Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2011
Lovely book but not as instructive as I expected. It was worth buying however, a useful addition to my collection. Much bigger than some of the Walter Foster series, at least you don't need binoculars to see any details!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Frankly, the title of this book is misleading. Yes, it gives basic tips on various media. Yes, it shows step-by-step the production of a pin-up. But if you read this you will only have a slightly better idea of how to draw, paint and compose.

It covers a wide range of media - watercolour, pastels, oils - and this, necessarily, means that only most basic techniques are covered. It also means that these sections do not have the space to explain the particular problems that pin-ups present when using these different materials. The actual step-by-step tutorials give only one artist's take and aren't very informative (or very interesting).

The most interesting and useful parts are the finished classic pin-ups and preliminary sketches. These give a good insight to how these pieces were conceived and produced. If the publisher/editor had got rid of the instructional element and focused on the archive element it would have been both more interesting and more useful.

Ultimately, I gave this book a low score mainly because of the title. It is pretending to be an instruction book, when it is principally reference and source material. Given its origins, it is frustrating that this was so poorly conceived.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Great book, but don't expect it to turn you into an artist overnight. If you already have the basics mastered, it's a great reference and source of inspiration, full of handy tips, but it does take some time to follow the tutorials - as you'd expect really, as drawing the perfect human form takes a lot if practise. Highly recommended for anyone interested in the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
Like the previous reviewer I had some of the material which is included in this book, which reprints of a selection of Walter Foster art books.
The originals are much larger than the size of a typical magazine and don't fit very well on bookshelves....whereas this book is a much more convenient size. Unfortunately some of the pictures lose their impact by being smaller.
Having said that, this is definitely a book for anyone who is interested in drawing and painting pin ups or is interested in the history of pin up art.
There are some really good pictures, my favourites being those by Fritz Willis (one of the books I already owned), and some great tips for the budding artist.
Highly recommended.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
A real wealth of information crammed into this book, so much more than expected and not daunting at all for a beginner at figure drawing. Great poses and very helpful in a wide range of mediums. Great vintage art gallery at the back of the book as a nice unexpected bonus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2011
I had some of the material in this book already, through other Walter Foster publications. However, I really liked this compilation of material. It's a nice addition to my collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This book looks very explicit for a beginner my favorite subject and i am looking forward to retirement to take this up as a hobby time will tell if i succeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
A good guide book to enable an amateur artist to successfully draw glamour pictures. Clear explanations from a talented artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Ok book, not as helpful as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
very helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)