Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful useful patchwork items
It's such a shame you can't look inside this book. Yoko Saito is a well known person when it comes to patchwork and I've admired her work in many French and Japanese magazines. She uses neutral colours (a lot of browns) but you could use your own colour palette - be brave. Her instructions are very clear and the back of the book contains an envelope with full size...
Published 20 months ago by Sue

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book - awful photograpy editing
This book has amazing projects in it as could be expected from Yoko Saito but the photography editing is terrible. In fact so terrible that I rang Amazon to complain. I actually have a digital copy of this book and the difference between the images is astounding. The pictures in this book are so dark that you can hardly make out the true colours of the items in the...
Published 3 months ago by kiwigirl42


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful useful patchwork items, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Sue (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
It's such a shame you can't look inside this book. Yoko Saito is a well known person when it comes to patchwork and I've admired her work in many French and Japanese magazines. She uses neutral colours (a lot of browns) but you could use your own colour palette - be brave. Her instructions are very clear and the back of the book contains an envelope with full size patterns. Her designs are very detailed and some very labour intensive (but well worth the effort).
There are 29 designs in this book. The easiest design (I think) is the pouch with dog and cat applique. Other designs include: Hooked Rug Bag (bag with street scene); bag with basket motifs; candlewick bag; basket with flower applique; basket wall pocket; sewing case with lemon star applique; baltimore quilt; thread case with spool applique; apron with applique etc. Her bags (of which there are many in this book) are very chic and very useable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous yet practical bags, 23 Oct 2013
By 
H. B. Hosegoood (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
Length:: 4:28 Mins

A really fabulous book, as are all her books. But don't take my word for it, see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
Just starting on my first bag, whilst the instructions can be a little vague the idea is to improvise to a certain extent so not too worried about that. Beautiful bags and can't wait to get on with more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
Excellent book and it is in English this is the first Japanse book I have bought where it is printed in English
Lots of interesting bags really worth the moneu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
Another superb book from Yoko Saito - this time with the advantage of being in English rather than Japanese! Having said that the diagrams for making the items are so well drawn there is very little problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permission to do it with panache!, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
I chose this book because of a review on the Quilting Daily site. I fell in love with the Japanese 'taupe' fabrics that are used by Yoko Sato and some of her contemporaries at the show in Malvern and bought several fat quarters. This book helps you decide what to do with them and do it with style! The content is mostly bags but there are a few other items and the methods could easily translate into other designs.
Yoko also explains that there is no need to feel upset if your patchwork is not totally square or if the seams do not meet as this is part of the charm and gives the item you are making your own 'signature'.
The patterns are well explained and templates are given as necessary. There is innovation and inspiration on every page and I would recommend it to all levels from beginner to expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book - awful photograpy editing, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
This book has amazing projects in it as could be expected from Yoko Saito but the photography editing is terrible. In fact so terrible that I rang Amazon to complain. I actually have a digital copy of this book and the difference between the images is astounding. The pictures in this book are so dark that you can hardly make out the true colours of the items in the photographs in some cases - really can't see the full beauty of them. They all look the same when you look through the book, a sludgy brown when in the digital version they are alive with bright accents and life. I'm surprised that Amazon are still selling such a shoddy print run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in this book, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
Having read the reviews for this book I decided to go ahead with the purchase. Although it is a lovely book to look at, the content focuses more on applique than the patchwork side of the craft. This is a book which would have greatly benefitted from the "Look Inside" facility. Had this been available I would not have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars best bag on the cover, 6 May 2013
By 
Mrs. K. Frost (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
all very well written but a lot of the items don't come up to the bag on the cover - that's the best of the lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I dared hope., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito (Paperback)
I love sewing and I love all things Japanese so this book was an obvious choice when I was buying a few new books for ideas and inspiration. This one is the best of the five books I chose.

There are 29 projects and while I don't like them all, there are quite a few that I feel I MUST make. I had little idea of what was inside the book when I ordered it and was pleased with the variety and originality of the pieces - 'quirky' is the word I want to use, but only in a good way! All are in taupe and often dark neutrals with hints of another colour. The reason for this is given. The colours in each one are beautifully balanced but I think I might try some of the smaller projects in bright colours too.

An envelope at the back gives the actual size patterns for tracing or copying. The instructions appear to be clear, for a reasonably experienced sewer at least. I'm barely past the cutting out stage for my first project, one of the bags, but I have read carefully through several of the projects and at each step of the way I have found myself thinking 'I can do this; I know what she means'. The same cannot be said of all the books I bought recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Japanese Quilting Piece By Piece: 29 Stitched Projects from Yoko Saito
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews