Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
David Sedaris: Live For Your Listening Pleasure consists of David Sedaris reading five of his essays. Cat and Baboon is one of his animal fables, a cat being groomed at the baboon's salon before a party; Author, Author details some of Sedaris's book tours, including a hilarious visit to CostCo; Innocence Abroad, a hysterical piece on people who pronounce foreign names...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by Cloggie Downunder

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not so funny
didn't like this one as much as some others, I have heard on the radio, and not so funny, didn't like the bad lanquage
Published 12 months ago by maddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
David Sedaris: Live For Your Listening Pleasure consists of David Sedaris reading five of his essays. Cat and Baboon is one of his animal fables, a cat being groomed at the baboon's salon before a party; Author, Author details some of Sedaris's book tours, including a hilarious visit to CostCo; Innocence Abroad, a hysterical piece on people who pronounce foreign names "authentically"; Laugh, Kookaburra is an amusing description of his visit to Australia, his interaction with a kookaburra and the childhood reminiscences that ensued; and Diary Entries, random diary entries detailing some more of his interactions with book tour attendants, and observations on his travels. Sedaris manages to do hilarious and poignant at the same time. Reading Sedaris is unadulterated pleasure: listening to him read his work doubles the pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The voice and the words, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
What can I say? David Sedaris is a writer of comedy that is erudite, interwoven with the small tragedies and absurdities of life, an observer of people and nuance pas excellence. This CD, where the voice of the author makes the experience complete, is unmissable. Lovers of intelligently written observational comedy can buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just love it!, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
He might not be to everyone's taste but I just love David Sedaris and this CD of various live recordings is excellent and offers a good sample of what he does best. I first heard him on a radio broadcast recorded in front of a live audience and actually prefer these live performances to the studio narrations of some other of his audio CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Sedaris, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
A perfect cd for a car journey! These are amusing and touching stories beautifully read.It's a pleasure to have a spoken word cd you can listern to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stories beautifully read., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
It took me a while to get around to this review as my partner and I hadn't played it until this Christmas period when we took it to play in the car as we travelled around the country visiting relatives. We are both big fans of this writer since we first heard him on Radio 4. His readings are great - plenty of expression and perfect timing but without the affectations that actors can often bring to the reading of talking books. Unfortunately I'd heard a few of these recordings on Radio 4 before but they easily withstand repeated listenings. In short, wonderful stories beautifully read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Comic, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
First heard of this author/comedian on Radio 4 Extra and he had me in absolute stitches. He is a gay american comic, quite quiet in his narrative but his "essays" quite often include his family but are so rich and down to earth that I found myself thinking many times "that's so true" or "I think like that", his one liners are a joy. Would I say this is dry american humour mmm... not sure but whatever you may call it he has loads of it and so well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sold on him., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
He has me in subtle stitches.super observations.all very different themes.I want more of this funny man.why is he not better known in U.k.Odd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a cool guy, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Mark "MSB" (Banchory, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
We love to hear him on BBC Radio 4 and so I decided to get this and one of his books over Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
David Sedaris is as amusing as ever. It is good to note that he looks nothing like the picture on the sleeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gift, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure (Audio CD)
Bought as a birthday gift which the recipient has greatly enjoyed. would strongly recommend to anyone who is a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure
David Sedaris: Live for Your Listening Pleasure by David Sedaris (Audio CD - 1953)
Used & New from: £4.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews