Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 400 year English Bible anniversary
This book is a daily devotional based on selected Bible passages from Peterson's translation into contemporary English patterns of speech. Far different from the KIng James Bible who's 400yr history is being celebrated in 2011.

Each day the author guides the reader to reflect on the meaning of the passage for them and how to respond. Excellent tool for engaging...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by R. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
I take this interpretation of the bible with caution. I use it with care and compare it with the NIV bible to make sure the translation is correct.
Published 20 months ago by Jane B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 400 year English Bible anniversary, 3 Jan 2011
By 
R. Wilson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a daily devotional based on selected Bible passages from Peterson's translation into contemporary English patterns of speech. Far different from the KIng James Bible who's 400yr history is being celebrated in 2011.

Each day the author guides the reader to reflect on the meaning of the passage for them and how to respond. Excellent tool for engaging in daily relationship with God and Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! An easy to read and understand version of The New Testament, 17 Dec 2009
By 
John-barry Murphy (Rhos-on-Sea, N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At last. An easy to read and understand interpretation of the New Testament. I feel this will please Christians of most denominations, and as a Catholic, I am delighted to say that I would recommend this version to anyone. The reason, in my humble opinion, that many Catholics are supposedly not familiar with the New Testament, is that most of the versions that we are encouraged to obtain and read, are usually quite difficult for some people to read. However, this version is easy going and uses plain up to date english, for everyone in the twenty first century to understand and most of all, relate to!

God bless.

John-Barry Murphy (St Jude Trust. Llandudno, N. Wales)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Message// Remix:Solo, 1 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message//REMIX Solo (Paperback)
a good devotional book, very applied & refelctive in style. Uses lectio divina method on Bible passages which are from Eugene Peterson's translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NB This is only the New Testament, 28 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This seems a good translation. It seems to convey the meaning well and avoids difficult archaic language. I thought I was buying a full bible though and was disappointed to find this is only the New Testament.

EDIT
I can't believe I wrote that. I've learned a lot since and can now say It is NOT a translation. It is a paraphrase and therefore rather than the actual inspired words, it is mans idea attempt to translate ideas and meanings rather actual words. Furthermore, like most modern translations, is based on corrupted manuscripts and Greek translations made by apostates. I believe now that only translations based on the Textus Receptus are reliable and that pretty much narrows the field down the The King James Version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thumb up, 10 Jan 2014
Very good devotional book. Recommend to all who are serious about your walk with God and who wants to be near to Him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great devotion material, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book with easily understandable instructions. I found it especially useful as pattern builds in daily quiet reflection (thinking) time. Praise God!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely presented modern day language version of the New Testamant, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given as a much appreciated gift to a new Christian who wanted a version that was not heavy and cumbersome, with easy to read print ( some versions you need a magnifying glass if you are older) and in easy to understand language. Although it may lack detail of the more traditional versions, it acts as a good introduction to Bible reading to anyone who wants to find out more about the life and teachings of Christ and about the early church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Message, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cancelled this bible immediately when ordered in error why have I received it and been charged for it ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I take this interpretation of the bible with caution. I use it with care and compare it with the NIV bible to make sure the translation is correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars message solo, 17 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Message//REMIX Solo (Paperback)
great book for daily readings of scripture in a modern contempary style. Would recomend this for all those who desire to move forward in Gods purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Message//REMIX Solo
The Message//REMIX Solo by Message text by Eugene H. Peterson (Paperback - 15 Sep 2007)
£10.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews