Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential For Bridging The Gap Between Season 5 and Angel: After the Fall
The follow-up to Angel: After the Fall Vol. 1 goes back to where we were left at the end of season 5, detailing how the team coped with the impending onslaught from Walfram and Hart. Admittedly some of the stories are short, yet they help to answer some of the questions that were raised in Vol. 1. You can visualise the scenes as they would be on TV thanks to the great...
Published on 27 April 2009 by M. O'Brien

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catch up
This was interesting as it helped me catch up with the stories of the other characters in and around the events of the comics in the last volume but missed Angel. The stories were good but very brief. Not as much additional info and explaination accompanying the comics as the last volume which I also missed.
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by J. O'Malley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential For Bridging The Gap Between Season 5 and Angel: After the Fall, 27 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Angel: After The Fall Volume 2 - First Night HC: After the Fall - First Night v. 2 (Angel (IDW Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
The follow-up to Angel: After the Fall Vol. 1 goes back to where we were left at the end of season 5, detailing how the team coped with the impending onslaught from Walfram and Hart. Admittedly some of the stories are short, yet they help to answer some of the questions that were raised in Vol. 1. You can visualise the scenes as they would be on TV thanks to the great illustrations, and once you've been updated on the team's past, you'll want to dive straight into Vol.3 (picking up where Vol.1 left off) ready to to see how their futures unfold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catch up, 8 Feb 2009
By 
J. O'Malley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel: After The Fall Volume 2 - First Night HC: After the Fall - First Night v. 2 (Angel (IDW Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
This was interesting as it helped me catch up with the stories of the other characters in and around the events of the comics in the last volume but missed Angel. The stories were good but very brief. Not as much additional info and explaination accompanying the comics as the last volume which I also missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 6 part 2 of 4, 12 April 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The stories running through issues #6-8 of IDW’s comic-book continuation of Joss Whedon’s TV-series ‘Angel’ are collected as Angel: After the Fall Volume 2 - First Night TPB: After the Fall - First Night v. 2 (Angel (IDW Paperback)). The artwork is very good, and the individual characters mostly look like their TV counterparts most of the time (though I didn’t recognise Kate, despite knowing who she was).

This volume is a ‘time-out’ from the regularly-scheduled story, and is a flashback showing the events occurring immediately after the close of the last TV episode, as the group engage the evil army sent to attack them, and the city is dropped into a Hell dimension. It is told from multiple viewpoints, so we get lots of short stories, and not just the main characters. The writer has included a text piece at the back of the collection explaining who everyone is, and also gives some of the stories they decided to drop, so if like me you don’t remember who many of the minor characters are from the TV series, this helps explain what the stories are showing you, and how we got to the beginning of the comic-book series.

This is a good continuation of the TV story – and is approved and overseen by Joss Whedon, so it ought to be – and I will be reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as vol 1, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as in my review of vol 1 this was a surprise find, after many years of assuming an ending. Yes the time line indicates this volume first, but vol 1 is the better indicator of the story projection and needs to be read first. my lower rating is partly as i do not seem to enjoy this style of writing on a kindle, and that each 'episode' covered is very short. It works in live action to cut about frequently, but without the sustaining plot development of the actual actors it felt somewhat bitty to me. I am glad i tried it but it would take more to make me continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The short step backwards in time, 31 July 2010
By 
Christian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel: After The Fall Volume 2 - First Night HC: After the Fall - First Night v. 2 (Angel (IDW Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
As the first book started the series already in motion, this volume tells the tale of Angels associates and how they survived since the fall. The storys can be short and a little wacky at times, however they serve to underpin the motivations for the characters in this new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel 2, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Hikmet Shah "phoenix" (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel: After The Fall Volume 2 - First Night HC: After the Fall - First Night v. 2 (Angel (IDW Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
It was good to have this in hardback as it matches all my other angel hardback volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews