Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
Length:: 0:25 Mins

This book is a collection of tips and insights on creating fantasy art, with material covering the course of his career. There are no step-by-step tutorials so you won't see how he actually paints. That's the only thing lacking in this book that would make it perfect.

Instead, each chapter is filled with his past work and sketches with commentary on how they were created. The lessons are mainly on a conceptual level rather than at a technical level, like mixing colours or how to draw. He talks about his inspiration, research process, working style and includes lots of information on things to look out for when painting certain subjects, like characters, scenery, armour, etc.

Towards the back, he shares some career related tips on how to tackle commissions, promoting yourself, and working on set design for the big screen.

This should be an inspiring book for fantasy artist.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 4 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love John Howe's work. This book is a delight and great to read as well as view his work. It is lovely to look at the rough pencil sketches and read about his working process, and makes the reader want to pick up their sketch pad and pencils and start creating imaginary Worlds. Well worth the money and not the usual format of art creation books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT NOW!!!!, 7 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like fantasy art, or art in general you have to buy this book! An insight into what goes on behind the scenes of fantasy art, the tools of the trade, and helpful hints. It really is a must buy book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent John Howe Fantasy Art Book, 1 May 2013
By 
B. Hester - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
Extremely impressed with the content of this book. Good for young and old artists alike, starters or more experienced. Plenty of designs to choose and practice from. Excellent and inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pictures, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Richard A. Edmunds (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
Very good diagrams and clear guidance on drawing 'fantasy' worlds, although just as good for general drawing techniques. Highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 Dec 2012
By 
JRLAS (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
Many thanks to Howe, for giving us insight into his beautiful artwork. I really love it and can recommend it. The book is worth every cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Artist's - LOOK!, 16 May 2011
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
This book is a great motivator for young (or old!) artists who wish to explore creative techniques. As with all good painters John Howe's work is firmly based on sound draughtsmanship. Take a look at the magnificent drawings in this book and you'll see what I mean. Drawing underpins some quite splendid landscapes. Be inspired. I use the book as a teaching aid to show students the value of research, sketching and finally planning the major painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Howe, 12 April 2011
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
What can i say? Fabulous, John Howe excelles as usual. Beautifal illustrations, very informative and well written. a joy to read and to just peruse the images
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Howe Fantasy Workshop, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop (Paperback)
Bopught as gift for our artist daughter in law. She found it very useful and gave her lots of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 24 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a wonderful addition to anyones collection of Art & Design books. I everyone should like John Howe's work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop
John Howe Fantasy Art Workshop by Howe John (Paperback - 24 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 17.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews