Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars103
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2015
A book all in the West should read in order to understand the motivations,and self justifications of, particularly, the dangerous Fundamentalist" Jihadist"element of Muslim Society.( and why the more proggressive elements are so unwilling to speak out strongly against it,or reform their religion for the 21st Century)
The book convincingly corrects the erronious assumptions that Western Leaders have peddled, concerning the essentially peaceful and tollerant nature of this belief system, and their weakness to speak out to criticise in fear of claims of Racism, Political Incorrectness, or indeed physical attack.(or worse) The time is overdue for open discussion of the problems raised in this book for all our sakes.
Since this book was published, we have had the murder of Satirical Journalists in Paris,and the rise,and successes of ISIL forces in Iraq, involving fanatical Jihadists,some of whom we are told by our Security Services will return to the West to continue Jihad,against us.Therefore it is
more critical than ever that we learn the truth about their beliefs,and how to counter them effectively, to prevent further attrocities being committed against us in the name of Islam. (I suppose we will only be considered "collateral damage "by the Politicians,who are of course very well protected,and guarded.)
What comes through from the evidence in this book is that the world, that the Jihadi Fundamentalists see as their duty as good Muslims to fight to bring about( by any means), bears an uncanny resemblance to a" New Nazi Empire". As Churchill stated before the Second World War, we must prevent at all costs a descent into a" New Dark Age," and I expect he would have said much the same of Islamic Fundamentalism now.
Whether or not the "Multi Cultural Society" appeals to you,it can only work if all parties are tollerent, and respectful of each others cultures etc,and engage on this basis, but the Author illustrates the inherently Racist,and Supremesist nature of Islam, which obviously causes problems in this respect..
This book is in many ways a Revelation for us all (Luckily not of the Religious type.)
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
The subject of Muhammad and Islam is constantly avoided in the Western world as the majority of people either have little knowledge, or do not wish to offend others. As Spencer mentions in his reasons for writing the book, we live in a world where free speech is encouraged and Islam should be allowed to be criticised in the same way anything else in the western world is.

A very well written book, providing structured arguments without being overpowering in the sense you are being told what what to think.

A must for anyone wishing to expand their knowledge of an almost taboo subject.
33 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
A concise expose of Mohammed using the texts most widely accepted within Islam (so they can't complain that this isn't true!).
This will put you on your guard concerning claims that Islam is a peaceful religion - it is IF you SUBMIT ....... otherwise look out!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
I liked the factual approach where all points are justified fully from the most sacred Muslim sources that more frequently than not do not rely on interpretation to be clear.
We clearly would seem to be misled with what we would like Islam to be and that is very naive of us and needs to be addressed to truly better understand. The author gives us that better insight free of the misconceptions that abound.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
This is a valuable book which makes a simple point. The individual who is the role model in your religion sets the standard for morality and ethical behaviour for you, if you believe that individual existed and had something worthwhile to impart to the world So if you are a follower of Jesus or the Buddha, for example, then pacifism, unqualified altruism, contemplation, etc. define morality for you, whether or not your conduct actually measures up to the standard set by the founder. On the other hand, if the founder whose example you aspire to emulate is someone who advocates killing other people - in a 'good' cause, of course - then your ideal behaviour and attitude to others will be significantly different.
22 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I wanted a book that explained all the things about Islam and Muslims that I don't under stand, this book does that and more. Very easy to read for the lay person like me, and very well researched. My next book is the English version of the Koran.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
It is more important to know how you know something than to know it. I have read Ali’s translation of The Qur’an and Guillaume’s of Ibn Ishaq, and made careful notes of the latter. Being recorded within living memory of Muhammad, these two works are the nearest and most respected (by Muslims) sources of information about him. I can find no inconsistency between the events described in them and what Spencer presents as evidence. As we all do, he selects that evidence but does so in a balanced way; indeed he quotes only a small portion of the, what we today would call, atrocities perpetrated in the name of Islam during the First Century AH, and the 21st Century CE.

As Spencer writes, it is less important to know what actually happened in Muhammad’s life than what Muslims generally accept as having happened. (page 31) To me the crucial test of this, and other similar acceptances, is how every adult answers the question, ‘Do you hold allegiance to the law of the land you live in above all else?’ If the answer is not ‘yes’, that adult should move to a country where their answer is acceptable. Yes, such a question is socially divisive – it is meant to be, because the division is already there in the adults’ answers. The question is also unifying.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2009
I bought this book because I simply wanted more information after having read the Quran.
An expatriate New Yorker, I ordered two translations of the Quran (one English, one German) after the attacks of 9/11 in order to find out what it really teaches as well as to find arguments supporting my view that Islam was a religion of peace. To my surprise, I was disappointed as to the latter! Also, I found the text, with few exceptions, to be nearly incomprehensible, not to say muddled: no logical progression, very little context. I am familiar with both Old and New Testaments of the Bible, and although certain things appear strange and sometimes barbaric to modern sensibilities, the texts can be understood. Spencer tells us why this is not the case with the Quran.
What struck me most was the repeated stressing of the inferiority of non-Muslims; the constant harping on the punishments awaiting them, prohibitions against forming friendships with them, and above all, the overriding importance of waging war to spread Islam.
Spencer addresses these and many other issues that influence Muslims today. He makes very clear why jihadists can quote the Quran or cite Muhammad's example when planning acts of terrorism. We must remember that from the seventh century onward, Islam was spread by fire and sword through previously Christian countries and that the much-maligned Crusades were a reaction to this threat.
Muhammad accomplished a number of positive things; he forbade female infanticide; enjoined Muslims to support one another, be honest in their dealings and help the poor. But all of this fairness and justice applied only to brother Muslims, and of course women were second-class citizens. Fourteen hundred years ago this may have been the case nearly everywhere, but the countries proceeding from the Judao-Christian tradition have moved forward and no longer insist on living exactly as in biblical times. Not even the most virulent Christian fundamentalist would advocate the more egregious actions mentioned in the Old Testament.
Islam is in dire need of a historical- critical system of exegesis to bring it into the 21st century.
Spencer does concentrate on the negative, but uses only the Quran itself and other Muslim sources to support his arguments.
I find the title a bit unfortunate; it might lead one to expect a wild-eyed rant, but the book is well-researched and seriously written.
1313 comments|244 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
"The truth about Muhammad: Founder of the world's most intolerant religion" by Robert Spencer. Regnery Publishing Inc, Washington DC, United States. 2006 hb, 2007 pb. ISBN-13: 978-1-59698-028-0 and ISBN-10: 1-59698-028-1. The book's title
sums it up perfectly! This is a rare insight into one of the world's largest, and fastest-growing, religions. It is highly controversial, especially amongst its followers, who unfortunately accept its teaching blindly without challenging them.
Another book worth reading (I discovered this one first) is:
"Living by the point of my spear" by Zaki Ameen (an ex-Imam of the Islamic religion in Egypt). Lightning Source UK. No publication date. ISBN-13 978-0-9809948-6-5.Surely the time has come for the truth to be told about the Islamic religion (that word "religion" is used very, very loosely!). Living by the point of my spear is written by an ex-Imam, who, unlike the absolute majority of Muslims decided to delve into it's actual truth. He realised Islam is a complete fabrication made up by its "prophet" who altered his teachings
at will, even on a day-to-day basis. To legitimise his actions he claimed "God had changed His mind!").
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
The prize for compete buffoonery goes to the reviewer who says that 'anyone that reads this book is an idiot' then promptly gives a review. Classic!
For those that don't want to stick their head in the sand, good book that sticks to facts and no taqqya anywhere to be seen, unlike some of the reviewers here who seem to want to attack the author.
Free speech and all that - don't read it if you can't handle the contents.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse