Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really two excellent books between one cover., 15 May 2014
By 
Mr. M. Yeats (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
The photos of Martin Parr as so recognisable, in your face and bright high saturation colours exploding out of the page like a box of fireworks set alight by a stray match.
This book of photos could not be more different.
Taken when Martin was fresh out of art school the photos show the charmingly simple life of people in and around Hebden bridge in Yorkshire.
All the photos are in black and white and very basic, they suit the subject a treat.
The text with them is by Susie Parr who moved from Manchester to Hebden bridge and later became his wife.
Susie’s text is absolutely wonderful, for me the text is as important as the photos, almost as if the text was the point of the book and the photos a group of supporting players.
The text tells of the life of the people and the industry of the area in the late 1970s.
I loved the story of the Lydgate mineral water works, run as a family business since 1897 by the Greenwood family and founded by Titus Greenwood.
They made small production runs of fizzy drinks.
The business had hardly moved on from its Victoria beginnings.
The stories are a wonderful record that we would be the poorer for not having been set down in words, the memories of which would be lost for ever once the people in them had passed on. The photos are in beautifully support.
All in all a book not to be missed, really two books in one.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
I have many of Martin Parr's books, but think is the truly outstanding one. Some wonderful images (in fact probably most of Parr's best), accompanied by insightful and at times poignant text. In many ways, it's a time capsule. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service good read, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
Ordered this book on 7th of July arrived on 8th of July, well packaged excellent service thanks speedyhen.Book great read and pictures good quality well worth the money if you like Martin parr . Even if you don't no his work still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpieces in B+W from Martin Parr's early career, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
These are wonderful, intense images from Martin Parr's first long-term project after graduation and after moving to Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire. A beautifully produced book allows one to appreciate the intensity of these wonderful images. I was lucky enough to see them printed large on the wall in exhibition.

The book includes a lot of writing and interview material by Susie Parr, who with Martin attended the tiny church which served as the core of this project. This is a brilliant, documentary project conducted in great depths. It is great that it has finally been published.

Unambiguously recommended to anyone interested in documentary photography. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful but leaves lingering doubts, 6 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
Superb documentary of a vanishing community in northern England. Having said that, it's hard to tell, even with (or especially with) the text, how sympathetic to the subjects Martin Parr was. Given his later taste for illustrating the grotesque in our culture, I'm inclined to think not very.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photographs that capture our social history, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
Beautiful photographs that capture our social history. Martin Parr concentrates very much on the people rather than the places and I find that very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good shots, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
Bought for my son as a present as he lives in Hebden Bridge, I had a quick browse of the shots which definitely prove the recent past is another world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting book seeing Martin parr black-and-white work highly recommended much more interested then the colour working no, 18 April 2015
By 
william (Fulham London uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
very interesting book seeing Martin parr black-and-white work highly recommended much more interested then the colour working normally associated with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, with fabulous photos, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
Great book, with fabulous photos. A scintillating view in to village life, of a then and now that are not so far apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Querky photographs of an era, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists (Hardcover)
Great photos and memories. Amusing look on everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists
Martin Parr: The Non-Conformists by Susie Parr (Hardcover - 7 Oct. 2013)
£25.16
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews