Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised
I brought this book because I love knitting with fine wool on small needles. The average needle size for most of the designs is 3 mm although a couple of jumpers are knitted in heavier wool. Lucinda Guy has done a great job using the natural wool from each of the countries that inspired her designs, Iceland, Shetland, Norway and Sweden; all too often now these beautiful...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Mindie

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knitting in the round
Finally a book that gives instructions to knit pullovers in the round - it is so much neater and quicker to do so and I do not understand why most books/magazines still tell you to knit front and back separately. Unfortunately the designs lack inspiration - a handknitter can produce much more intricate designs than offered here and the Fair Isle Design would look only...
Published on 28 April 2010 by Lizzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 19 May 2010
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
I brought this book because I love knitting with fine wool on small needles. The average needle size for most of the designs is 3 mm although a couple of jumpers are knitted in heavier wool. Lucinda Guy has done a great job using the natural wool from each of the countries that inspired her designs, Iceland, Shetland, Norway and Sweden; all too often now these beautiful yarns are overlooked. Although there are some designs I probably will not knit, there are more that I will and there is only one that I don't actually like. Be prepared though, if you want to use the original yarns you will have to shop around on the net, they are not hard to get hold of but you probably won't find them in your local shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 1 Oct 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
Folk traditions, classic design, beautiful yarn - what more could a knitter ask for? With a background introduction to the areas covered and a how to knit, we get into the 'meat' of the book - 19 pattens inspired by the traditional knitting of Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the lovely Shetland Isles. Without doubt, the best pattern for me is Effie - a true fair-isle and very handsome indeed. I would knit at least thirteen of these and thought the standard of design very high and suitable for many knitters and age groups. Personally I am not fond of knitting in the round. As always with American books, check your tension with your substitute yarn, there is one British supplier included. Fortunately the pattens I like best are from this British supplier, so no problem with yarn finding there. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knitting in the round, 28 April 2010
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
Finally a book that gives instructions to knit pullovers in the round - it is so much neater and quicker to do so and I do not understand why most books/magazines still tell you to knit front and back separately. Unfortunately the designs lack inspiration - a handknitter can produce much more intricate designs than offered here and the Fair Isle Design would look only good on a chunky male. That said the Hulda striped pullover is beautiful. The best patterns are used for socks, but since I don't knit socks, they are not useful to me. This book will gather dust in my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little bit disappointed, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
I thought I would have more technical tips and not only pattern explanation.
I also hoped I would receive the explanation for the lopi sweater shown on page eleven...
But the book is not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What is it?, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
Not really sure why the book has this title. If taken from the Nordic theme, most of these garments would fit into other cultures. Nevertheless, some very nice designs and lovely colours. A good coffee-table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, lovely yarn choices, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
Lovely choice of patterns from the Nordic countries, plus Shetland - have at least 3 in mind to knit and 1 already started
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb present, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend for her birthday as she wanted a book on European knitting patterns. She was absolutely delighted with it and I'm sure it will keep her happy for a long while. Some very good ideas in it as well, I noted, so there's lots for her to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good range of knits, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
Having been searching for a good pattern for a Lopi jumper I wasn't dissapointed by this book. It has a surprisingly pleasant range of knits - I would say much better than those pattern books in your average shop, and like another post, I think there is only one pattern I actually dislike. Of course it's all very nordic, don't let the 'search inside' option fool you into thinking otherwise. However if like me that is your bag, then this is a great book.
Granted it isn't as good as some of the Lopi patterns for that actual style (although it isn't bad!), but it's very comprehensive, and has a good range of different items. There are certainly several patterns in here that I'll be making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia Iceland and the Shetland Isles (Paperback)
A lack of attractive projects and strange yarn thicknesses. Pretty front cover misleading as other patterns were not appealing. I would not recommend this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews