Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
The lass is the youngest of the woodcutter's children. Her mother was so upset that she had another child, let alone another girl, that she refused to even give her a name. The lass grows up, and is delighted when her older brother, Hans Peter, comes home from the sea. Hans Peter is cursed upon his return and is forever depressed, but he enjoys the lass's company and...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book review
I think this is a really good book and has a really interesting story line but I personally don't like this type of book.
Published 8 months ago by Katie Bailey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 10 Oct 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The lass is the youngest of the woodcutter's children. Her mother was so upset that she had another child, let alone another girl, that she refused to even give her a name. The lass grows up, and is delighted when her older brother, Hans Peter, comes home from the sea. Hans Peter is cursed upon his return and is forever depressed, but he enjoys the lass's company and teaches her how to read the strange symbols in his wood carvings.

When the lass is sixteen, rumors of an isborjn, a white polar bear, surround the village. The lass has been gifted with the ability to talk to animals. Upon hearing of this gift, the white polar bear seeks the lass out and asks her to join him at the palace of ice for one year. Hans Peter tries to argue that she can not go, but the bear promises her family riches if the lass joins him. The lass agrees and travels with him to the ice palace.

While there, she meets an array of magical creatures. All seem to be under enchantments of the evil troll princess. There's also a mysterious visitor to the lass's room every evening, but she is unable to see his face or talk to the stranger, and each morning he has disappeared.

Thanks to Hans Peter's carvings, the lass realizes that she can read the carvings on the wall, which tell stories of the spells and curses the troll princess has cast. When the lass's own isborjn is taken away by the troll princess, the lass must risk everything she has to find the palace East of the sun and West of the moon and break the curse upon him.

A beautifully written tale of spells, magic, romance, and wit, SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW is a retelling of the Nordic tale, EAST OF THE SUN, WEST OF THE MOON. Author Jessica Day George adds depth to the story and background to the characters that makes this retelling stand out on its own. The story itself is reminiscent of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, but SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW holds its own surprises.

The reader will be enchanted by the story of the lass and her isborjn. This is a stunning tale that deserves to be read again and again.

Reviewed by: Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love fairytale re-tellings..., 25 Mar 2009
This review is from: Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow (Paperback)
...Then you'll love this.
I have read a couple of other books by this author (Dragon Slippers & Dragon Flight) and have really enjoyed all of them.
This is a re-telling of 'Beauty and the Beast'. Although a classic story this version is quite different from the original, with polar bears, fauns and magical winds.
I was drawen in from the very beginning and couldn't put the book down. The main character, Pika, is very likeable and carries you through from start to finish. With many different types of creatures throughout the story, some that are recognisable from other fairytales, others that are not so familiar, you become part of the world that Pika lives in.
This is a great read for fairytale fantasy lovers of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect tale for these long snowy nights, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow (Paperback)
SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW is the second retelling of the Norse tale, "East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon" that I have read. "The North Child" was the first and I loved it. Because of that, I was fairly dubious at first about reading another, thinking that they may be too similar. However, this was unfounded. Although there are some similarities there are also many differences between the two novels.
Perhaps the biggest difference is that in SUN AND MOON, ICE AND SNOW there seems to be more characters. The lass's siblings have a role to play in the tale; some more than others. The personalities of her parents are also discussed, making you feel as though you know more about her as a young woman embarking upon such a dangerous quest.
What I also loved about this book was that it turned the fairytale stereotypes that we have in this country on their head. WIthout wanting to give too much away, the lass meets three very old crones on her travels yet they were nothing like I was expecting.

This is a lovely tale. It has a little of everything that you would wish for in a good story. Reading it at the moment, with snow on the ground and ice clinging to the trees, it makes reading it even more magical. I would recommend this and I would recommend "The North Child" by Edith Pattou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!!, 13 Jan 2014
It was so good that I could not put it down.I think it's one of her best books yet!

It is about a girl called Lass; because she
was not given a real name.The Lass meet's a magic reindeer who grants wishes and he gives her a name but he has given her another gift a gift which allows her to understand animals ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but her other books are better., 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read some of Jessica Day George's books before, and I loved her other books, so I bought this one. It is a very good book. The story is about a girl, who's mother never named her, who is given the ability to talk to animals by a magic reindeer. She goes to an ice palace with a polar bear and lives there for a while. Then the servants start disappearing and finely, the polar bear himself. With the help of all four winds, the lass goes to a place east of the sun and west of the moon to find him.

I like this book, but I still prefer George's other books. That said, this story takes the fairy tale and adds an entirely new twist. All in all, I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this is a really good book and has a really interesting story line but I personally don't like this type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely :), 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love a good fairy tale then read anything by Jessica Day George. So far I have read all of the midnight ball series and this and I am absolutely in love with this author. I recommend to any romantics that like a lot of adventure and magic with their happily ever after :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!!, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because I loved every single page of this book. I've read it about three times and every single time I love it more and more. I love the adventure, the finding of Hans Peters lost love and everything else in the book. This is a book worthy of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow
Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George (Paperback - 20 Jan 2009)
£6.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews