Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the DVD tutorials alone
Over the past three years I've gone through racks of 3d books (for lightwave,cinema4d,3dsmax) and this one is up there as one of the most informative and useful.

It describes the Lightwave tool in a clear - yet not boring - way, and the step by step projects are fun and useful, not pointless 'widget creations' like many other books out there.

The DVD...
Published on 15 Jan 2008 by L. A. Hunt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but 3rd party pluings don't work with newer LW
It's a good book - clear and easy to follow, but some of the third party plugin's don't work with later versions of Lightwave (It's up to 10 now and the book uses 9.2).

I was hoping to work through the examples in Chapter 9, but the plugin's that it uses don't work!!!
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by Mr Pali Rao


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the DVD tutorials alone, 15 Jan 2008
By 
L. A. Hunt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave (Paperback)
Over the past three years I've gone through racks of 3d books (for lightwave,cinema4d,3dsmax) and this one is up there as one of the most informative and useful.

It describes the Lightwave tool in a clear - yet not boring - way, and the step by step projects are fun and useful, not pointless 'widget creations' like many other books out there.

The DVD is awesome, about 300 worth of video tutorials.

Minor gripe: some coloured prints would be the icing on the cake.

Authors, please bring on 'Essential Lightwave V10' next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, definitely recommend, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave (Paperback)
Bought this book having never used any kind of 3D modelling software and found it invaluable. Perfect for total beginners. The CD tutorials have you modelling in no time. Have bought other video tutorials designed for total beginners and found myself referring back to this book because the video's didn't explain every keystroke/action required. Consider it a 'must-have'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but 3rd party pluings don't work with newer LW, 16 Dec 2010
This review is from: Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave (Paperback)
It's a good book - clear and easy to follow, but some of the third party plugin's don't work with later versions of Lightwave (It's up to 10 now and the book uses 9.2).

I was hoping to work through the examples in Chapter 9, but the plugin's that it uses don't work!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to build up a skill base, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Christopher Oldland "Stone goblin" (mancs, Englands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave (Paperback)
I bought this after having had a dabble in lightwave a few years ago courtesy of a friend.
The book is great for learning how lightwave works and I would recommend it to anyone that needs a good solid tutorial based introduction. The chapters explain the tools you have at your disposal then takes you through both in-book and video tutorials on how to employ them.
I have been working through each chapter step-by-step and am steadily building up confidence and understanding of how this quite daunting piece of software works. Approached this way I am becoming a more confident user and understand how to avoid the mistakes I made before starting to use this manual. It was also possible for me to use this book as a quick reference to complete basic work before I really had time to get to grips with it properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't use overly., 28 Aug 2010
By 
Victoria Mcnaught "Vix0r" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave (Paperback)
For the little I used this at uni it seemed very helpful and well laid out. The index at the back helped me find solutions to problems I was having and the tutorials in it looked very helpful.

It is a very expensive book though so I would only recommend buying it new if you were sure you'd use it often. I didn't and so it seemed a big waste on my part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Yes ! and No !, 9 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave (Paperback)
Brought the book new on amazon after reading amazons 5 star rating etc.
The tutorial CD inclosed I thought came BLANK! If the inclosed DVD shows the tutorial video files one minute and not the next transfer the files to another DVD disk which worked for me.

As a beginner I needed a book to learn this powerful 3D software " Lightwave " version 9.3 and if you downloaded the trial version of Lightwave version 9.6 from Newtek there will be a difference to The books older version 9. Try making a line primitive etc. you soon understand what I mean and have to use your own tuition regarding. But this applies to most learning books when a software is updated.

The small wording in the diagrams are slightly hard to read in grey and white. The book starts from the basics to intermediate to advance which is great to drive you through to understand this 3D software, which has a lot of big films under its belt and one of the early gods of 3D software.

Lightwave has two different Layouts which users and beginners like myself will find confusing at first.
It will open up in " Layout view " which you cannot do much in. Its not like " Maya " and " 3D Studio Max " not to mention many others. You need to open up " Modeler Layout " to get started in making the basic of a line primitive to get things going.

This book is easy to follow and I would agree with comments regarding that " they would of purchase the book just for the videos clips alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Lightwave V9: The Fastest and Easiest Way to Master LightWave
59.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews