Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point
The fact that this book is short and to the point makes it stand out. It is also very good value for money. I would recommend this to any sales director who needs to push their sales people to make calls. The advice is practical, delivered in a direct manner and can be implemented immediately. This book is more valuable than some of the over priced, over elaborate...
Published on 28 Feb 2001

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you've never made a call before...
...it might be useful. I don't want to steal the author's fire but the book simple advises you to say "Hi, this is John Smith and from XXX and I'm calling to book an appointment about...". And that's about it. If your industry doesn't suit that sort of 80 calls a day with a 2% hit rate style (ie any industry other than toner refill) then it's of limited use. Too...
Published on 3 Sep 2004 by Splossy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
The fact that this book is short and to the point makes it stand out. It is also very good value for money. I would recommend this to any sales director who needs to push their sales people to make calls. The advice is practical, delivered in a direct manner and can be implemented immediately. This book is more valuable than some of the over priced, over elaborate nonsense available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like the diets, this book will work if you stick to it., 2 Jun 1999
By A Customer
As an experienced salesperson in a new sales post and as such a "virgin" cold caller I was terrified at the thought of failing on the phone. After reading this book my first cold call resulted in an appointment, many more followed after that. You have to believe in the method and also do exactly what the author tells you and, in time, it will work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best telephone selling book I have ever read, 6 Jan 2003
By 
C. M. Perkins (Stirling, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A new salesperson in my job will typically have a calls:appointments ratio of 40:1, I did when I started. Satisfactory performance is 20-25:1, which I got to within a year. I currently have a ratio of 11.75:1 and have had for the last two years as a result of using Schiffman's technique. I saw an immediate improvement from the moment I read and understood what he recommends, and have been able to refine it ever since.
It's not a script, it's a client centred approach using common sense business langauge. It's not American-only, it works in a UK market (see figures above) and it beats several other approaches I have tried (before and after using this one).
On the strength of this book, I bought Schiffman's '25 Sales Habits...', which is also a short read with some good tips.
Buy 'Cold Calling Techniques...', use it, see your figures improve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you've never made a call before..., 3 Sep 2004
...it might be useful. I don't want to steal the author's fire but the book simple advises you to say "Hi, this is John Smith and from XXX and I'm calling to book an appointment about...". And that's about it. If your industry doesn't suit that sort of 80 calls a day with a 2% hit rate style (ie any industry other than toner refill) then it's of limited use. Too simplistic.
This is one of those books that you hear good things about but is a dissapointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense advice that works, 11 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. A. Pickering (Nisantasi, Istanbul Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Looking at the other reviews here, several of them are overly harsh, cynical even.

I hate cold calling and as I have to do a fair amount of it, I thought I would seek advice. Schiffman's book is full of good advice, interesting anecdotes, and provides you with easy-to-implement guidelines on how to improve your calls-to-appointments ratio.

The first person I got through to after reading the book and preparing a script agreed to a meeting straight away. Unlike the other reviewer who was very scathing about the golf analogy, I happen to think it a perfect for the cold call environment - it is basically saying if you carry on as you are (hitting the ball/cold calling) you will get some appointments/hit some fairways. However if you are trained properly, and are prepared to stick at it, no matter how uncomfortable you feel at the beginning, your performance will increase dramatically.

I actually bought this and "Telemarketing, Cold Calling and Appointment Making: How to Win Business Through the Telephone (Easy Step By Step Guides): How to Win Business Through the Telephone" - if you ask me, Schiffman's book is far, far superior.

For anyone that does a lot of cold-calling, is open-minded enough to admit they can improve, and is prepared to follow the advice through the painful change process, then I recommend this book wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Simply The best, 11 May 2000
By A Customer
This book has everything anyone in telephone appointment making could wish for. It's clear precise and best of all IT WORKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Move along - nothing new here......., 12 Aug 2013
By 
Roger Sharp (Kenley, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Calling Techniques: That Really Work! (Paperback)
There's nothing new to be found in this book. In some places it endorses techniques that academics have proved dramatically reduce the chance of a sale.

I once spent three years researching cold calling methods and techniques. The reason? I was useless at it. I was a pretty good salesman but when it came to picking up the phone..... I bought just about every book on the subject. I was in regular communication with academics in the UK and the USA who were doing cutting edge research into it. I had sets of audio and video tapes. I still have a pile of books over 6 feet high on the subject.

I discovered a number of things. Much of the material was duplicated (stolen?) from other authors. Well over half the books were of absolutely no value at all. Ignoring those books that basically encouraged you to lie, many others contained scripts that were simply incredible, written by people who had never made a cold call in their entire life. Others would have the immediate effect of peeing off a potential client with objection handling methods that were so "clever" they just made people more irritated.

The academic research was far more interesting. It was based on cold hard facts. Calls were made using different scripts that were deemed to be the finest ever written, and the results recorded very exactly. The principal finding was that the "perceived wisdom" of the time was simply plain wrong. Worse still, many of the techniques so clever thought of, actually made things worse. One very definite finding was that if you need to make cold calls it is 100% essential to use a script, and keep using that script to the letter.

In the end I found just one single book that helped me and my entire team. The author was Bill Good, and the title "Telephone Selling Techniques That Really Work". I think it's out of print now but you can still get secondhand copies. The main reason it worked was because anybody could use it successfully. Nobody had to remember 1001 ways of handling objections. Nobody had to say something they didn't feel comfortable with. Not only the whole sales team used it, and enjoyed using it, but the whole support team got into it big time. That one 6.99 book transformed our company. Sales went through the roof. And, perhaps most importantly, everybody for the very first time actually enjoyed making cold calls. Even I did.

I'm sorry I've gone somewhat of message but I felt I had to tell this story because for so many people cold calling makes their life a misery. They are forced to say things and follow scripts that can make them feel physically sick and it can ruin their working lives.

Over 25 years I have had the privilege of working with some of the UK's top sales people - top performers from IBM, Burroughs, SAP, Oracle and many others. Some have been so good you would swear they could walk on water. One thing they have all had in common is that they always, absolutely always, use a script that works for them. It's often simple, and they don't deviate from it 99.9% of the time. Many have taken Bill Goods ideas and incorporated them.

I've written too much but it's a subject I'm passionate about. Reviewing my book mountain, built up over years, at a cost of at least 1000, apart from the Bill Good book, the rest are unhelpful at best and none provided any real, serious help. If you really know about cold calling you do it - you don't write about it. Your making so much money doing what you do well it is just not worth the effort to write about it.

And really finally, the conclusion many academics arrived at was that for people with real problems with cold calling, one proven way of fixing it was two sessions of Jungian Analysis, every week, for at least two years. That would set you back a cool 10,000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dont waste your time..., 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
again, another awful sales book by schiffman. there is no value in this book. the basic premise is that by following schiffmans teachings you will get to schedule tons of sales meetings, sadly anyone who works in the real world will understand that there is no value in scheduling tons of sales meetings unless you are speaking to the right people - this book doesn't help you get to the right people, or even try and help you communicate the value of what it is you provide. a complete waste of time and money - utter rubbish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for novice, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Cold Calling Techniques: That Really Work! (Paperback)
It provides simple advice with pleasant anecdotal stories. It didn't take long to read and was easy to put into practice with positive results. I would recommend the book for any business-to-business cold calling novice in need of a little guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Realistic but sometimes basic, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Cold Calling Techniques: That Really Work! (Paperback)
book is reasonably good. I find alot of the things in the book are fairly obvious. This book is for absolute beginners (literally, zero sales experience).

Some of the language in the book is simple, however it is spot on and it makes you really think about the small things you previously disregarded.

Book drifts off topic quite alot and some of his "real life examples" feel like complete fabrications.

At the end of the day, my sales performance has increased, even if marginally, by reading this book, and therefore it could be argued it was worthwhile. However, there are probably better alternatives on the market.

This book has great info on the basic principles of cold calling, and making the initial call(s). If you are looking for something different, I recommend purchasing a different book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Calling Techniques: That Really Work!
Cold Calling Techniques: That Really Work! by Stephan Schiffman (Paperback - 26 Oct 2007)
Used & New from: 0.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews