Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Empowering and Inspirational!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
This is one book I could not wait for Amazon to make available in the UK. While there are plenty of reference books on specifics of knitted garment construction, I never came across such books written in crochet "language" until Dora Ohrenstein released her "Custom Crocheted Sweaters".

When I finally got my copy, I was not disappointed. It contains ten stunning sweater designs, but they are not the main reason why I bought this book in the first place. This is not a book to admire the designs and leave on a shelf among your other pattern books. It's a fantastic reference to keep on your desktop and use whenever you want to make a well-fitting sweater from any pattern or even create a garment of your own design.

This book teaches about all the main ingredients of a perfect sweater recipe and how to mix them wisely to create an impeccably fitting garment. It starts with a general overview of sweater construction and making, which covers such aspects as choosing the correct yarn and fiber, measuring your body, reading pattern schematics and the all important finishing techniques.

It then moves on to the ten sweater designs each featuring a specific construction technique (such as top-down, dropped shoulder, fitted sleeve, raglan, etc.) and Dora walks the reader through making each of them. They progress comfortably from simpler to more complex ones and are accompanied by plenty of very detailed and well-explained lessons and master-classes on various alteration methods, including adjusting body and sleeve length, shaping necklines, creating bust darts, and many more.

Although I may not crochet all of the sweaters in this book, I can't wait to go through all of the steps to get a firm grasp of the different construction methods, so I can use my knowledge to customise any sweater pattern or (hopefully!) create a design of my own.

Many thanks to Dora for such an empowering and very inspirational book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invaluable, 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
This is a must have book in every crocheters collection. It explains how you can ensure a good fit to any pattern you make and I wouldn't be without it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for the experienced...., 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
A brilliant book full of ideas and designs for those with a sound knowledge of crochet stitches and techniques. Start creating your own designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this boook, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
The patterns are all great and the explanations on how to tailor make them are very educational. I'll be taking these instructions on board happily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great patterns, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
A great assortment of different patterns, patterns are explained well, illustrations are good, looking forward to trying the patterns out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
I knew of the book before purchase as I had it on loan. Which was the reason I decided to own my own copy. It covers the subject so well and helps to make a garment the correct size as having some very good patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Custom Crocheted sweaters, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Ms C M Freeney (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
Really good book. As yet have not used it but can't wait to have time to get started. Would recommend this book for beginners as well as experienced crocheters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
You really learn to make your garments fit. A little bit technical in the beginning but it is really worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bookworm, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Custom Crocheted Sweaters (Paperback)
Excellent book would recommend it to friends. The patterns are easy to follow with fashionable styles and ideas I am pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Custom Crocheted Sweaters
Custom Crocheted Sweaters by Dora Ohrenstein (Paperback - 7 Mar 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews