Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2014
Ace book in the Stax story! Covers well The music and the racially divided social context from which it emerged, and shows how a love of music making created an integrated haven from which emerged the great music to which we are still listening. Full of insights into the music, the people who made it, the MGs, Isaac Hayes, Al Bell, and the Memphis from which it emerged. Gordon not only is a good writer but he loves the music and the people who made it. He is a sweet soul writer and he will "take you there"
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
In 2014 I've read and seen more biopics about music than in the rest of my life and I would have to say this one is the best. The Muscle Shoals story, Nile Rodgers biog, Standing in the shadows of Motown, all excellent but this story, the passion and spirit that Robert Gordon captures, the characters he paints and the way he frames them all in the brewing storm of racially segregated Memphis and the tales of unlikely success and daring, single minded determination make reading this book a whirlwind adventure. I almost feel sad to leave behind the gang at Stax and return real life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
This is a terrific book for anyone interested in delving deeper into the creation of some of the greatest music to come out of the1960's. The story of Stax Records is very much a reflection of its time; social tensions and creative team-work; individual genius and hard work; personal triumphs and tragedies; high stakes risk taking in a dog-eat-dog music business; and so much more. If you love the music, this book gives it a great sense of purpose and place. If you've only listened to a few of their hits, read the book and be prepared to listen to a lot more. Great stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
If soul is your style, then this detailed book is a must.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
This is and was 'my' kind of music. I was fortunate enough to have seen most of the stars of the first coming of the Stax label (Otis Redding, Booker T & the MG's, etc) and after reading this I co-incidentally went to Memphis and the Stax Museum. It is probably the best documentary of the history not only of the record label but also what was happening on the 'street'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
A wonderfully detailed exposure of the record industry, politics, racism and the highs and lows of one of the most important labels in history. If you thought payola was just about money, think again. Even if you have no interest in 60's and 70's soul, this is still a fascinating story, but if you were brought up listening to Otis, Booker T., Isaac Hayes, The Staple Singers, Rufus Thomas and dozens more of the Stax greats, then this really is an essential read. Once you hit the top, there is only one way to go-so enjoy the journey along the way and don't worry where it will all end!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Recent holiday featured a trip to Stax so it seemed a good choice of Xmas present for my husband.,
Teamed it with a Stax cd and he was very happy!
Would make a good gift idea for anyone who is interested in the history of Stax or soul music and has added interest if you have visited (or are planning a trip) to the location in Memphis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
A great book that covers the musical, social and business aspects of the Stax records story. Great interviews with all the important people involved really tell the story. The best thing about this book is that even though I have a lot of the Stax music, reading this book has turned me onto a lot of stuff I have never heard before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Story behind the music available on the stax 50th anniversary celebration box set, but also the story of the civil and cultural changes going on in the south in the sixties , an amazing story well told. If you are going to Memphis (in the meantime-wee joke) try and read this first as it will enhance the trip
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
Great book full of facts from the late 50s early sixties on the late, great soul music of that era, that was so popular with the Mods here in the UK.

Recommended necessity !!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)