Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and fantastic value for money, 23 Oct. 2011
By 
D. Hammond "battery man" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
This book certainly lives up to its title as it features work from a number of innovative artists who use various forms of stitchery as their medium. It shows how they are pushing the boundaries of the stitching crafts and using them to make stunning artworks. Some are thought provoking, indeed, some are quite dark. Some are stitching on materials not normally used, like metals and ceramics!

The book is also amazing value for money as it displays images of over 160 pieces, some with close up as well. Thats well under 10p per piece. There is also some back ground on each artist.

An amazing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really inspiring, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
What a fantastic collection of inspiring artists. It was a real eye opener to see the creativity people demonstrate constantly. Buy this and some of the work in it will really blow your mind! I ate this up over breakfast in one sitting, it is definately picture heavy,not much writing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!, 28 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
I'd heard about this book from a friend but am so impressed with the amazing portraits and pictures, I bought one for a friend too! It's so inspiring I'm now going to get a sewing machine and start to experiment myself! have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic!, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
I am really impressed with this book, its an excellent overview of what is happening in contemporary textiles today. Really resonably priced and well worth having, if you are interested in textiles of any variety then this book is a total must have, you'll discover some beautiful work. A wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Sept. 2011
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
A great book and great value for money as it is a quality book and published with care.
A "must have" for art lovers. Inspirational for embroiderers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm inspired every time I pick this book up!, 7 Jan. 2013
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
It's impossible to quickly flick through this book, it draws you in and makes you stop. You won't realise it but you will find yourself engrossed by the technical wizardry displayed in this book. I'd agree the ideas are pushing the boundaries of contempory stitching! If you appreciate beautiful inspiring art, and/or embroidery; if you want to try some embroidery but don't know where to start the message screaming out of this book is .... JUST DO IT (although I'd practice a bit before you let loose on the kitchen door!)

PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) A must for anyone studying embroidery or textiles, anyone who appreciates creativity or if you just want to up your crafty street cred pop this on your coffee table! Best buy over Christmas, a great gift....and i ended up having to get myself a copy, didn't want to give it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Push stitchery, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
Atsolutely fantastic! It was great to see a wide range of exciting textile designs created by a group of artists when I went to the Knitting and Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace last month. I had to buy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
Ester Kiely (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
I came across this book at a friend's studio and knew I just had to get a copy. I love to see the work of those who explore the boundaries and this book is full of artists working in stitch and fibre who challenge the accepted norm. The images are great and there is a wide variety of work on show. I highly recommend the book for anyone looking for inspiration to shake things up a bit. Also a great book to share with students being introduced to stitch in art.....so many people have set expectations of what is possible with fabric and stitch and this book helps them to see the possibilities!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Embroiderers Dream!, 7 Jan. 2013
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
If you like embroidery or appreciate great contemporary stitchary, then you will LOVE this book!! It is the perfect source of inspiration for students, embroiderers, artists and enthusiasts!

This book shows the amazing talents of a broad range of artists using embroidery and stitch as their medium, all doing so in completely different and innovative ways. It has an insight to each individuals choice of media and technique and the inspiration behind their work amongst other things.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stitching pushed, 7 Jan. 2013
This review is from: PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) (Hardcover)
A really inspirational book featuring a wide variety of artists using the medium of stitch in their art. This isn't a book about embroidery, it's a feast for the eyes showing how a traditional feminine craft medium can be re-imagined to make exciting contemporary artwork. Lots of full colour pictures and useful snippets of info about the artists. Some of the work is quite 'dark' so don't expect cross stitch flower vases! I would recommend this book for anyone interested in shaking up traditional comfy stitching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark))
PUSH Stitchery (Push (Lark)) by Jamie Chalmers (Hardcover - 9 Sept. 2011)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews