Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great role model for little girls (and grown men :D), 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
after a season of intense(ish) research to find a fun book with quality writing and a positive role model for girls (as in the opposite of bratz) to get as a present for a young girl, i chose this.
i read it first to make sure it was suitable and it's awesome. zita's great and she is the strong, positive female role model i was looking for. the story's light and entertaining enough to interest young folk and it's quality.
family stuff. strongly recommend if you want your kids to grow up with greater aspirations than to be a pop star and/or footballers wife...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun all-ages space opera yarn, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Lee Mendham "Lee M" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
Ben Hatke created Zita in the mid-noughties and posted a few short strips on-line, and IIRC there was also a short Zita story in an issue of Flight, but this is her first appearance in a full-length graphic novel.

When Zita's friend Joseph gets abducted through a space warp created by a device they found in a meteorite, Zita has no choice but to follow and try to save him. Finding herself in a world where aliens and robots of all shapes and sizes live side-by-side with humans, Zita must find a way to reach Joseph and rescue him before the planet they're on gets trashed by a giant asteroid.

It helps that most of the inhabitants speak English (either that or the device that created the warp gave her the ability to understand alien languages), so she quickly makes new friends and allies and sets off to find Joseph and free him from the aliens who've captured him.

Zita's first graphic novel is a breezy romp featuring some fun and engaging characters, and a lead character who's not afraid to kick some backside to get what she wants. I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to kids who like science fiction, but I'd suggest they don't let their parents borrow it or they might not get it back for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting fun with a great no-nonsense heroine!, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Random Reader (Cambridge, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
Brilliant!

I bought this for my young daughter (a couple of years before she'll be ready to read it - but I didn't want to wait and find it out of print). This book is funny, thrilling and at times moving. A wonderful homily to friendship, perseverance and bravery - with great characters brought to life with the deftest of light touches (minimal heavy-handed exposition throughout). The artwork is simply brilliant and anybody from 8 to 80 should find something in this very well thought-out and executed graphic novel.

One for fans of The Phoenix comic and the 'Amulet' series of graphic novels (although less wordy/aimed at a slightly younger audience than the latter perhaps).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read for a first graphic novel, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
First Graphic Novel bought for my little girl (age 6) and she loves it. Recommended by A Mighty Girl. Buy this for your kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Took Me So Long, 12 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
Such fun! I absolutely loved Zita! What a fantastical, exciting world in which she finds herself. A quick read for me that had me turning the pages with complete joy from start to finish. I can't believe I waited this long to read the book. Kids will absolutely love this fun sci-fi romp and I can't wait to read her next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond infinity, 9 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Roy Williams "mid point" (Croydon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
Well,beyond expectations anyway.I just couldn't imagine the sheer pleasure of reading this Graphic novel.It was brilliant !
As a middle aged man,I found everything absorbing and had to slow down my reading so as not to turn the pages too fast.
Yes,of course I re read it ! To catch all the other good stuff I missed on my eager rush through the first time around.
There is no down side..,apart from having to buy the next book to continue to enjoy Zita and her adventures.
Well,that's not really a down side,more a welcome addition to my book collection.I certainly don't mind.
I have to admit,I bought second hand.Well..,you never know,do you ? Good reviews don't always mean good books.
However,on this occasion,the rave reviews were adequately justified.A brilliant book.I can't see anybody not liking it.
There are some great life observations and wonderful humour.An excellent story brilliantly told with nice illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
I bought this for my 7 year old and both she and her younger sister loved it. The story is accessible for kids but far from simple or dull and the characters and pictures are wonderful throughout. A real gem amongst kids books, especially for young girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish there was more, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
Yes I'm a sci-fi fan. Got a 7-year old daughter who loves books.
Looking to introduce her to detective fiction and sci-fi.
Zita nails the latter category nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, cute, intelligent and suitable for kids, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
Zita is playing with her friend Joseph when they find a fallen meteorite, wedged within is a red button. Zita cannot resist and is appalled when on pressing the button Joseph is yanked through a gateway out of their reality by mechanical tentacles. After a moment of reflection she presses the button and jumps after him into a world of strange creatures 3 days away from being hit by an annihilating asteroid. In search of Joseph she meets strange creatures and makes friends such as the space traveller Piper who lulls enemies to sleep playing his pipe, One the Heavily Armoured Mobile Battle Orb, ostracised because he isn't a team player and Pizzicato the enormous mouse who hates his name. Bewitchingly cute, Hatke's drawings and story create a world that enchanted both me and my 7 year old daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i enjoyed it thoroughly, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zita the Spacegirl (Paperback)
fabulous, i enjoyed it thoroughly, accidentally read it before i gave it to my daughter it was that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zita the Spacegirl
Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke (Paperback - 4 Feb 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews