Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this!
A concise expose of Mohammed using the texts most widely accepted within Islam (so they can't complain that this isn't true!).
This will put you on your guard concerning claims that Islam is a peaceful religion - it is IF you SUBMIT ....... otherwise look out!
Published 18 months ago by E Hodges

versus
45 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go on then, refute what he says
I have just been all through the 21 (at time of writing) 1* reviews of this book and replies. The reviewers all say the book is very bad, but not a single one of them refutes anything the book says. Please refute it, quoting chapter and verse from the Koran as your reference. Just saying the book is very bad without demonstrating specifically how it is incorrect convinces...
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by Keith Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this!, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
A concise expose of Mohammed using the texts most widely accepted within Islam (so they can't complain that this isn't true!).
This will put you on your guard concerning claims that Islam is a peaceful religion - it is IF you SUBMIT ....... otherwise look out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I know why !, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
I wanted a book that explained all the things about Islam and Muslims that I don't under stand, this book does that and more. Very easy to read for the lay person like me, and very well researched. My next book is the English version of the Koran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight to a subject rarely discussed, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The subject of Muhammad and Islam is constantly avoided in the Western world as the majority of people either have little knowledge, or do not wish to offend others. As Spencer mentions in his reasons for writing the book, we live in a world where free speech is encouraged and Islam should be allowed to be criticised in the same way anything else in the western world is.

A very well written book, providing structured arguments without being overpowering in the sense you are being told what what to think.

A must for anyone wishing to expand their knowledge of an almost taboo subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Religion which requires Careful Study and Considerable Thought, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
"The truth about Muhammad: Founder of the world's most intolerant religion" by Robert Spencer. Regnery Publishing Inc, Washington DC, United States. 2006 hb, 2007 pb. ISBN-13: 978-1-59698-028-0 and ISBN-10: 1-59698-028-1. The book's title
sums it up perfectly! This is a rare insight into one of the world's largest, and fastest-growing, religions. It is highly controversial, especially amongst its followers, who unfortunately accept its teaching blindly without challenging them.
Another book worth reading (I discovered this one first) is:
"Living by the point of my spear" by Zaki Ameen (an ex-Imam of the Islamic religion in Egypt). Lightning Source UK. No publication date. ISBN-13 978-0-9809948-6-5.Surely the time has come for the truth to be told about the Islamic religion (that word "religion" is used very, very loosely!). Living by the point of my spear is written by an ex-Imam, who, unlike the absolute majority of Muslims decided to delve into it's actual truth. He realised Islam is a complete fabrication made up by its "prophet" who altered his teachings
at will, even on a day-to-day basis. To legitimise his actions he claimed "God had changed His mind!").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence based and clearly argued, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
The blurb on the cover led me to expect a right wing rant. That is far from the case here. The author uses only those sources that Muslims claim to trust. From these sources he shows without doubt that any non-Muslim should be wary of claims that their founder was a peaceful man. We need to educate ourselves as to the true nature of this religion. I suspect that most Muslims are unaware of most of what this book contains, and they need to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


230 of 267 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't go by the subtitle, 22 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
I bought this book because I simply wanted more information after having read the Quran.
An expatriate New Yorker, I ordered two translations of the Quran (one English, one German) after the attacks of 9/11 in order to find out what it really teaches as well as to find arguments supporting my view that Islam was a religion of peace. To my surprise, I was disappointed as to the latter! Also, I found the text, with few exceptions, to be nearly incomprehensible, not to say muddled: no logical progression, very little context. I am familiar with both Old and New Testaments of the Bible, and although certain things appear strange and sometimes barbaric to modern sensibilities, the texts can be understood. Spencer tells us why this is not the case with the Quran.
What struck me most was the repeated stressing of the inferiority of non-Muslims; the constant harping on the punishments awaiting them, prohibitions against forming friendships with them, and above all, the overriding importance of waging war to spread Islam.
Spencer addresses these and many other issues that influence Muslims today. He makes very clear why jihadists can quote the Quran or cite Muhammad's example when planning acts of terrorism. We must remember that from the seventh century onward, Islam was spread by fire and sword through previously Christian countries and that the much-maligned Crusades were a reaction to this threat.
Muhammad accomplished a number of positive things; he forbade female infanticide; enjoined Muslims to support one another, be honest in their dealings and help the poor. But all of this fairness and justice applied only to brother Muslims, and of course women were second-class citizens. Fourteen hundred years ago this may have been the case nearly everywhere, but the countries proceeding from the Judao-Christian tradition have moved forward and no longer insist on living exactly as in biblical times. Not even the most virulent Christian fundamentalist would advocate the more egregious actions mentioned in the Old Testament.
Islam is in dire need of a historical- critical system of exegesis to bring it into the 21st century.
Spencer does concentrate on the negative, but uses only the Quran itself and other Muslim sources to support his arguments.
I find the title a bit unfortunate; it might lead one to expect a wild-eyed rant, but the book is well-researched and seriously written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone in the West should read this book!, 21 Aug 2011
By 
J. E. Swenson (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
Robert Spencer is an authority on Islam and really has the fact-based information to back up all he says (and it is backed up by all the other many books I've read on this subject).

I too, wanted to find out what all the talk about Islam was about and why it was such a hot issue with so many. As a liberal thinking progressive I have always supported freedom of speech, religion, conscience, press etc. and had the naive belief, as most westerners seem to share, that all religion taught love, tolerance, peace, non-violence, forgiveness, don't judge or throw stones. Then I started studying Islam and my head started spinning! It teaches the exact opposite of what Jesus and the Buddha taught.

I read the Qur'an and was alternately bored to tears and sickened by what it says. And this is supposed to be the very words of Islam's deity, Allah (the ancient chief moon god in the tribal religious pantheon). Well, he's not a very intelligent or educated guy, from the mediocrity of this, his own book or cruelty, punishment, hate and violence. This is definitely not the god of the Gospels!

Spencer uses many sources to prove his points against all the efforts of Islam defame him and to cover up the true character of its inventor who was a disgusting man by any definition. Even Islamic historians and the Hadith writers blithely write all the horrible things this supposedly godly man did and said, from having sex with a 6 y/o girl to beheading 900 Jews in Medina who wouldn't accept him as their new prophet, then selling their families into slavery (keeping the prettiest widow for himself and raping her just after murdering her husband!)

This book is a must read for all to understand why Islam is feared and hated all over the world. Where there is smoke there is fire. Then read the Qur'an. All the lies Muslims tell us constantly about tolerance and peace are put to rest once you study Islam's founder and his writings. Look up Taqiyya. That explains a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent research, based on facts and courageous, 23 May 2008
By 
Z. Jaff (Berkshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this book should not be rated on what people think of Dr. Spencer and/or his views on Islam. It should be based purely on the essential argument highlighted in this book and key aspects of Islam history.

I have read most the Qur'nic verses and Hadiths in Arabic [originally written] referenced in this book, therefore I view the book to an honest, and accurate record of Muhammad's life and his career as prophet. All the materials are based sources widely [if not fully] endorsed and recognised in the Islamic word as the source of truth about Muhammad.

I genuinely recommend the book, it is necessary that people understand the thinking and motives of Jihadist around the world, and most importantly what are the core issues preventing Islam to be a spiritual-religion rather than [as it is now] a political ideology requires to remain in conflict to exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass murdering kiddy-fiddler, 17 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. A. McMullan "One DVD at a Time" (Belfast, Norn Iron) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion (Paperback)
Intolerant, indeed. This is where I learned that the "peaceful" advocates were the ones who stuck with the first set of teachings (you know - be nice to each other, and stuff), while the lunatics and fanatics stuck with the later half, when Mohammed was quite clearly going through his midlife crisis and erectile dysfunction was making him a very grumpy old fart.

At least Jesus isn't on record as publically advocating child molestation and mass murder...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


248 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very important book, 19 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Paul Butcher (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unlike the one star reviewers I have actually read this book. It is well written, easy to read, and impeccably researched. It is NOT based on "dubious and unsubstantiated sources" as one reviewer stated, but rather exclusively from respected Islamic texts including the Qu'ran, the Haddith (traditions of Muhammad), and the earliest biography of Muhammad written by Ibn Ishaq. There are literally hundreds of references that you can check out yourself.

Perhaps it isn't "balanced" but it doesn't set out to be a full biography of Mohammad: it clearly states that it concentrates on what Mohammad did that is being used by Islamic terrorists today to justify their actions. It is absolutely not insulting to Muhammad or muslims, it simply reports what these Islamic sources say, without judgement, though Spencer does highlight the connection between these ancient texts and Islamic behaviour in the modern world. The reader draws their own conclusions (though that is not difficult).

Spencer also highlights where Islamic apologists such as the much praised (by one star reviewers) Karen Armstrong spin the story of Muhammad by untruths and omissions. That is why the one star reviewers seethe with indignation: their secret is coming out. This is a very important and recommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truth About Muhammad: Founder of the World's Most Intolerant Religion
£10.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews