Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than art school
I'm really impressed by this book: it's taught me more about colour mixing than 7 years of art school did. If you're unsure how to mix a certain blue, for instance, look at all the colour chips and find out exactly what shade to mix with what.

The section on skin colour mixing is of most use to me: my brain says to use cream (for white skin) ~ I'd never have...
Published 14 months ago by Cee Jay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Recipes do not Produce Desired Colors
The colours ive mixed so far have looked nothing like the book shows. They were way off

This is with acrylics.

Being a value up or down is acceptable,but getting a different colour is not.

On page 16 i tried to mix number 20. A Medium yellow/green. What i got was a mushy pea colour.
Page 138 number 286 Instead of getting a medium...
Published 1 month ago by 18837


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than art school, 20 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
I'm really impressed by this book: it's taught me more about colour mixing than 7 years of art school did. If you're unsure how to mix a certain blue, for instance, look at all the colour chips and find out exactly what shade to mix with what.

The section on skin colour mixing is of most use to me: my brain says to use cream (for white skin) ~ I'd never have thought of mixing raw sienna + white + alizarin or yellow + burnt sienna + cadmium orange (for Latino skin tones).

There's an interesting index at the back. Say you want to paint a chestnut coloured horse: the index directs you to paint chip #315, which is cadmium vermilion + ivory black; "asparagus" (green) is made of white + cad yellow medium + viridian (paint chip/swatch #60).

Included are two clear plastic mixing palettes: allowing you to exactly measure out 6 parts of blue, 4 parts yellow, etc. It also tells you how to mix interesting greys (it's not white + black).

It's taken so much guesswork and frustration out of my painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Recipes do not Produce Desired Colors, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
The colours ive mixed so far have looked nothing like the book shows. They were way off

This is with acrylics.

Being a value up or down is acceptable,but getting a different colour is not.

On page 16 i tried to mix number 20. A Medium yellow/green. What i got was a mushy pea colour.
Page 138 number 286 Instead of getting a medium yellow orange i got a light creamy orange.

I looked at the US reviews and other have had the same issue.

Now seeing as there is 1500 recipes and 3 different types if media to use im sure alot of people have not had an issue hence all the 5 star reviews.But for me i have, which has resulted in a loss of paints and loss of space on my wet pallet. Which hinders your process.The whole point of this book for me was so i wouldn't waste paint, i wouldn't waste time guessing and i wouldn't have a mess on my pallet.

I'm giving it 2 stars because im sure there is some recipes that will work and it can give you an idea of what colour you might get from mixing certain colours together. I can't give more than 2 because it seems a hit and miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for skin tones!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
As a beginner in acrylics I was very nervous approaching my first portrait. This book was enormously useful in working out what colours to mix to get the main skin tone, highlights and shaded areas. I am looking forward to using it for choosing and mixing colours for trees, clouds and skies as well. The clear plastic mixing grids are also very useful for getting reproducible mixes and the coated pages where very easily cleaned when acrylic paint I had accidentally dropped dried on them. I cannot recommend it enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
As a complete novice to painting I found this book to be very helpful and very interesting,I would recommend this book to all,thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
Best value color mixing book and for acrylic it is brilliant. I have found the colors mixed as exactly what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous little book, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
wife thinks it a great easy to use practical reference book no artist should be without it in the studio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best ever, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
This is just brilliant. I have bought a few colour mixing books which are almost like science and not easy to understand, but this is demonstrated very simply and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource book, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
Colour mixing recipes, advice on basic stock colours to use for portraits, landscapes and in all mediums.Just how many shades of green are there? Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... categories in which colours are grouped could be more useful. i, 17 Dec 2014
By 
M. R. Jobson "Bluejack" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
A very helpful book although the choice of categories in which colours are grouped could be more useful.i.e. not much about what might be use din still life painting,metals etc. Still recommended though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have found this book to be invaluable. There ..., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor (Spiral-bound)
I have found this book to be invaluable.There isn't a color I cant find in here and my days of over mixing and muddy wastage are over,thank goodness.Five stars any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor
1,500 Color Mixing Recipes for Oil, Acrylic & Watercolor by William F. Powell (Spiral-bound - 15 Aug 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews