Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
In particularly, the second of London's short stories in 'The Road', 'Holding her down' captured me as he recounts the many different methods and techniques he would employ at each train station to avoid being 'ditched' by 'the shacks'. His wit, instinct and cunning is unarguable and the ideological success of living as a hobo is somewhat inspirational. The idea of...
Published on 8 Jan. 2010 by Bear

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Its not a bad read but its very poor when compared to call of the wild and white fang.

If this had had been his only book i would have given 1 out of 5..because if hsi previous work i will give 3.
Published on 3 May 2013 by A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 8 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
In particularly, the second of London's short stories in 'The Road', 'Holding her down' captured me as he recounts the many different methods and techniques he would employ at each train station to avoid being 'ditched' by 'the shacks'. His wit, instinct and cunning is unarguable and the ideological success of living as a hobo is somewhat inspirational. The idea of surviving on 'the road' with as few provisions and possessions as possible has truly kindled and further inspired me in this collection of short stories. I read the whole thing in a day: i just couldn't put London down. I had previously read 'the call of the wild' and 'white fang', not forgetting other short stories such as 'batard' and 'moon face': these stories are strongly canine based however, they inspired my determination to live in the wild and when combined with these stories of living on the road, London is a truly inspirational character to me. I recommend this to anyone contemplating a picaresque existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacks Hobo Blues, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
D. J. "DeeJay" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
An account of Jack Londons time as a Hobo, travelling across America, hopping the freight trains being thrown off the freight trains, time spent in prison, almost freezing to death, learning to jump onto a moving wagon without losing your legs, meeting the pros who spend a lifetime doing this, learning the slang the do's and dont's, the comradeship and seeing America as he wanted to see it. Jack London was one of the first to live this life and write about it,a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a life Jack London experienced., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a story like "Call of the wild and White Fang", but tales of the authors experience of life on the road as a hobo in the States. I enjoyed it, full of colourful characters and adventures, and quite thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack the red, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although his tales of his spell as a hobo/tramp are good reading he seems to be deliberate not see his day to day struggle as political yet when he wrote about them he was a committed socialist and was a member of the socialist party of America. In the summery at the end his socialist convictions are hardly mention sham.john lee runcorn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
I found this a stunning read and a very clever piece of work. His description in this book of life on the road and of the worst excesses of human nature - the beating dished out by the gypsy king on his women, the cruel beatings administered by high ranking prisoners upon low ranking prisoners - are met with the apathy and resignation we would expect to see in someone at the bottom of society.

I think that this was written so that whatever conclusions you come to, it says something about you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful gripping autobiographical story, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
The writing of London jumps out of the page at you he is truly a great literary artist with an amazing experience of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
excellent typical jack london book love it.......never fails to entertain a book you can read over and over again .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventures on the hobo road by Jack London, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
Great adventures on the hobo road by Jack London, couldn't put the book down. Wish the story had been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I like Jack London's writing I found these short stories rather dated and boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road (Paperback)
I have been trying to track this book down for a long time having read in my youth. Fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road
The Road by Jack London (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2006)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews