Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all bruised reeds
In this warm and scripturally faithful work, the author explains at the outset: `we all need God's forgiveness of all our sins. This is why Jesus died on the cross.' Throughout the book he reinforces the Biblical truth that forgiveness of sin is only through the atoning sacrifice of Jesus. He then goes on to define what he means by totally forgiving ourselves: `It is...
Published on 21 Nov 2008 by summer stream

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
maybe it is my stuff but the language was too much for me
Published 1 month ago by Ann Garvey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all bruised reeds, 21 Nov 2008
This review is from: How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes (Paperback)
In this warm and scripturally faithful work, the author explains at the outset: `we all need God's forgiveness of all our sins. This is why Jesus died on the cross.' Throughout the book he reinforces the Biblical truth that forgiveness of sin is only through the atoning sacrifice of Jesus. He then goes on to define what he means by totally forgiving ourselves: `It is accepting God's forgiveness of all our past sins and failures so completely that we equally let ourselves off the hook for our pasts as God Himself has done.'

Dr Kendall states his view in the introduction that this is achieved mostly by applying good theology and loving pastoral care. To believers who trust Christ alone for forgiveness but remain tormented by failure and remorse, he explains `as a pastor and theologian', not as a mental health practitioner, how to address their anguish God's way and move on.

In the course of the book, he teases out the differences between true and false guilt, emphasises the Holy Spirit's work in conviction of sin, and shows that the grace of repentance is a gift from God. He explores the twin sins of self-pity and self-righteousness as obstacles to spiritual progress, and charts the failures and loving restoration of some spiritual giants: David, Jacob, Peter and Paul. There is practical advice about accepting ourselves, which includes due cautions, and a useful chapter on resisting the devil.

Agreeing with his predecessor at Westminster Chapel, Dr Martyn Lloyd-Jones, who said `God never oppresses us' Dr Kendall quotes many scriptures throughout his book in support of this sentiment, scriptures which encourage us to appropriate the peace that accompanies divine forgiveness.

As the remarkable Dr Josif Tson says to the Christian reader in his foreword, `Who are you to blame yourself after He washed you clean in His blood?' This is a gracious, wise and Biblical treatment of a common and painful problem for thoughtful Christians. Highly recommended.

NB This book has also been released under the title: Totally Forgiving Ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgiveness is so important, and forgiving yourself is essential., 14 July 2009
By 
E. J. Slight "Ted Slight" (Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes (Paperback)
Another of Dr. R.T.Kendall's expositional masterpieces.
Many of us actually never get round to seeing the importance of forgiving ourselves. Often spending years in low self esteem, and guilt.He speaks of his own failures so honestly, rare admission of a popular preacher.He adds " Let the past be the past. Totally forgiving myself has not been easy. But I have done it. So can you."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent read!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes (Paperback)
Absolutely excellent read!! it came at the right time for me and was just what the Dr ordered, literally. The author is really in touch with the reader throughout the book. I definitely recommend it for those that struggle to forgive themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 1 April 2014
By 
D. G. Crawford "Denise Crawford" (Southfields, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes (Paperback)
Item arrived safely and efficiently. I am totally satisfied and happy with my purchase. A good service all round and a totally satisfied customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...just a suggestion., 15 Aug 2012
By 
Mike (Levittown, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes (Paperback)
As it is, we cannot forgive ourselves. What we can do, however, is accept by faith the forgiveness God freely offers to us. Forgiveness cannot be earned, purchased, or substituted. It is found only through a loving, caring and understanding Father who is well aware of our fallen nature. He reaches out to us all to receive His free gift (by Grace) made possible by what His Son accomplished at the Cross. Only because of that do we have hope. And again because of that we can have peace in our hearts. Accept His forgiveness - which is available to all who ask in prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes (Paperback)
maybe it is my stuff but the language was too much for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Forgive Ourselves - Totally: Begin Again by Breaking Free from Past Mistakes
£9.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews