Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
Matthew Henry's Commentary is an amazing book, which I would thoroughly recommend. As well as very clear explanations of many difficult passages, it contains a wealth of practical application, which allows every verse to impact the believer's life. His theology is Reformed, and he treats the bible with the respect God's revealed Word demands. I have certainly found no...
Published on 9 Jun 2003 by Tim

versus
45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best commentary but unreadable in its present binding.
This is a very large book. It is so large it should have been published in, say, ten thousand pages, ideally in ten volumes, with each volume about a thousand pages long.
Instead of publishing it in ten volumes or so, which would then have made it possible for the publishers to keep the font size that of an ordinary book, they have condensed it in a single volume...
Published on 3 Nov 2004 by Sayyid M. Hanif


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 9 Jun 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Matthew Henry's Commentary is an amazing book, which I would thoroughly recommend. As well as very clear explanations of many difficult passages, it contains a wealth of practical application, which allows every verse to impact the believer's life. His theology is Reformed, and he treats the bible with the respect God's revealed Word demands. I have certainly found no 'sticks' to leave (cf the previous reviewer). Take note that this is a BIG book, so a 3 volume set might be more suited to bed-time reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best commentary of all time, 31 July 2004
I can confidently say that this commentary is one I will find hard or near impossible to live without.
It delves into scripture like no other. Mr Henry was most definitely inspired by the Holy Spirit's leading because no carnal man can expose the Bible in this manner. Whenever I come upon a baffling verse in scripture, I turn to this book and like another reviewer said, you end up reading a sermon.
The depth, clarity and consistency of this work boggles the mind and Mr Henry's command of the English language is marvellous, I often find myself praising the Lord for blessing His children with such an anointed servant (for over 300 yrs!!). Unlike most, this commentary is very economical with references to other verses but when it does do this, the result is quite effortlessly poignant. This commentary continually displays my impoverished knowledge of scriptures, which I thank the Lord for cause it not only brings me down to earth but also inspires diligence in study.
I just hope and pray that more and more Christians will find this material and study it with diligence, it will surely edify and go a long way into dispelling maligned notions that exists today.
To you that have been gracious enough to read this review, I have one advice; BUY this commentary now you will be blessed indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World's Best Commentary, 3 Dec 2007
By 
E. A. FISHER "LizzyFish" (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have several commentaries, but this one is by far the best. Not only is it exhaustive, but it is clearly laid out (unlike some others , like Poole's) and has wonderful extrapolations of each text. I love it.

Every Christian should own one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a commentary, an everyday sermon, 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
In making commentaries on the whole bible, Matthew Henry ends up delivering sermons after sermons.
This commentary reaches into every nook and cranny of the bible and
comes up with gems that remain oblivious to many a christian (at least myself).
One thing is for sure, Matthew Henry had a gift of exposition and was steeped in the scriptures. His notes are honest and appear effortless in its delivery, definitely exquisite in its execution. Matthew knew well enough that man would be judged for every vain word he/she speaks - whats more our opinion of the everlasting Word of the most high. He appears to have submitted and surrended all pre-conceived opinions and or notion of his and followed the Holy Spirit's bidding (this theme appears to be continued in post Acts books, which were compiled by friends from MH's notes) . And that effort was repaid by a great measure.
This book should not be restricted to Ministerial use, every Christian family should own one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for any Christian home., 15 Jun 1997
By A Customer
Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible represents a monumental labor of love that took over 20 years to write. Composed between 1700 and 1722, Matthew Henry's writing is as eloquent and meaningful today as it was when he put pen to paper. Matthew Henry was the consummate biblical scholar and pastor, fired with a love for the Lord that drove him and inspired him in his explanation of the bible. The only shortfall of this version is it's small type, which is necessary to get the entire work into one volume. A truly outstanding work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best commentary but unreadable in its present binding., 3 Nov 2004
By 
Sayyid M. Hanif (Hayes, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a very large book. It is so large it should have been published in, say, ten thousand pages, ideally in ten volumes, with each volume about a thousand pages long.
Instead of publishing it in ten volumes or so, which would then have made it possible for the publishers to keep the font size that of an ordinary book, they have condensed it in a single volume. That essentially forced them to keep the font size i.e. the size of the letters so small that you either read it with difficulty or have to use a magnifying glass.
The contents may be the best in the world but you definitely don't want them in a script size which makes it largely unreadable.
I wish they publish the book in a more readable size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 6 July 2007
By 
CHRISTOV Stefan (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This item consists of 6 volumes of commentary (6000 pages), plus a CD Rom.

The volumes of commentary:

A paragraph from the Bible, reprinted, is followed by an extensive commentary.

The CD Rom:

There are two different programs to browse read the material:

In Lightning Study Bible:

Contains the complete texts of: 1) The American Standard Version, 2) The King James Version, 3) The Modern Language Bible, 4) Young's Literal Translation of the Bible.

By selecting a verse, a commentary of the verse can be displayed. There are 3 different commentaries available: 1) The Concise Bible Commentary, 2) Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary, 3) Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible.

In Adobe Reader format:

1) The text of the 6 volumes.

2) Bibles: King James Version, Young's Literal Translation of the Bible.

3) Reference: Hebrew and Greek dictionaries.

4) Commentaries: The Concise bible Commentary, Matthew Henry's Concise Commentary.

5) Dictionaries: Smith's Bible Dictionary, International Standard Bible Encyclopedia.

6) Topical:
Orville Nave -- Concise Topical Bible
R. A. Torrey -- New Topical Textbook

7) Historical:
Alfred Edersheim -- Sketches in Jewish Social Life * The Temple
The Life and Times of Jesus - Volume 1 * Volume 2
Bible History:
Vol. 1 -- Pre-Flood World and Patriarchs
Vol. 2 -- Exodus and the Wanderings
Vol. 3 -- Joshua and The Judges
Vol. 4 -- Samuel, Saul, and David to the Birth of Solomon
Vol. 5 -- Birth of Solomon to the Reign of Ahab
Vol. 6 -- From Ahab to the Decline of the Two Kingdoms
Vol. 7 -- Decline of the Two Kingdoms to the Captivity

All texts in pdf format have footnotes which, when clicked, display the verses of the Bible indicated by the footnote.

8) Maps.

All-in-all there is a HUGE amount of information in this item. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content with reservation, 6 Aug 2010
As the advert says this is a complete commentary on the whole Bible. It is complete, very well written and very informative. A must for any Bible study. However, there is a downside to the publication. This is the size of the text. I find it too small and compact to really enjoy any lengthy reading. If you have perfect eyesight you may not agree but for older people or those not having 20/20 vision I would suggest an alternative copy of the same works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its user friendly, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the price of purchase, the product is value for money.
The way the table of content is arranged makes it easy to get to the text you are interested in.The links work as expected, unlike what many people complain about when it comes to using many digital bible resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem!, 26 Oct 2009
A brilliant commentary that really helps give clear and practical understanding to the scriptures even some of the most difficult passages are explain clearly and beautifully, a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible by Matthew Henry (Hardcover - 1 Jun 2008)
25.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews