Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars great coffee table book
great little book to have on the coffee table and pick up every now and again, great for a laugh.
Published 8 months ago by Joanne M.

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so forbidden humour section offering
This would maybe be good as a secret santa or office birthday gag present or something in that order, its not particularly forbidden knowledge really, not for instance like a lot of the content of Steal This Book or the publishing trends that launched.

There are adult themes in it, for instance in chapter dealing with how to become a porn star or how to become...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Lark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so forbidden humour section offering, 6 April 2010
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do (Paperback)
This would maybe be good as a secret santa or office birthday gag present or something in that order, its not particularly forbidden knowledge really, not for instance like a lot of the content of Steal This Book or the publishing trends that launched.

There are adult themes in it, for instance in chapter dealing with how to become a porn star or how to become a mafia boss, neither of which I suspect would be that useful were you in either of those situations for real but to be honest there's as much information on each topic available on a Wiki entry or a quick online browse as there is contained here in. The topics themselves are a bit odd, I think selected randomly as "forbidden", the results are odd, mundanity like how to create water bombs appearing alongside how to throw a punch (not as good as it is described in Real Men Eat Puffer Fish: And 93 Other Dangerous Things To Consider), how to create an atomic bomb (dont worry extremely sketchy detail, literally so as its illustrated in a way even I could do with my limited artistic skill) or perform open heart surgery (specialist rather than forbidden knowledge there I suspect). Some chapters are just plain daft more than anything, like become a religious icon.

Its not all bad, the sections on E-Bay scams, pick pocketing, car sabotage or shop lifting and the like were interesting in so far as I believe they would enable law abidding people to avoid falling prey to any of these things but it all smacks of common sense. There's also some content I was unfamiliar with, such as the chapter on "Gas lighting", ie getting someone to doubt their sanity (although if anyone were to fill my car with petrol while I was asleep I'd either not notice or be grateful to whatever faerie, sprite or fuel elve was responsible). This is a coffee table book, even more so than The Anarchist Cookbook was.

There's a very clear and concise contents page, chapter consist of about three or four pages at most, usually with one picture, photo or illustration taking up a page, with text presented mainly in paragraphs or bullet points or numbered, which is very short. There's the usual disclaimers and liability statements and I also suspect this was created or a US market given how the disclaimer is worded, ie federal and state law etc. Its a smallish book, not as tall as the average paperback on a shelf.

So, despite some chapters which prove curious or amusing its not as good a title as Real Men Eat Puffer Fish: And 93 Other Dangerous Things To Consider (more entertaining and similarly themed), Emergency: One Man's Story of a Dangerous World, and how to Stay Alive in it (which actually contains a lot of what may pass for forbidden knowledge in some parts of the word and is a lot more than you'd find in a cursory search), Steal This Book (although this is dated, more political baggage in this book too) or even How to Drive a Tank (although its a different book really to what is on offer here, more of a manly things book). If you've been recommended this because you read or enjoyed 1001 Things to Do If You Dare: The Book of Lists for Thrill Seekers! they are nothing alike and I dont know who is making that link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do (Paperback)
Warning, absolute rubbish! Do not waste your money. The book is nothing but a pile of American high school pranks and stupidity. For instance.. To be a good hacker mix with other hackers and study hacking, or fill public toilet hand dryers with talcum powder. And when you come across something which might be interesting the author just skips through the subject without giving you any new information. Honestly don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit naff ..., 11 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Mark Plant "origamimark" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do (Paperback)
Very tongue in cheek most of the time, this book has not been much of a revelation ... but what can you expect ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great coffee table book, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do (Paperback)
great little book to have on the coffee table and pick up every now and again, great for a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do (Paperback)
its american, amusing take with a pitch of salt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do
Forbidden Knowledge: 101 Things NOT Everyone Should Know How to Do by Michael Powell (Paperback - 28 Nov 2008)
8.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews