Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for experienced artists
This 31 page book which is larger than A4 size has some excellent illustrations of horses. The first few pages give an overview of pastels, and paper and then techniques for fine lines versus shading. The next two pages cover aspects of horse anatomy focusing on the eye and a leg. The remainder of the book covers six horse pictures. There is a photo for each horse...
Published 19 months ago by Sue H

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very helpful to complete beginners
The illustrations are great, to look at and get inspired.

I think the main title is a bit misleading. The book does mention the characteristics of a number of breeds, but does not teach you how to paint those step by step.

The information about materials was helpful, as well as the 'stand-alone' tips throghout the book.

Overall, I didn't...
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by Chicken Little


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very helpful to complete beginners, 30 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
The illustrations are great, to look at and get inspired.

I think the main title is a bit misleading. The book does mention the characteristics of a number of breeds, but does not teach you how to paint those step by step.

The information about materials was helpful, as well as the 'stand-alone' tips throghout the book.

Overall, I didn't find it very easy to follow. I found the examples too complex for a complete beginner.

I guess, intermidate and over may find it more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for experienced artists, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Sue H "Sunshine Suzzy" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
This 31 page book which is larger than A4 size has some excellent illustrations of horses. The first few pages give an overview of pastels, and paper and then techniques for fine lines versus shading. The next two pages cover aspects of horse anatomy focusing on the eye and a leg. The remainder of the book covers six horse pictures. There is a photo for each horse although the final picture is not a replica of the photo. The pictures are built up in stages with the artist giving hints and tips on how the material has been applied and picture developed. The author Lesley Harrison is highly skilled at drawing horses.

Why does the book not get 5 stars- for me its not a book for beginners, there is no overview of how to the the gross proportions right for example. The cover states only learn to paint a range of breeds- step by step. With only 6 pictures theres not a lot of breads covered. Although the horses are the main focus of the pictures where there are backgrounds these are not always illustrated. For example there is a photo of a lively black horse in a field, but the finished picture shows the horse on the beach with the waves lashing up the shore behind.

For those who have experience drawing animals and working in pastels or for those who attend an art class and can get personal guidance then this would be a highly recommended book. Beginners might wish to start with some thing more basic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great present, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
this book was bought as a present for my brother he is very pleased with it and tells me he has learnt a lot from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horses and Ponies., 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
Love this book, great detailed illustation and instruction. Well worth the money and look forward to more.
It gave me more insentive to make my work more detailed. Thanks so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
The book is too large to post on to Australia as Christmas gift. Size should be indicated so ongoing postage can be considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
I love this book. I have only recently started used pastels and horses are my passion so this could not come at a better time for me. I have also recommended it t my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pastel, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
Loved the subject, lots of. Movement and light, would love to be able to colour like this perhaps I can pick upsometips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poppy, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
Excellent illustrations and information for working in pastilles I look forward to copying some of the horses in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value and a Super Book on pastels, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Sally E. Rey (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
I found this book on drawing horses in pastels by chance. It was cheap in comparison to the author's other pastel book which is out of print. Really pleased I bought it as I know it will be an excellent reference book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good second choice, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Pastel: Horses and Ponies: Learn to paint a range of breeds - step by step (How to Draw & Paint) (Paperback)
I really wanted 'Painting Animals that Touch your Heart' by the same author but it is out of print and second hand the price is extortionate. This book contains a chapter of the former and is good as far as it goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews