Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grim Prospects for the Post-American World
Mark Steyn is no stranger to controversy and to the particularly scathing vain of apocalyptic social commentary. In "America Alone" he addressed an increasing sense of isolation on the part of America in world that seems to be irrevocably sliding away from the many principles that had built the Western Civilization. Unfortunately, in the intervening years even America and...
Published on 9 July 2012 by Dr. Bojan Tunguz

versus
16 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It`s Europe Jim but not as the Europeans know it
As someone who actually lives in Londonistan, capital of Eurabia, and not in the frozen safety of north America, I`d just like to say that Steyn`s Europe is an incredibly vivid piece of speculative fiction. Please don`t take it for realism. Steyn is a great comedian. And this is comedy. Scarey, brilliant comedy. About as true to life as a Hammer Horror film, THE LEAGUE...
Published on 2 Dec. 2011 by F. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book but with one or two flaws, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After America: Get Ready for Armageddon (Hardcover)
I liked this book. Mark Steyn, whose enthusiasms range from writing about demographics to sharing his love of John Barry film scores, is always entertaining. I thought that the overall message of this book - the perils of Big Government - was strongly argued. It is a book that fits in with other works on the same sort of theme, albeit with some variations, such as Theodore Dalrymple's "Life at the Bottom", James Bartholomew's "The Welfare State We're In", and "Mind the Gap", by Ferdinand Mount. Some of these books are more UK-centric, whereas Steyn uses what he sees as the failings of British post-WW2 society to warn Americans. But they all hold together. I'd also mention Charles Murray's classic, "Losing Ground".

A couple of niggles: Steyn quotes with some approval a line about immigration by Joseph Sobran. Sobran, who was fired by National Review over a decade or so ago, was a man of reportedly dubious views on the Jews. Steyn is admirably brutal about the anti-semitism of the current leadership of Iran, for example. So I was a bit taken aback to see him quoting this sort of source without explanation or health warning.

I also don't quite share his pessimism about immigration, or at least I think he needs to make the point more clearly that that it is not immigration per se that is an issue, but immigration+welfarism+lack of willingness to teach English, is. America was built by immigration - often at the brutal expense of the Native American Indians, so any alarm about current trends needs to see how they fit into a broader story. There is just a hint of hysteria at times, and this is a part of the book that makes me feel a bit uncomfortable. But then again Steyn might argue that one needs a bit of salty language to illustrate how quickly a country can change in unforseen ways.

These are mostly quibbles, though. In the main, this is a good book and Steyn even manages to suggest some ideas on how to turn things around. Call me naive, but I am confident that there is plenty of life and vigor in Jefferson's Republic yet, so long as its citizens remember their Englightenment heritage, capacity for hard work, individualism and can-do attitude. To amend Mark Twain, rumours of America's death are greatly exaggerated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steyn is so good, so funny and so right, 29 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First to be clear I think stein is great. I always listen to him when he is a guest host on Rush and the way he deals with the callers is great. He speaks to them with humor and respect and always let's them make their case rather then call them stupid like rush and hannity does. mark steyn let's the caller expose his stupidity himself and let's the listener decide. I think that liberals really hate mark steyn as he is nice, not rude, not arrogant and he is foreign.

His book is like Anne coulters in that there is lots of humour but unlike her he doesn't hate liberals or democrats. He just can't understand how they can be so stupid and he exposes the decline of America in such a gentle and funny way that there is no way you can deny it. For example the USA pays for chinas expanding military though interest payments.

It's a shame that Fox never gave mark steyn a show and if I was Glenn Beck I would try and get him on GBTV ASAP as he is a real conservative star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For anyone who is unsure of the evils of socialism.., 31 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After America (Paperback)
Anything written in the style of Mark Steyn is worth reading so what better than a book written by the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Steyn., 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After America (Paperback)
Frightening. Thought provoking. Insightful. Clever. Funny. Ironic. Sarcastic. It seems almost wrong to so massively enjoy a book on such a potentially catastrophic subject. A most extraordinary book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I expected and a good price too, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks very much. Just what I expected and a good price too, David.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It`s Europe Jim but not as the Europeans know it, 2 Dec. 2011
By 
F. Roberts (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After America: Get Ready for Armageddon (Hardcover)
As someone who actually lives in Londonistan, capital of Eurabia, and not in the frozen safety of north America, I`d just like to say that Steyn`s Europe is an incredibly vivid piece of speculative fiction. Please don`t take it for realism. Steyn is a great comedian. And this is comedy. Scarey, brilliant comedy. About as true to life as a Hammer Horror film, THE LEAGUE OF GENTLEMEN The Complete League Of Gentlemen [DVD] [1999] or THE MIGHTY BOOSH. The Mighty Boosh - Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD]

During the summer of 2011 Britain was hit by rioters and looters. One man, whose son had been murdered, brought sanity back to Birmingham by his refusal to seek revenge and his implacable call for peace. His name is Tariq Jahan. People like him don`t exist according to Steyn`s polarised worldview. Well they do. Talking about them isn`t as funny or as exciting as talking about mad mullahs but the Tariq Jahans are more typical of Europe`s Muslims.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed I wasted my money., 8 Jan. 2012
It's difficult to decide whether Steyn really believes the fiction he writes or he's just teeing up his one liners, which are occassionally funny. His observations about Europe are well wide of the mark from my experience. I have never been to America, it must be a real shangri-la. One of the positive reviews said he should have a spot on Fox News, I agree. He'd fit in well there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After America: Get Ready for Armageddon
After America: Get Ready for Armageddon by Mark Steyn (Hardcover - 11 Aug. 2011)
£15.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews