Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Required Reading
A brilliant analysis of what is really going on in the world today: knowledgeable, well-researched, concise, and fair. While the book amounts to a scathing critique of the Bush administration and the current leadership of intelligence and military institutions, the author has no left-wing political agenda, and writes as an insider who is frustrated at the failed policies...
Published on 10 Sep 2004

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been shorter
This is a well written and stimulating book, with a free flowing and gripping style. But Anonymous could have said what he wanted to say in 25 pages instead of 250. Despite saying that he would not belabour his points, he does just that, repeating them over and over again.
I was still left at the end not understanding what he wants the US to do in order to take the...
Published on 18 Jan 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Required Reading, 10 Sep 2004
By A Customer
A brilliant analysis of what is really going on in the world today: knowledgeable, well-researched, concise, and fair. While the book amounts to a scathing critique of the Bush administration and the current leadership of intelligence and military institutions, the author has no left-wing political agenda, and writes as an insider who is frustrated at the failed policies of his superiors.
With the kind of frank, intelligent maturity that is so depressingly absent in American public discourse today, the author addresses issues that are essential to America's continued well-being, but have somehow become unmentionable (outside Noam Chomsky's picket fence at least) - the contribution of real U.S. policies to the hatred felt towards the U.S. in most of the muslim world; the chronic energy dependency issues that lie behind U.S. support for Saudi Arabia and other middle eastern tyrannies (making an embarrassing and laughable mockery of the U.S. government's sanctimonious, hypocritical preaching about 'democracy'); and (gasp!) the unquestioning support for Israel that has become a bizarre cornerstone of U.S. foreign policy.
The author raises these issues, but accepts that they are unlikely to be addressed any time soon. Given this fact, he again demonstrates that he is no liberal by advocating a more violent and ruthless war with al Qaeda, from which the current Iraq mess is a costly and counter-productive distraction.
Frightening and sobering in its assessments of bin Laden and al Qaeda's capabilities, and of the extent of the global islamic insurgency that supports them, this book should be required reading for anyone in government or intelligence, or for that matter, anyone with the right to vote ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of the political climate, 15 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Annonymous is not afraid to speak the truth and say the unsayable.
He explains bin Laden's motivation; a view point that despite the countless column inches devoted to the man, the media never managed to portray. The book explains that the underlying cause of the conflict is not so much Islamic fundamentalism but US actions in the middle east and elsewhere.
Annonymous leaves us with one of 2 options. Either long and protracted war with countless casualties or a limited war with a fundamental root and branch overview of US policies. Does the US really need to support Israel and the corrupt rulers in many middle eastern countries?
The future looks bleak as there appears to be no hope that Bush or Kerry really have the courage and moral integrity to take on so many vested interests in the US political and media machine. Indeed, one could argue that if they were such men, they would never have been allowed to get as far as they have.
At times Annonymous reminds me of King Lear raging against the thunder and storms. A lone voice against powers that drowns him out with ease.
I recommend this book without reservation. I thought I was pretty well informed about world affairs and now realise with humility how little I knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agent Scheuer's analysis is better than Agent Orange's Solution, 5 May 2010
By 
Oliveman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scheuer's analysis of the current crisis is on the whole honest, fair and informed. He is a CIA agent and while he has nothing but scorn with a hint of frustration for Bush and Co's understanding and handling of the "War on Terror", he is by no means a bleeding heart liberal. The central point that Scheur builds his argument (and even at times rants) around is that the Muslim world hates the "American satan" not for her freedom and Big Macs, but rather for her constant meddling in Middle Eastern internal affairs for her own best interests. This is done more often than not at the expense of the Muslim world. Not to mention America's uncritical support of Israel. Though all this analysis is wasted by the author's conclusion which can be reduced to a simple battle cry of "bomb the lot of `em" the analysis alone is worth the price of admission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But the Politicians say we are winning!, 10 Sep 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NOT.
I read this book in one steady burst over the weekend straining my eyes to the limit. At the end my one thought was "I must have been blind for the last 20 years".
I dont know who "Anonymous" is but he or she explains why 9/11 happened, in the cold light of day, with no emotion, and with a broad analytical sweep of the actions of the USA, and the repercussions across the world in the last 20-50 years.
Anonymous states that he or she has worked for the US intelligence agencies for the last 20 years which makes this book even more remarkable. A. loves his/her country but, quoting Robert E Lee, say it is his/her duty to reveal what the politicians wont allow the intelligence agencies to say:
The chilling quote: "This war has the potential to last beyond our children's lifetimes and to be fought mostly on US soil."
A. then provides a detailed reasoning behind each conclusion in a very easy to read style. He/she provides a set of policy recommendations to address each of the points made above.
Whether you support or dont support the different factions in this "war on terrorism", whether you are christian/muslim/jew, western or eastern, reading this book will present a view that will make you think more about what is happening.
In my opinion Imperial Hubris makes the best media reporting on TV or newspaper look superficial and tame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very Interesting read, 23 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Hubris: Why the West Is Losing the War on Terror (Paperback)
Anyone who is interested by the "War on Terror" should read this book. It is very interesting and I found myself questioning a lot of what we have been told by governments and or the media. It points out a lot of errors that were made very early on (late 2001-2002). More importantly this book (published around 2004) has shown a lot of foresight regarding how the war in Iraq and opinion would progress.

Overall a very interesting read and the book contains some good references for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understand the Enemy, 3 Nov 2011
By 
J. Scott "James Scott" (Glasgow,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imperial Hubris: Why the West Is Losing the War on Terror (Paperback)
Heard the author on BBC Radio talking about the current situation in the West with Terrorism and how American needs to be ahead of the game. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eyeopener, 29 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everybody that thinks he or she knows a lot about the war
on terror should read this book! Anonymous' book is an eyeopener. If he is right about Islamists hating us for what we do, and not what we stand for, then the war on terror must be fought on a political front, in which we in the West redefine our policies towards the rest of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been shorter, 18 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This is a well written and stimulating book, with a free flowing and gripping style. But Anonymous could have said what he wanted to say in 25 pages instead of 250. Despite saying that he would not belabour his points, he does just that, repeating them over and over again.
I was still left at the end not understanding what he wants the US to do in order to take the battle a la Sherman to the enemy. His ideas for US policy change are clear but how is the US expected to achieve a "blood soaked" victory? Who is supposed to be killed? Surely not all the 1.3 billion Muslims who he claims are now threatening the very existence of the US. The book would have been much better if Anonymous could have explained in the military field, as he has done in the political field, how the US should substitute an anti insurgency strategy for the current counter terrorism approach, which, he claims, will only yield tactical victories and lead eventually to losing the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imperial Hubris: Why the West Is Losing the War on Terror
Imperial Hubris: Why the West Is Losing the War on Terror by Michael Scheuer (Paperback - 14 Feb 2008)
6.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews