Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity Itself !
Many people who use a computer to produce their music will eventually find their progress hampered if they lack a working understanding of music theory.

We all know when something we've written 'doesn't sound quite right' but without knowledge of the principles underlying musical composition it can be difficult to pinpoint the exact reason why. All the books...
Published on 30 May 2008 by A Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but riddled with inaccuracies.
An excellent book for the beginner, especially as the ridiculous amount of printed errors in the assignments pages and text will force you to re-check everything multiple times to decide whether you misunderstood something or you have come across yet another typo. Proof reading is not something this Publisher seems to believe in much. Look for something else.
Published 3 months ago by Lardossan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity Itself !, 30 May 2008
By 
A Customer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
Many people who use a computer to produce their music will eventually find their progress hampered if they lack a working understanding of music theory.

We all know when something we've written 'doesn't sound quite right' but without knowledge of the principles underlying musical composition it can be difficult to pinpoint the exact reason why. All the books I've seen on the subject however are exclusively geared to the classical / academic musician, and such books can be heavy-going and hard to understand.

This comprehensive gem of a book addresses that gap in clear, accessible language, enabling everyone to improve their composition skills. The examples and short exercises given are easy and enjoyable to follow, and the illustrations - using modern composing software that will be familiar to readers - are excellent. The book also comes with a CD of interesting musical examples of information given in the text.

A real must-have for all aspiring computer musicians, whether college students or home producers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
Does exactly what it sets out to do, in a really clear and easy-to-understand way. Really great for learning everything you need to know about music theory, having had little knowledge on the subject. Found myself picking things up in no time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works for me!, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
I struggle more than most with music theory , and this book was more helpful than any other I have came across

It is not a magic wand that will have you know all angles of an extremely complicated subject, from one glance, but it does however teach you many helpful tips and breaks the complicated stuff into smaller chunks and with a small amount of persistance, it all weaves into a understanding

the accompayin cd is really helpful, and if you are not theory minded like me, Id say just keep at it ,and dont try and learn all concepts of theory in one read of a book, use it as a guide and use the c.d

after a few weeks I now have a firm understanding of chords, scales, rythm and intervals , with only the first half of the book (im not ready for thre more complicated stuff just yet- but that is all included for when i have progressed)

so overall this book is everything you could need as a aspiring computer musician, if you have this book, and read it , and play with the concepts explained, you WILL begin to grasp this ridiculously complex subject

few months on and you will have opened up a whole new angle to make music from, and not feel boxed in with limited knowledge

if you cant learn from the teachings in this book then you are trying to grasp too much to easily, face it music theory is world in itself and with persistance and actually carrying out the concepts and experimenting, you WILL grasp it progressively

top book, more helpful for bedroom producers than any other theory book ive read -and ive read many
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book wish i'd bought it earlier, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
Having bought the dance music manual, finding the section on music theory a little sparse. This book really does lay it out well and assumes no prior music theory experience of which I have none. The audio examples really help if you are struggling to get to grips with any part. This book really covers absolutely everything you would ever want to know and goes into enough depth to quench anyones thirst for knowledge. I would recommend this book for anyone who is starting to think about electronic music production as opposed to any other book out there. Its not going to give you a magic formula but it will certainly point you in the right direction the rest is up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Theory For Computer Musicians, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
This book is prefect for any music producer that does not feel music theory is your strong point, it really explains expert music theory in a simple form, a really good book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but riddled with inaccuracies., 26 May 2014
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
An excellent book for the beginner, especially as the ridiculous amount of printed errors in the assignments pages and text will force you to re-check everything multiple times to decide whether you misunderstood something or you have come across yet another typo. Proof reading is not something this Publisher seems to believe in much. Look for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a musician who can use a DAW but cannot read sheet music, this is for you!, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Peter Jacobs "Post Rocker" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
I've played guitar in bands for 20 years, entirely self taught. I've also have been producing electronic music with Cubase (and other DAWs - Reason/Ableton etc) for well over 10 years. I haven't been able to read music since my very short stint learning trumpet as a 9 year old!

Because of the above I have at least a bit of grounding in music theory, albeit sub-consciously, as well as experience of the alternative to music notation that is used by music software (ie. midi, piano roll, grids etc).

Most other music theory books are likely to rely on the reader's ability to read music, making the subject inpenetrable to self-taught musicians. So, for someone at a similar level to me (I'm sure a couple of years of music experience as opposed to 20 will be enough), this book is fantastic and I couldn't recommend it enough.

I have learnt loads and loads, and understand a hell of a lot more, in just two weeks. It's very well written, clear, concise and holds your hand throughout. It's very well broken down into the different subjects, so once you've read it all (and most likely been overwhelmed - which can't be helped seeing as it's a big subject), you can go back and re-read the sections you are unclear on. I can vouch that re-reading chapters has really worked for me. I am completely unacademic, so if I can get it, then you can too!

My only small gripe is that there is at least one mistake in the exercises at the end of each chapter (I think!), but it's not going to affect my 5/5 rating as it's improved my understanding of music immeasurably.

One last thing in reference to a couple of the lower-rated reviews. This book is not about synthesis and doesn't purport to be. You won't learn about oscillators or using DAWs etc. There are plenty of other books that do that. This is very a particular book that aims to improve the self-taught electronic musician's knowledge of music theory in order to improve their songwriting abilities (whether it's melody, harmony, chords, beats, rhythm, arpeggiation etc). I think it does that well. I found it logically structured, and yes, while it may give you some information that you find irrelevant to your needs, I'm sure there are other musicians that will find this information useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, but cluttered., 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
In 2011, I was completely new to music theory. I purchased two books to come to grips with the subject.

Music Theory for Computer Musicians is a large book with a lot of useful information.
However, the big minus is that the key points (facts, lessons) are not easy to distinguish from the irrelevant ones.

The author does go in depth about many interesting parts of music theory, and there is definitely a lot to learn from this book, but while reading this I couldn't shake the feeling of mild confusion and irritation. I've had to re-read several parts because I simply could not comprehend what the author was trying to get across. This is mainly due to a lack of focused effort; the text contains banal and sometimes misleading information.

The reason I'm being harsh is that when I switched to "Understanding Music Theory" (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0711986711) my learning experience became much more smooth and I felt comfortable. I quickly grasped concepts that seemed impenetrable.

In conclusion, this book is okay if you're familiar with basic music theory, and would like some filler/background information on the concepts.

However, the book is currently 17.83 - it is not worth more than 10 pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 24 Dec 2010
By 
A. W. Box "AWB" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
I bought this in the hope of an easy introduction, some hope! This book needs to be read at a SLOW pace with lots of concentration. If you rush you will get frustrated, it needs iron discipline to get the best out of it. In the 10 days I have had it,I have read the first 4 chapters about 3 times each and am going back over again.
It has a wealth of information but I personally found the style of writing somewhat off putting by the author constantly refering to his day job in the middle of an explanation. I imagine he has taken this course in an attempt to make it a little less daunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great, simple Introduction to music theory, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Theory for Computer Musicians (Paperback)
A very well written, & clear introduction to music theory, aimed specifically at computer musicians, so most concepts are explained in relation to the Piano Roll - that is found in the vast majority of Digital Audio Workstations (DAWS). An audio CD is also included, so, if some concepts aren't crystal clear, the ability to simply listen to the referenced audio track on the CD is a very convenient feature, but the main concepts are so well explained, that this situation is rare - (in my experience, anyway, & I'm no virtuoso!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music Theory for Computer Musicians
Music Theory for Computer Musicians by Michael Hewitt (Paperback - 2 May 2008)
22.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews