Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I found this book intersting I couldn't put it down and then gave it to my 75yr old mum and she could put it down either
Published 21 months ago by debra musa

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The return of Supahead
Here's the problem with writing a revealing autobiography -- you have no material left for the inevitable sequel.

But that's only one of the many problems with "The Vixen Diaries," a flaccid recounting of Karrine "Supahead" Steffans' sex life and career in the year of 2006. When she's not posing, preening and preaching, Steffans is racing from one one worthless...
Published on 13 Jan 2008 by E. A Solinas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The return of Supahead, 13 Jan 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Hardcover)
Here's the problem with writing a revealing autobiography -- you have no material left for the inevitable sequel.

But that's only one of the many problems with "The Vixen Diaries," a flaccid recounting of Karrine "Supahead" Steffans' sex life and career in the year of 2006. When she's not posing, preening and preaching, Steffans is racing from one one worthless fling to another.

Much of the book is a celebration of how her life has changed since the publication of "Confessions of a Video Vixen" -- she now has money, notoriety, celebrity friends, a nice home, new ultramegaexpensive cars whenever she damages one (which seems to be frequently), and enough financial room that she can make a habit of club-hopping through L.A.

This is where reality starts fuzzing out, because apparently her small amount of fame (or infamy) has gone to Steffans' head. Suddenly she's no longer a damaged hip-hop groupie/video girl who exchanged sex for money, but a "an author" who writes "internationally bestselling nonfiction" with a "message." Oh yes, and if you disapprove of her, you're obviously a chauvinist.

But this book isn't just about Steffans' success with the last one -- it's also about men. Ray J, Eric Benet, a strung-out Bobby Brown, Mike Tyson, Magic Johnson, the Icon, and her ex-boyfriend Bill Maher -- whom Steffans rhapsodizes about until I got the squirmy feeling that I was seeing a woman beg. Not pretty.

One of the most hilarious lines of the entire book is: "... some people can't seem to get over my past -- the partying, the relationships, the sex..." This, of course, coming from a woman whose "internationally bestselling nonfiction" was all about sex with rappers.

It's a pretty funny pronouncement from someone who poses like a porn star on the cover, and revels in the fame her sex-drugs-hip-hop book has brought her. No matter how many times she says she loves staying at home, puts her son first, et cetera... what really stands out is the amount of time she spends chasing men and partying. It leaves you feeling sorry for her kid, who watches his mother bounding desperately after one man after another.

Despite her tepid, gossipy prose, Steffans does manage some stirring moments -- the painful account of grandfather's death is quite touching, and her encounter with Jamie Foxx shows what a pleasant guy he is. But these are only a few moments in a paper-thin narrative, dominated by a schizophrenic carousel of men who are married, creepy, wounded or strung-out -- all of whom she claims to "love."

Aside from her disdain for LA, there's little that's new here. The thin book is padded with pompous ponderings about Hollywood, homosexuality, relationships, marriage, double standards, being a parent and the woes of being rich'n'famous. Insightful, they ain't. One interlude -- where she scratches a Mercedes and goes screeching to the dealership for a new one -- is absolutely painful.

And though she piously outpreaches a hypocritical minister, Steffans comes across as a pretty nasty piece of work herself. She drips scorn on her lovers' wives, on a publicist who does not recognize her as a "celebrity," and even calls Bobby Brown to gleefully tell him that his ex-wife is now having sex with Karrine's ex-boyfriend. How mature.

The nastiness climaxes in the final pages, where she writes a drippy, sexual letter to her married lover, "Papa." But she reveals his name this time -- how wonderfully classy of her.

"The Vixen Diaries" is a tedious, trashy trip through the ego of Karrine Steffans, who apparently thinks that recounting sex with rappers makes her a Great Artist. Ultimately, it makes her a walking headache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Vixen Diaries, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Hardcover)
I read Ms Steffans' seminal novel and like anyone else who read "Diary" brought this book to find out the identity of the mysterious "Papa". Whilst I found this follow-up to be mainly a re-hash of events in "Diary", a few other eye-raising stories made interesting enough reading. However, I find myself fast-forwarding unread page after page in sections where her story tended to ramble. The identity of Papa was, eventually, revealed and he was indeed on my list of 4 "possibles" that I had written after reading "Diary" - result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars She's after the $$, because there is nothing to write about, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Paperback)
What a disappointment.

After reading 'Video Vixen' and finding it entertaining, I had expected more of the same, but what I bought this time was a lame and boring piece of work... I'll admit I'm pretty lame myself for enjoying the first book - because let's face it, it's a slutty tell all, with a self-defeating leading character, who you can't help but feel sorry for as she seems to keep landing on her arse each time she falls in and out of 'love'.

Vixen Diaries reads like a lengthy self-justification, at times from a vulnerable position, which is then flipped to Karrine indulging in name, blame, and shame with high and mighty put downs of people who have ticked her off for whatever reason. Don't be tricked by the first chapter, it did not start as it meant to go on....

I think the author needs to keep in mind that it is because of her associations, and only because of her associations with the rich and famous that anyone is actually interested in her. I feel sorry for her son. It's one thing to talk about having sex, but another to go into detail about having her a*** licked in order to humiliate a married man. Again, I feel sorry for her son having to read this, it's not admirable, interesting or even cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars nothing like confessions, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Kindle Edition)
I chose this rating because I felt it just brushed over subjects and I didn't feel fulfilled when I was done like I did with confessions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Paperback)
I found this book intersting I couldn't put it down and then gave it to my 75yr old mum and she could put it down either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Hardcover)
Having previously read Confessions of a video vixen which was a hit for me i was slightly disappointed with this book as it didnt reach up to my expectations that had been set by her other book. However it wasnt a bad read it still has some interesting points about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Hardcover)
I read this book sometime ago. It was of good read but not as sensational as her first book which included real names facts and scandals. I think she was slightly struggling with this book to make it as interesting as the first but it was okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars another disappointment from karrine, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Vixen Diaries (Paperback)
It starts out so well with her mysterious hollywood superstar whom she sodomizes! lol but then i found the book to go downhill after chapter one. She finally found some moral high ground and she isn't as frivolous as she used to be, shes almost uppity to summarize. Again I got halfway through and i put it to one side; lost all interest. Guess i'll finish it one day....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vixen Diaries
The Vixen Diaries by Karrine Steffans (Audio CD - 5 Nov 2009)
£19.71
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews