Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have
I have read this book cover to cover a couple of times within the first month of receiving it. After many years of mixing without any guidance this book is both an invaluable introduction to how the professionals do it, full of useable tips, and a good resource to keep handy whilst you are mixing because it is written almost in note form. Whilst that may sound odd for a...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Nick

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too inconsistent for beginners; also hardware oriented
This book is a distillation of interviews by the author with numerous influential experts in the field of studio mixing. The interviews themselves are included for completeness. It starts off well, suggesting it is going to be an in-depth, topic-by-topic consideration of all you need to know. Indeed the book's structure suggests that's how it will pan out. Sadly, it does...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by NB


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too inconsistent for beginners; also hardware oriented, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
This book is a distillation of interviews by the author with numerous influential experts in the field of studio mixing. The interviews themselves are included for completeness. It starts off well, suggesting it is going to be an in-depth, topic-by-topic consideration of all you need to know. Indeed the book's structure suggests that's how it will pan out. Sadly, it does not maintain this style and becomes increasingly inconsistent as you progress. A prime example of this, and there are several others, is the section on compression, where the author begins by explaining that compression is used to control dynamics and thus make the sound more even - so basic stuff - then launches straight into technical suggestions of specific ratio settings without any explanation of what might be a ratio, a threshold, knee settings and all the gubbins that make compression so complex an issue. Basic, then suddenly technical, like somebody ripped out a few pages in between - or perhaps that the author did not have a clear idea of his book's mission.
This pattern of inconsistency turns the book from a promise of instruction into essentially an anecdotal indulgence. It's worth reading, but only out of specialist interest and only if you already have at least a grounding in mixing technologies.
A further warning - the unflinching bias toward studio-based hardware solutions (a declining sector, as the author himself notes) makes this book of limited use to composers and producers who do everything in a software-based Digital Audio Workstation like Cubase, Sonar or Reason etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Nick "clubenic" (Stevenage, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
I have read this book cover to cover a couple of times within the first month of receiving it. After many years of mixing without any guidance this book is both an invaluable introduction to how the professionals do it, full of useable tips, and a good resource to keep handy whilst you are mixing because it is written almost in note form. Whilst that may sound odd for a serious book, it really helps when locating parts and issues on the spur of the moment and getting just the right amount of information to get you going in the right direction. The interviews at the end are all very engaging and bring a useful perspective to the whole art of mixing.

This should be the first must-have book on mixing in your collection. However, it will leave you hungry for more and the next step along is something more in depth. For that I highly recommend Mixing Audio: Concepts, Practices and Tools by Roey Izhaki, Focal Press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All becomes clearer, 12 Sep 2008
By 
nelson mcfarlane (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
A great book with very insightful writing. If you have been struggling to get over a learning plateau in home recording this definitely helps. I have been using Logic Pro for 3 years and this book definitely helped. The guest sections in the book make very good reading too and it is not written in too 'techy' a manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic textbook, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Michael Smith (Southend-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
One of the books to buy if you want to understand this subject. About half of the book contains chapters detailing the techniques necessary to understand how to mix sound, but the second half contains interviews with some industry experts who give you the fruits of their experience. For a subject that is more practical than theoretical, you will probably want to buy more than one book about mixing, but this one should be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mixing Engineer's Handbook, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
very good book learned so much things from this book would be buying more books good price very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for boyfriend who has dj'd for years but is going back to basic's to learn technical bits of mixing and making music - he thought it's a great place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mixing engineers handbook, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! Bought as a birthday present for a music student who said it has everything they need to improve their technique, learn new skills and increase their understanding of musical concepts. A real aid to any dj/producer who wishes to gain better understanding of modern musical practice, even the teachers want to borrow it!! A real find and a bargain at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bible for the Mix Engineer, 2 April 2011
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. Comprehensively written, and with some excellent tips and tricks. Some interesting discussions with top engineers provide a very useful insight to their work. The Mastering Engineers Handbook is also worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book for start., 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
Hi guys!
First of all im not mixing engineer , im just amateur singer, guitar/bass/kyes player.I recording my songs and my ideas to my home studio PC.
One day i found that all my recordings must be better in sound quality , but i did not know what is wrong in my records and where i can start from to impoove.
So i was spending a lot of hours in search of information from internet, but all info was very general and contradictory.I started looking for books here in Amazon, and i found The Mixing Engineer's Handbook by Bobby Owsinski.

In that book i found a lot of information for my needs.I resolved all my dubts about gneeral rules of recording and mixing.Of course one book can not substitute years of study and practice, but for sure , after reading this book you will get very good and correct base of this kind science.
I was never regret for to buy that book and im very thankful to Boby Owsinsky for his job. Now i have 4 books from Bobby and all of them opened to me new doors to the world of sound.

Big Thanx to Bobby for his great job , thanx to everybody for reading my review.

My best wishes from Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good to Start With but Overrated., 20 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mixing Engineer's Handbook (Paperback)
A good beginner's guide to mixing, but overrated. None of the chapters go into depth and the interviews at the end provide little real insight. Roey Izhaki's 'Mixing Audio' is recommended for people seriously wanting to learn the nuts and bolts of mixing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mixing Engineer's Handbook
The Mixing Engineer's Handbook by Bobby Owsinski (Paperback - 25 April 2006)
Used & New from: 6.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews