Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to paint people, 28 Aug 2012
By 
M. Muir "mm" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
What a wonderful book. I have never written in to express my opinion on any book, but, I have read a few books on watercolour painting, which have left me quite confused, but this is great. She tells you in simple straightforward language what to do, and shows you how to do it. Very clearly and she even explains words which I didn't really know what they meant, e.g. 'values' which I now know what it means. Yes if you're a painter then you would know, but if you were just beginning those kind of words are a mystery. For a beginner, I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watercolour portraiture, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
A lovely book showing a glimpse at the techniques used by this supremely talented artist. She gives a list of the colours she uses on her palette in conjunction with colour mixing recipes fo skin tones, shadow etc.
Beautiful photos show progression of the various paintings used to illustrate these techniques in a step by step way.
The only "negative" I can think of, is that Peggi Habets no nonsense approach to portraiture in this tricky medium, may give begginner water colourist the sense that what she does is easy. Make no mistake she is a well practiced master of her medium, and one should not be disappointed or discouraged if your initial pieces do not look as accomplished as hers.
What this book can do for the begginner though is provide guidance to make their first attempts at watercolour portraits far more enjoyable, and pleasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Da Gale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
Very useful book for Portraits lots of tips and insight to the way she paints.
I found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
Having never done portraits before, I found this book very informative and easy to follow. It gave good colour guides for flesh tones and how to use them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great little buy, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
This is a very helpful book particularly for the amateur artist. Its very easy to follow and gives great tips on painting facial features. Its well worth buying for both experienced and those just starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
An excellent, concise introduction with excellent illustrations and demonstrations. More suited to the experienced watercolour painter than the complete beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
A useful guide to portrait painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portraits: Discover dynamic techniques for creating lifelike heads and faces in watercolor (Watercolor Made Easy) (Paperback)
Very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews