Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great patterns and style
Well, some of the Americans seem to have a downer on this book. I'm hard pushed to know why. It's fantastic. Flowing garments that can be worn in different ways. I love it from the twirling scarf to the collars, waistcoats, trousers and skirts. First of all you get photos of all the garments and you can easily see the ways to wear them. Following on from this are the...
Published 20 months ago by K. Platt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small sizes
There are some very nice, innovative designs in this book. However, the patterns are sized for 5'3" people who are no bigger than a pattern size 14, which equates to about a UK size 10 or 12 and would certainly be considered petite! Since they are weird shapes I am not sure they can be altered. I would have given it a higher rating if the sizing had been more suitable...
Published 14 months ago by Beledi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great patterns and style, 14 Aug 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
Well, some of the Americans seem to have a downer on this book. I'm hard pushed to know why. It's fantastic. Flowing garments that can be worn in different ways. I love it from the twirling scarf to the collars, waistcoats, trousers and skirts. First of all you get photos of all the garments and you can easily see the ways to wear them. Following on from this are the instructions. These are clear with good diagrams of layout and so on. You can see at a glance what materials you need. I am a little confused by one or two instructions such as the stole which clearly says fold on the diagram but the instruction says although it looks like a fold it is cut from one flat piece. That appears contradictory to me. However, fantastic ideas, a new take to create new wearables. Big bonus - the patterns are included in a pocket at the back. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for intermediate level, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
I bought this book recently and have only made two garments from it but the instructions are very clear and the patterns are very well designed. The book is beautiful too. I love the simple styling.

It is probably not the best book for beginners because many of the projects assume you already have some basic skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great designs, easy to make, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
Dressmaking enthusiasts keen to create the unusual designs in this book have been using the original Japanese edition for several years. Also keen but not quite that keen, I have waited for the English version, and I am really pleased with it. It is easy to trace the full-size patterns from pattern sheet. (If you have traced a Burda pattern and despaired, you will find these are FAR easier). Make-up is straightforward with concise instructions. I would recommend trying one of the looser tops first to get a sense of sizing. It's possible to see some some pages on [...] where there is an editorial review of the book together with some examples which members have made up. The book contains 19 designs. To me the most interesting are the blouses, and the good layering pieces described as stoles, shrug, and vest, all easy to integrate with an existing wardrobe. There are also four skirts, a pair of trousers, various scarves and a bag. It is likely that most people would find something here to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
Really interesting range of designs, combining really simple shapes and forms to make adaptable, interesting clothing items that you'll never find in a high street shop. Construction methods are kept simple and unfussy and the end result is architectural, clean lines that can be adapted to personal tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and new, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Special Needs teacher "marnie" (West Country Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
I am blown away by this book. I can't wait to get started and create a whole new look. The methods are standard and very well explained- maybe easier for a veteren sewer- and totally inspiring. Now I know what to do with all those lovely fabrics I couldn't find a way to use, and those lovely garments in my wardrobe that I can't thrown away but which are just waiting to be upcycled as facings etc. I have as yet only flicked through, but have already seen clear sizing and clear instructions as to how to lengthen, as the patterns are aimed at shorter girls than me! Now to start looking for the next book of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small sizes, 16 Feb 2013
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
There are some very nice, innovative designs in this book. However, the patterns are sized for 5'3" people who are no bigger than a pattern size 14, which equates to about a UK size 10 or 12 and would certainly be considered petite! Since they are weird shapes I am not sure they can be altered. I would have given it a higher rating if the sizing had been more suitable for Western women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars For people who like the earthy look, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
If you are into the flow and like the eighties earth look, you have found the right book.
I unfortunately could only use the trousers patterns for P.j.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Nov 2012
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
Great book & easy to use. Although the patterns were a little tricky but easily sorted once looked at properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so interesting, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways (Paperback)
The pattern aren't so good and the multiple ways the wear them aren't so interesting. Anyway there is some good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways
Shape Shape: Sewing Clothing Patterns to Wear Multiple Ways by Hiraiwa Natsuno (Paperback - 12 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: 98.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews