Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Search light on our subtle sins, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Alastair Gooderham "al133087" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
Bridges does us a great service in this book, after initially exploring the malignancy of sin and the trend for us not to talk about or preach sin he reminds us that Jesus is God's remedy for sin. After laying this initial ground work in the opening chapters he explores those things that we often do not see as sin but which God in his word reveals are sins we must fight: anxiety, frustration, discontentment, pride, impatience and anger among others. What makes this book so helpful is that it is not a self help book, it does not give us strategies to deal with such things ourselves, as if we could! Rather it points out where and how these sins may be subtly infecting our living and points us to Christ as the remedy.

It is an easy read with fairly short chapters and would be particularly useful read in a group with others with whom you are close enough to discuss such things and apply the gospel to one anothers lives. It would also be an excellent study for a couple alongside their bible reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Growing in the Christian Life, 1 Nov 2009
By 
P. J. Whitington (Rugby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Hardcover)
This is a book for Christian believers to enable them to come to terms with the "smaller" sins in thir lives, and to find God's grace of repentance and faith to overcome these things and to grow in Christlikeness.

At our Church, the menfolk meet once a month and have breakfast together and then spend time with God's word and His truth. We are currently using this book as a guide in our studies. We pray that the effect on our lives might be replicated in other Churches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
Is amazing! Life changing. I have not got to the end yet but what I have read is making me to at life and myself in a wholw new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, 22 May 2014
By 
S. JACKSON "Mutley" (The world!!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as we are using it in our Bible study group. What I have read so far is good and challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended !, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
As a Christian, I have read several books dealing with many issues. But Jerry Bridges takes you into a journey where you keep looking at the sins which are hidden to the world but so rampant in our hearts and lives.
At several instances, I had to close the book and ask God to forgive me and continued reading . Since then , I have given this book to a few and they too have been profoundly blessed.
Please do buy it for yourself, for your friends, for your family and experience Gods transforming grace in your life if you deal with all these sins .
Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
A very challenging yet inspiring read. Bridges is very careful to keep you centered on the gospel, vital for a topic such as this. He's written the book with a good balance of biblical explanation, personal experience and practical wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very practical very true, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
this will make you think its concise and yet bears testimony to the writer life and to life in general we all struggle with our respectable sins its a good wake up call
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Important Stuff, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
Important stuff for Christians to get their head around. Too many Christians relying on small sins being negligable.
Would recommened thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars convicting, but encouraging, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
This is well written, and very convicting. He is very clear in outlining the sins that we have tolerated. It is encouraging, too though, and he shows us how we can root it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A challenging read for complacent Christians, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Alamoth (Bilton, Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Respectable Sins (Paperback)
Jerry Bridges draws attention to areas in our lives which non-Christians perhaps wouldn't even describe as sins, but which for a Christian can prevent us from living as near to the Lord as we should. He gives biblical advice on how we can address these.
Our men's group at church has been using this as a study book for the past year with helpful results. There is an accompanying guide for group leaders. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Respectable Sins
Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges (Paperback - 19 Nov 2007)
8.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews