Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tutorial Book For Paint Shop Pro - Highly Recommended
I found this book a great help and will continue to do so as I learn to use Paint Shop Pro X2. It is laid out very well in easy to follow chapters so you can find the help you need quickly and Diane Koers explains it very clearly step by step with good photographs showing examples. My only little gripe is that some of the pictures showing the toolbars are rather small,...
Published on 8 May 2009 by Kate Tigwell

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic and quite a lot missing
Gives a basic instructions but misses out a lot of stuff. Not much detail on levels or histograms. Nothing on Curves or using channels. Also the copy I got from Amazon was missing the CD that is supposed to be included. Good as a basic start but not for those looking to understand advanced photo editing techniques.
Published on 24 Nov 2009 by T. Price


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tutorial Book For Paint Shop Pro - Highly Recommended, 8 May 2009
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
I found this book a great help and will continue to do so as I learn to use Paint Shop Pro X2. It is laid out very well in easy to follow chapters so you can find the help you need quickly and Diane Koers explains it very clearly step by step with good photographs showing examples. My only little gripe is that some of the pictures showing the toolbars are rather small, with Paint shop having a dark grey background they are not easy to read, it would have been a good idea to enlarge these pictures, figure 3-31 on page 49 is an example of what I mean. All the other pictures and photographs are excellent. That is my only little gripe and overall I found the book to be easy to understand, laid out in a very user friendly fashion and you get a great CD with the book as well. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the novice, 26 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
If you are like myself and have a passion for digital photography you will probably have one of the major software programmes for all aspects of this. If you are like myself and have such software - but have no previous experience of using such a complicated and exhaustive programme then you will find this book a gold mine of hints, tips and detailed instructions. The author assumes you have very limited knowledge and gently takes you through all the many features to be found in the software.

I heartily recommend it and would be lost without it (and my final photographs look absolutely superb and indeed professional when printed out)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide to Paintshop Pro X2......but......., 16 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
...surely if you are going to bother including before and after photos you should be able to tell the difference!

As someone who is new to this software and to digital photography manipulation in general, I found this book really helpful. It's a little bit cheesy in parts, especially the foreword to each section, but the core content is good. I certainly learnt a lot from it (and continue to do so). The only real issue is the quality of the photos (which is a shame, given the purpose of the book). Most example photos are next to useless. In one section they show a whole list of thumbnails which are supposed to show the application of different masks. Unfortunately they all look exactly the same.

Notwithstanding the above, the book is a useful reference for the software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I get the picture now!, 31 Jan 2010
By 
M. V. Parmley (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
This is a super book, almost 400 pages, well laid out and in a way to maintain your interest from start to finish. And this is a book dedicated to a budget photo editing program so full marks for that and for not letting Photoshop always hog the limelight! Lots of illustrations, lots of examples to try out and fun things to do.
If you really want to get into improving your digital photos in so many ways, this is the book for you. I was delighted! And the book feels like quality as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully printed and easy to follow, 28 Dec 2009
By 
P. A. Hallam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
Of course it would have been better with larger illustrations but few then could be able to afford the extra cost. Using your own photos,just do the examples as you read along and you will get the gist of this complicated subject.Well written, easy to follow and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good stuff!, 9 Oct 2009
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
Having looked for a more informative book on Photo x2, (actually its version photo 12, but thats the americnas for you!)I thought this one was a good bet. It come with a CD of images and lessons stuck in the back.
Overall it does what it says on the tin... AND is far better than Corel's own book (supplied in the software-boxed set that I bought from them.
I am a keen user of Adobe CS3 and ACDC10, but like all programms, no one covers everything you want to do. This fills in many of the 'learning 'gaps, and makes it much easier to use.
There are several reviews of this book, mostly good, but a few, I would expect from 'professionals' that berate it.

IT IS GOOD and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic and quite a lot missing, 24 Nov 2009
By 
T. Price (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
Gives a basic instructions but misses out a lot of stuff. Not much detail on levels or histograms. Nothing on Curves or using channels. Also the copy I got from Amazon was missing the CD that is supposed to be included. Good as a basic start but not for those looking to understand advanced photo editing techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 28 Aug 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
This book could be so much better. I agree with all the reviews about the size of the step by step illustrations. Why the author chooses to end each chapter with a totally unrelated photograph defies explanation.
My main comment though concerns the order and layout of the book. I am at a loss as to why chapters on making selections and developing layers proceed quick fixes and manual editing, which are much easier for a novice to understand. Furthermore the chapters on selections and layers could have been far more detailed and expanded to cover more examples.
In summary - a useful book, that covers a lot of ground, but in quite a haphazard way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro x 2, 14 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
Good book well writen at a good price, from Amazon.
James F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars paint shop pro x2, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 (Paperback)
Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2

well organised and laid out in simple layman's lanquage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2
Picture Yourself Learning Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 by Diane Koers (Paperback - 8 Mar 2008)
18.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews