Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be 5 stars
The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is because there are a few errors in the charts. ( You can download corrections from the Interweave Press website ).

I would happily knit every pattern in this book - they are lovely and the techniques are not too difficult for a reasonably experienced knitter.

If you enjoy lace knitting, this is a must -...
Published on 6 Mar 2009 by Helen M. Wyld

versus
49 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin
I was disappointed with this book - not for what is in it, but for what has been left out. And the main problem is the title.

This is not a book about the history, traditions and patterns of Estonia - it is a project book. A very good project book, but not what it says on the tin. Pre-release it had been advertised as a book about the history and patterns of...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Dr. E. M. Lovick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be 5 stars, 6 Mar 2009
By 
Helen M. Wyld "clockwatcher" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is because there are a few errors in the charts. ( You can download corrections from the Interweave Press website ).

I would happily knit every pattern in this book - they are lovely and the techniques are not too difficult for a reasonably experienced knitter.

If you enjoy lace knitting, this is a must - have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Projects To Try, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
I loved this book. It gives a little bit of information on the history and traditions but then moves into the really interesting stuff - PROJECTS! The patterns are fairly easy to follow and are stunningly beautiful. There is a good section on designing your own shawl/scarf. If you are looking for an in depth history of Estonian Lace then thsi book is really not what you are looking for but if you want some beautiful projects to knit, ideas and inspiration, then this is worth buying. Beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written on behalf of the reciever of this book. She says it is great with lots of interesting techniques and patterns for those looking to step into the world of lacework knitting.
Can't comment on any pattern flaws etc as I don't understand that language but the items knitted from it already look magnificent.
Apparently the DVD is very useful - not my idea of an entertaining night in front of the TV - and has some helpful demonstrations of more advanced knitting techniques.
I was in the recipients good books for getting her this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific introduction to Estonian lace knitting, 11 Jan 2009
By 
A. Richards "infoseaker" (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
This book not only has projects and patterns to follow, but includes much more information on how lace is constructed in the Estonian tradition. It's a beautiful book choke full of useful information. I will definitely use it in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely Book for the nostalgique shawl knitter, 2 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
This is the most wonderful book! If you love shawls and to knit them this is the book for you. The book arrived from amazon 4 days ago and I have just started on the Miralda Shawl and I am having a wonderful time. The challenge is thrilling and the patterns are well-written with easy-to-read explanations and clear charts. Don't miss to add this book to your library. First I was reluctant when I read about the missing history behind the shawls. In the beginning there is a (not too long) historical review. And also how the author discovered these shawls. Then we are entering into the real world of lace-knitting. We are in business with our yarn and kneedles! Just lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Practical, Inspirational, 6 May 2009
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
This has to be one of the most beautiful books featuring knitted lace that has ever been published. I love it.

The first chapter describes the history of the remarkable Estonian lace knitters covering 14 pages. Following this there are 14 lace patterns for scarves and stoles which use some amazingly lovely lace stitches. Estonian lace is unique in that the patterns are not found in English knitted lace, but are complex,fragile, feminine and very up-to-date. There are stunning designs and borders. Also included are hints for designing your own lacy items.

There are plenty of superb fine yarns in the shops and on the web, and these come in a huge variety of colours and yarn types. They have become very popular indeed since the book 'Victorian Lace for Today' hit the bookshops a couple of years ago. Fine yarn and large needles create beautiful flowing projects which can be made by any knitter with some experience.

The photography is excellent and the instructions are given in abundance. These are not written, but are given in chart form which many people favour. The more 'difficult' stitches are shown in diagram form and although a challenge are clearly represented.

I can find no faults with this book and being a lace knitter myself highly recommend it to anyone wanting something different and challenging. If I had to sum up the book in a few words they would be BEAUTIFUL BOOK - BUY IT AND TRY IT -You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrancing book, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
An absolutely entrancing book! Not only fabulous lace knitting patterns but the history behind them and lots of tips on how to achieve the lacy creations shown.
I can't wait to finish the Shetland shawl I'm currently knitting to have a go at Estonian lace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avid cobweb knitter, 14 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Marion M. Kelly (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
Wonderful book, beautiful photographs, easy to follow instructions, cannot wait to start knitting some of the patterns. Also arrived a day early from Amazon. All in all excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 9 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a stunning book with video.
I feel it is worth it for the video alone, as Nancy Bush teaches more than just Estonian Lace as she teaches Estonian Lace.
Confidence with clarity is the best way to teach & inspire & she does it so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful patterns with information, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book full patterns plus lots of informations to read if you're not knitting. It was my introduction to laceknitting and the patterns are easy to follow. I have knitted 4 of the shawls now and am completely hooked to it. The explanations are very clear and the results are beautiful! Never would have believed I could knit like that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitted Lace of Estonia: Techniques, Patterns, and Traditions
Used & New from: £6.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews