Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight to a subject rarely discussed
The subject of Muhammad and Islam is constantly avoided in the Western world as the majority of people either have little knowledge, or do not wish to offend others. As Spencer mentions in his reasons for writing the book, we live in a world where free speech is encouraged and Islam should be allowed to be criticised in the same way anything else in the western world...
Published 15 months ago by M.B

versus
63 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truth will out
I found this book restrained but compelling. I also often found it amusing, because it gently exposes the folly, gullibility and self-serving nature of the purely human-cultural phenomenon that is religious pursuit and that is Islam. Spencer lets the source materials speak for themselves and refrains from merely writing one long insult about the `Prophet'.

(2)...
Published on 11 Mar 2007 by a reader


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth or lies? You decide., 23 April 2011
By 
T. Kaplan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
Just from the outset to clarify to those who read this review, my real rating is 1 star, not 5.

People not acquainted with Islam, Islamic sources, the methodology of the sources, upon reading this book, will come away with this impression ''A well researched, academic work, giving us the objective account of the Prophet of Islam, and revealing the true character of Muhammad using Islam's own sources''

If only this was the truth. This book is intended for the general layman who doesn't really know much about Islam. I urge all to buy the refutation of this book (read this (borrow it or buy it second hand), then the refutation), called ''The lies about Muhammad'' by Mustafa Zayed. He goes through Robert Spencer's book paragraph by paragraph, showing where he twists, adds, subtracts, or uses a complete fabrication to support his point, and it's really sad to see upon first sight a well educated, well meaning, out there to give us the true objective account of the Prophet of Islam, Robert Spencer, who, when the book is analysed, you see how far some people will go to demonise Islam. I will give one example of the complete twisting of Islamic sources to show how truly innacurate this book is and how it really is just there to spew hate against Islam and reveal the true facist nature of Robert Spencer, and I say this with all my heart.

There is a section in surah tahreem dealing with an event with Zaynab (who is the Prophets cousin), who was married to Zayd. Their marriage wasnt going to well, and Zaynab ends up divorcing with Zayd and marries the Prophet. Now, Robert Spencer takes a completely fabricated account of this event, which is not deemed authentic, but he tries to make it seem so by spicing it up with Quranic verses, it goes that Zaynab was alone in her house, and the Prophet entered, and upon first sight fell in love with her beauty, and for this reason married her after she split up with Zayd. Saying he married her for this reason is a outright lie. She was the Prophets cousin, theyd seen eachother a million times all their life in Mecca.

This is just one incident, it might not be clear from how I explained it, I omitted a lot out, but throughout the book Robert Spence just spews and twists to his liking, and the book that refutes this that I mentioned above needs to be read to see just where and how he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 116 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic..., 13 Dec 2007
Judging by the Title, i knew what i was letting my self in for, but i read it anyway.

It shocked by how one-sided this book was, and how the author did not even make an attempt to conceal his motives and Bias, by putting in his own opinion and his own interpretations into nearly everything..

I would truly say don't waste your time.

The Author is know for his Anti-Islamic rhetoric, and to even some extent anti-Arab Nonsense...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 200 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of paper, 24 Oct 2006
The Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him) called to the highest morals and ethics. He never took revenge over people who hurt him but he would defend others. This book contains misleading information that has been misinterpreted; please see my list for a better view of this the last Prophet of mankind.

To be fair we do have Muslims who do not live up to those high moral ethical values but that should not take anything away from the Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him). Please view my list and don't limit yourself to one book about him.

Read either Muhammad: based on his earlist sources by Martin Lings or The Prophet Muhammad by Barnaby rogerson even thought rogersons text lacks any referencing its for the non-Mulims and anyone can read the Lings text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 196 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing extraordinary, 27 Mar 2007
The book repeats the usual claims made against Islam, based on "abuse" of history. Besides, the language and style used in this book shows no respect for millions of Muslims who have a great love for Muhammad. One wonders what the book serves other than causing division and hatred between communities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wow, so the author understand Islam better than all muslims!!!, 22 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
if i were to believe the things in this book, then as a Muslim I should do the same. simply imagine all the Muslim u know acting like that. Guess this will make the world much harder place to live in given that 20% of the world population follow Islam. and i can say it is the most practiced religion in the world.

I cant claim that i understand Christianity better than Christians.
Every muslim should read the quran and should know all about the life of the prophet as he is our role model. so when the majority of Muslims understanding of Islam is nothing like what was mentioned in this book then it is very misleading interpretation of Islam.

What the writer does is playing on the ignorance of some readers of the true history of Islam, taking stories and verses out of its context.
For people who really want to know the truth they should read about the history of Islam from unbiased writers, to see the whole picture.

I may recommend: Muhammad Prophet for Our Time
by Karen Armstrong
Even though i wouldnt agree with Karen Armstrong on some issues, yet this is much much better book to read about islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hype, 9 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
This book is for those who wish to believe the hype - including the lies, myths and absolute spin in regards to the truth about Islam. Yet again Mr Spencer has missed the obvious points again and again about why Islam is the fastest growing religion for non-muslims and how the Prophets life and examples are some of the main reasons for this. He has chosen to interpret his own twisted ideas but that will of course appeal to some readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense and certainly not objective, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
This book is not based on facts at all. In fact most of the so called Hadiths mentioned in this book against Islam are not considered strong or reliable by most Muslim scholars (such as the story of Asma bint Marwan) so how on earth can Robert Spencer who is far from being a scholar of Islam consider them reliable? This book will only confirm odd and absurd Muslim stereotypes. After studying Islam and Arabic in depth and spending time with Muslims and even non-Muslims who have studied Hadiths and the Quran it is obvious that Muhammad was an amazing man. This book is NOT objective in any way as it uses mistranslations of the original Arabic Hadiths and Hadiths which are not reliable. Don't bother reading it if you really want to know about Muhammad and Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unrealistic book!, 1 Mar 2008
By 
Ibrar Raja "IR" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How can you say Islam is the most intolerant religion when it is the fastest growing religion in the world? Just look at the statistics, it is the fastest growing religion in just the USA and Europe alone. Another astonishing fact is that there are more women than men converting to Islam. I find it bizarre that people say women are opressed in Islam, so why is it that they are the ones converting without any force? This should be titled, "The Truth about Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most TOLERANT Religion"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars evil gelicoes, 1 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
this book is been written by evil gelicoes those who believe the region that created by those claim we are chosen people or kids of the god what a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JESUS WAS ALSO A JIHADIST, 30 Dec 2009
By 
N. Azeem "NAZ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
LUKE 19 VERSE 27....OPEN YOUR BIBLE CHRISTIANS AND PLEASE TAKE NOT OF JESUS' WORDS--"BRING MY ENIMIES HERE AND KILL THEM INFRONT OF ME"....DOES ANYTHING MORE REALLY NEED TO BE SAID?

YES....JESUS NEVER SAID HE WAS GOD NOR DID HE SAY WORSHIP ME!!!....I THINK THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN CRITICAL CONCIDERING WE ARE ALL GOING TO DIE THEN BE QUESTIONED ON THE DAY OF JUDGEMENT, DONT YOU THINK???

RATHER JESUS SAYS...
Jesus, says: "And this is life eternal, that they might know You the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom YOU have SENT." JOHN 17:3
Hear, O Israel The Lord our God is one Lord"
Deuteronomy 6:4
It was repeated word-for-word approximately 1500 years later by Jesus (pbuh) when he said
"...The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; the Lord our God is one Lord."
Mark 12:29
Muhammad (pbuh) came along approximately 600 years later, bringing the same message again:
"And your God is One God: there is no god but He"
The noble Qur'an, al-Bakarah(2):163
IS JESUS GOD BECAUSE HE CALLED GOD FARTHER?????
THIS IS WHAT JESUS SAYS------
"That YE may be the children of ____YOUR___ Father which is in heaven..."
Matthew 5:45

Indeed, how did Jesus himself describe himself? Let us read:

"Nevertheless I (Jesus) must walk to day, and tomorrow, and the [day] following: for it cannot be that a PROPHET perish out of Jerusalem."

Luke 13:33

And they were offended in him. But Jesus said unto them, A prophet is not without honour, save in his own country, and in his own house.

Matthew 13:57
THERES MANY MANY MORE VERSES BUT SPACE IS LIMITED, THE ADVENT OF PROPHET MOHAMMED IS ALSO IN THE BIBLE----PEOPLE PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU JUDGE---
YOU CAN NOT MOCK ISLAM AND MOHAMMED-BECAUSE THEY ARE ALL MESSANGERS FROM GOD-PROVEN, BUT JUST BE AWARE YOU ARE MOCKING ALSO JESUS, AND ALL GODS PROPHETS-FOR THIS YOU WILL NOT BE FORGIVEN!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion
9.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews