Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The User Manual Canon should have given you.
This book is written and illustrated the way camera manuals that come with a new camera should be. It has photographs of the camera and its components. I don't understand why camera makers like Canon who are in the photography use drawings and not photographs.

Chapter Summaries
There are ten chapters or sections and about two-hundred pages to this...
Published on 25 Aug 2009 by Russell J. T. Dyer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by quality
Due to shoddy production, pages were falling out before I had got past the first chapter. As this is a very good reference book that you will want to return to again and again, this is not a good feature. The contents are very helpful but the book should have been ring bound.
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Mr. J. H. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The User Manual Canon should have given you., 25 Aug 2009
By 
Russell J. T. Dyer (New Orleans & Milan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
This book is written and illustrated the way camera manuals that come with a new camera should be. It has photographs of the camera and its components. I don't understand why camera makers like Canon who are in the photography use drawings and not photographs.

Chapter Summaries
There are ten chapters or sections and about two-hundred pages to this booklet. The author, Jason Schneider covers everything about the camera: how to configure and use it.

The first chapter is a brief one on appreciating your new camera, explaining the improvements over previous models of Canon PowerShot cameras and other such information.

The second chapter, like a camera manual is on Getting Started. Some readers might not appreciate this method of tracking the manufactuerer counterpart manual, but I do. It's a tried and proven format that is common to Magic Lantern Guides published by Lark Books. The only difference, as I mentioned above, is that this book is much better. So, in the second chapter, Schneider covers the very basic to starting to use the camera: the battery, memory card, initial settings, and the minimal things to know to take a simple picture, review it, copy it to a computer, and delete it. If you've figured all of this out on your own, skip this brief chapter.

The third chapter is on basic features of the Canon G10. This includes things like how to set the aperture, the shutter speed, and the ISO sensitivity. This also includes much more detailed explanations of the various icons and numbers on the camera's LCD view screen when taking a picture and when reviewing it afterwards. I can't always remember what everything means or how to check that I have it set right--especially if I haven't used the camera in a few weeks and have been using one of my other cameras in between. Jumping to this section of the book makes it much easier.

To provide quick and easy access to some settings, the Canon G10 has a Function button to be able to make adjustments on the fly. The fourth chapter is on these settings. It's not much, so Schneider has only ten pages for this chapter.

The fifth chapter is on the menus related to shooting modes. It's one of the longest chapters in the book, at about twenty-seven pages. It not only includes information on menus related to taking photographs, but also on shooting videos. Additionally, it covers setting up your own menu of settings which you often change depending on the situation you're in.

There's one aspect of this chapter, though, that I particularly find useful. I like Canon products and I like this compact camera very much. However, the shooting mode menus are confusing. In an attempt to make the menus simpler, any item which doesn't apply is grayed out. When I see a setting subdued like this, a setting that I can't change and have no idea what I did elsewhere that caused it to be unaccessible, it's frustrating. I rely on this chapter of Schneider's book to help me unravel what I did and to get me what I want.

In the sixth and ninth chapters, Schneider reviews the features available for reviewing images or playing them as a slide-show on the camera. This includes organizing, categorizing, and altering images on the camera without having to first transfer them to a computer. Additionally, he discusses how to print images directly from the camera to a printer. The sixth chapter explains the various menu settings related to these play-back features and the ninth chapter explains how to play the images.

The seventh chapter is a short one on the different drive modes. This includes discussion of single-shot versus continuous shooting modes. He also explains the different auto-focus modes and manual mode.

The eighth chapter is longer and covers light metering (e.g., spot metering) and white balance. If you don't understand how this camera's light meter operates and know how manipulate it, you'll be disappointed in your photographs. If you handle it properly, though, you will be surprised at how good of a camera it is. This chapter of Schneider's book can help you with the light meter.

The final chapter is on some accessories for the Canon G10. Most of the chapter is on configuring and using external flashes (i.e., Canon SpeedLite external flashes). He also talks about the teleconverter Canon makes for G10 so that you can increase the focal length of the camera's lens.

Conclusion
I know I'm repeating myself, but this book is what Canon should be providing with the camera. Since they don't, if you get a Canon PowerShot G10, you should get a copy of this book so that you can get the most out of your camera and so you can quickly get answers to questions you'll have about your camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any G10 owner, 25 Sep 2009
By 
G. P. Thompson "Graham Thompson" (Peterborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
OK. Canon come in for some stick for not including a printed manual with the camera. The book comes in for some stick on being, in part, just like the manual. Neither of these arguments are justified in my opinion. If Canon had included a printed manual, I would not have bought this superb book and would have been worse off for not having it. The book is bound to be, in part, like the manual as it covers the same thing. What else could be expected.

The real point is that the book goes beyond what a manual would do. It is superbly illustrated with relevant pictures and is written in a style that makes it very accessible. So thank you Canon for giving me a pointless PDF file as by spending very little money I now have a reference piece on Canons superb G10 way beyond anything that could ever have come with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon Powershot Digital Field Guide for the G10, 26 May 2010
By 
Mr. P. Harvey "Phil" (Cornwall, UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
This book is intended for all Powershot G10 digital camera users regardless of their previous experience. However, its value to me was that it contains numerous cross references to its predecessor, the venerable G9, which I posses. There is no Magic Lantern Compact Guide specifically for the G9, however, the G10 and G9 are very similar in features and performance and this is why I purchased this book.

The user guide that accompanies the G series cameras are excellent and authoritative documents in their own right but they have been written with the expert user in mind. Also, they are printed on cheap paper and unlikely to last very long unless looked after. The Magic Lantern Compact Guide series are much more durable and robust and make a welcome addition to any book collector's shelf. These books are also small and therefore pocketable.

The Magic Lantern Compact Guide series builds upon the manufacturer's user guides by explaining, with examples, when and where the cameras features may be used. The presentation style and content makes these guides suitable for the beginner, intermediate and expert user, which is rare for any technical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon PowerShot G10 User Guide, 29 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides)
The Canon G10 is, perhaps, the most advanced non-DSLR avilable today but is difficult to learn to use with it's many advanced features and technologies. The manual supplied is not the most user-friendly, and is why G10 owners really should invest in this Magic Lantern Guide. Whether advanced photographer or beginner, this guide explains all aspects of the G10's operation, as well as giving clear explanations of the various technologies and mnemonics.
Whether you already own a Canon G10 or are considering buying one, this Magic Lantern User Guide is a MUST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by quality, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. J. H. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Due to shoddy production, pages were falling out before I had got past the first chapter. As this is a very good reference book that you will want to return to again and again, this is not a good feature. The contents are very helpful but the book should have been ring bound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Instruction Manual for Canon G10, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Mof (Chichester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Many photographers would agree that the Canon G10 is the world's best digital compact with an amazing array of features. Learning to use all its capabilities can be a problem though, because Canon do not include an instruction booklet. In fact,the average toaster contains more paperwork!Instead, Canon provide a manual in CD Rom form, which means you either have to wade through it on your PC, or print off nearly 300 pages of information. This guide is the solution for those who want a instruction guide in book form. It clearly explains all the camera's features with reference to images of the icons,dials and buttons. It doesn't pretend to be anything more than a user-friendly, independent version of Canon's CD manual. As such I personally found it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars G10 Guide, 22 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
I bought my G10 from a 'foreign' website, and didn't have a proper user guide so I puchased this 'Magic Lantern Guide'. As far as the content is concerned I can't fault it and consequently have got far more from my camera than I would have been able to without it. However the binding is terrible .. the pages in the book started falling out from the first time I opened it, and pages are still falling out. I must have use a roll of selotape sticking it back together. Maybe I have a bad copy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Lantern compact guide for canon powershot G10, 22 Mar 2010
By 
P. D. Ball "pedro" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent Guide to my G10 clearly written very good clear photos to guide you through every aspect of the cameras controls
and Great Value for money! Recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book spoiled, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Sean Smith (County Down N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
A very comprehensive guide to the G10. Unfortunately the image is spoiled by the bookbinging which is pathetic. Already, after a few days use , a dozen pages have disengaged from the spine !

J.C. County Down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful and well written book, 8 Aug 2009
By 
chappy (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
This guide fills in many of the blanks that are in the supplied user Manual. Not only does it explain in detail the many functions and options that come with the G10, but also how to locate them quickly and the best situations for using them. Whether you choose to read it from beginning to end or just delve in to read up on a particular feature, you will come away fully enlightened and more competent with using the Canon G10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Lantern Compact Guides®: Canon Powershot G10 (Magic Lantern Guides)
£8.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews