Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends of the Dark Crystal; The Garthem Wars
Legends of the Dark Crystal; The Garthem Wars is set roughly a few centuries before the events of the film.
The story shows the early days of when the Skeksi's began wiping out the Gelfling race and begins with a young Gelfing herder male named Lahr who is the only survivor of his village following a Garthem attack. He later encounters a young female Gelfing weaver...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by D. O. G. Roberts

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good tie-in
Recommended for Dark Crystal fans , this is enjoyable stuff.
A bit slow to get going, but it has some worthy ideas and interest to expand the Crystal world a little. I was a bit disappointed in the v. brief appearance of the mystics at the beginning.
Not sure if it needed Manga-isation, as the original gelflings are pretty manga-erish already.
However,...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by greenwise design


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends of the Dark Crystal; The Garthem Wars, 9 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars) (Paperback)
Legends of the Dark Crystal; The Garthem Wars is set roughly a few centuries before the events of the film.
The story shows the early days of when the Skeksi's began wiping out the Gelfling race and begins with a young Gelfing herder male named Lahr who is the only survivor of his village following a Garthem attack. He later encounters a young female Gelfing weaver named Neffi who like him is also an only survivor of a Garthem attack on her village. The two decided to locate the remaining Gelfling villages and warn them of the coming attacks.

This manga features impressive artwork and introduces and new load of Gelfing characters as well as a few new Skeksis and few old ones originally seen in the film. The layout of the reading is done western style (pages read from left to right).
The story is good and the characters Lahr and Neffi make good stand-ins for Jen and Kira from the film.
My only fault is that this book is supposed to be volume 1 of a longer story and although there is an end to this chapter there have been no news on any future releases.

If you're a fan of the Dark Crystal then I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good tie-in, 23 Feb 2010
This review is from: Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars) (Paperback)
Recommended for Dark Crystal fans , this is enjoyable stuff.
A bit slow to get going, but it has some worthy ideas and interest to expand the Crystal world a little. I was a bit disappointed in the v. brief appearance of the mystics at the beginning.
Not sure if it needed Manga-isation, as the original gelflings are pretty manga-erish already.
However, shows how much potential there is in the Dark Crystal universe for more stories, magic and elaboration.
Recommended reading to the Crystal-inspired wistful guitar music of Embertime ! (search google!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars) (Paperback)
I saw this film when it was originally released back in 1982, I bought it when it came on video, I now have it on DVD and I also have the soundtrack on both vinyl and CD, so I was curious to see this book. :-)

This story it set a couple of centuries before Jen and Kira were born.

The journey begins in the early days when the Skeksi's began to kill the Gelflings. We meet Lahr first; he's an animal herder and is the only survivor due to a Garthim attack on his village. These horrible creatures are the Skeksi's soldiers.

During his journey he meets up with another Gelfling, she's called Neffi; she's the only survivor of her village after an attack by the Garthim.

These soldiers of the Skeksi's are sent to capture the Gelflings as the twisted Skeksi's use the crystal to drain the Gelfings for their life essence as it prevents the Skeksi's from getting old, so the Gelfings are slowly being wiped out village by village.

Lahr and Neffi team up together and decide to find other Gelfling's villages to warm them of the Garithim attacks.

When the book arrived I was surprised to see it in comic form as I didn't expect that at all, but it didn't take anything away from the story and I did enjoy seeing the lovely black and white illustrations as well. :-)

I found it to be very enjoyable and a compulsive read, I just couldn't but the novel down. :-)

Any fan of the film will enjoy this book; it's also a good start for anyone who hasn't seen the film. It's a book for all ages; I'd recommend this to anyone who loves a good fantasy novel. :-)

To me it was worth every penny, I just hope that at some point they bring out a sequel as I'd love to find out how the story continues. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great work, 25 Jun 2009
By 
Myko (Derby, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this, a great insight into what is an all too under explored world. Picked this up in the afternoon and couldn't put it down till it had been finished. Artwork is of good quality and plotline neatly wraps up a story whilst dropping several hints of things to come. Supposedly the first of a trilogy, I await the second edition eagerly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical story., 2 Aug 2008
This review is from: Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars) (Paperback)
For your money you'll get a robust book that covers key elements from the film and still takes you on a new journey in the Dark Crystal world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legends of the Dark Crystal Volume 1, 15 Nov 2007
This review is from: Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars) (Paperback)
The Dark Crystal was conceived and directed by Jim Henson after his success with The Muppet Show. It was released in 1982, and has since gone on to become one of the most popular fantasy films in history, while also becoming an important component of Henson's legacy.

The Dark Crystal told the story of Jen and Kira, the last of their kind living in a fractured world precariously balanced between the forces of good and evil. TOKYOPOP's manga prequel takes place hundreds of years before the events of the film, when the gentle Gelflings and wise Mystics are still thriving.

And so, unfortunately, are the evil Skeksis...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend of the Dark Crystal: v. 1 (Legends of the Dark Crystal: The Garthim Wars)
Used & New from: £6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews