads of ideas. A good idea would be to gather a group of 'arty' friends and each take an idea that appeals, give it a practice and then get together, demonstrate and share on how to do it and each have a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chaos, 4 Dec 2009
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
This book is about a lot of different ways to make image transferes to paper/ textiles / other surfaces. And maybe there is something important to learn here, but that is very difficult to extract from the chaotic layout and structuring of the book. Pages look similar but are about different things. Lots of pictures with little information, step- by step guides/ pictures of something different than the finished example. "Inspirational work" that looks like nothing but chaos. The book failes to make me understand a lot of what it tries to tell me, and because of the layout it is boring to turn to the next chapter. You get tired after 15 pages.
I certainly don't need this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Art complements, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
The "Image transfer workshop" book is a most useful tool to have when trying to make your artworks and paintings more imaginative and interesting. I had previously encountered the book in my art class and used it a number of times. So I decided to get my own copy, and have not regretted that decision. The book is full of ideas and challenging in its own right. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars working art book, 11 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. R. B. Evans ""Deco-Art"" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers (Paperback)
A wealth of information for all artists. Excellently presented and good detailed projects. A definate must for all those wishing to experiement with various mediums. Very informative and well worth the cost. Highly recommended and thoroughly enjoyable to read and explore the possibilities. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers
Image Transfer Workshop: Mixed-Media Techniques for Successful Transfers by Sandra Duran Wilson (Paperback - 30 July 2007)
£14.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews